We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, extraordiner restaurant, close to les houches ski but too far from others” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beau Site

Hotel Beau Site
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Les Houches
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Beau Site
Save
You added Hotel Beau Site to your Saves list
rue de l'Eglise, 74310 Les Houches, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel, extraordiner restaurant, close to les houches ski but too far from others”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

The hotel was good but the restaurant is extraordiner! The room was ok though the beds were 2 separate twin beds.
The major disadvantage is the distance from ski resorts other then les houches. It's at least 20 minutes drive in a crowded bus with poor frequency

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    14
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
20
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We have just returned from our most recent visit to Hotel Beau Site and, yet again, we felt completely at home during our stay. The rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean. The owners and all the staff are friendly and helpful and we feel as if we are really welcome. The food in the restaurant is excellent and the continental breakfast is also of high quality.

We have made our booking for 2013 already.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

my husband and I stayed here for four nights in January 2012. The hotel was on the main street and just ten metres from the ski bus stop (for getting to chamonix and Argentiere). We took a good half board deal as we didn't want the hassle of booking a restaurant in Les Houches each night or travelling up to Chamonix to eat. So we hoped the food would be ok.

First of all the food was outstanding - all four nights. Each evening meal was top class restaurant food not three star hotel food. There was a varied menu which included slow cooked lamb, choice of fish, beef, the best mushroom risotto ever, delicious snails in a puff pastry case, yummy desserts, a good wine list and pleasant service. Most starters were 11 euro and mains 16, as well as a 27 euro formula, which as excellent value for the quality. The only shame was that the dining room was not even half full when we were there and so lacked some atmosphere, even with the open fire.

Breakfasts were not quite as impressive but were very tasty nonetheless. We were offered croissants, mini pain au chocolate, and baguette. cooked dishes were extra but only 2 euro for a ham omelette which was perfectly cooked each morning.

The room was an adequate size and had a balcony but had very dated decor with a hostel-like metal wardrobe. Our double bed was in fact two pushed together and made up with separate sheet sets and rather dated covers! They were comfortable however, had good reading lights and the room was always warm. The bathroom was small with formica surfaces (and the bath really could have done with a shower curtain) but it was immaculately clean. There was also a mini bar where we could store our own water.

There was a sauna (for an additional charge of 12 euro i think) and a large ski store which we didn't use as we stored our skis at the rental shop.The owner was always friendly, although we mostly conversed in french. I would recommend this hotel so long as the chef/patron stays the same and would return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This hotel is well located, 10’ from Chamonix and the Mont-Blanc in a lively little village, unfortunately on main street which is noisy in the morning

We stayed there in a quad room for just one night. The decoration is very cute in the local style (pine wood, hearts & flowers, red & beige) steeped in 'Americana'. The bathrooms are outdated but clean, a shower curtain would have been welcome. The Wifi did not work in our room.

We dined outside in the charming little garden full of flowers. The food is good and reasonable in price, except the local staple dishes which are overpriced. Both waiters were very friendly and made us feel at home, the 'grand-ma' who was serving at the bar was also very friendly. Unfortunately the woman in charge was rude and arrogant. She had a demeaning tone with the staff and even made a scene in front of the customers, which made us feel uncomfortable and leave early.

I still recommend this hotel, because it is probably a good deal considering the area which is generally overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

An adorable, charming gem of a hotel! The first time we stayed at Le Beau Site, we were looking for a hotel near the Geneva airport. Since then, it has become a destination--all the way from the U.S.!--in both summer and winter. In fact, we have stayed here 18 times and have already booked a room for our next trip to France! Every room has a gorgeous view of the mountains, and each is filled with exquisite, lovingly handcrafted decorations. The cuisine is carefully prepared and beautifully presented--either in the flower-filled garden or the chalet-style restaurant--with its views of the mountains and its cozy hearth in the winter. Breakfast is served at your table--with more than enough coffee and freshly baked pastries, as well as meats or eggs cooked to order for heartier appetites. The hotel's location is perfect--in a small village a few minutes by car or free shuttle bus to Chamonix, and walking distance to two different lifts for hiking or skiing or snowshoeing at higher elevations. If you are wondering if there is anything we don't like about Le Beau Site, I must confess that there is one thing: at the end of each stay, we have to leave. Fortunately, we know we'll always return!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this hotel. After making the booking last year I then read the reviews on this page and was a little worried about what I'd done! However, when we stayed last March we had a lovely visit and decided to stay again this year. The food is absolutely excellent and there is nowhere else in Chamonix and the surrounding area where you would get 4 courses for the same price (we chose the half board option). It is true that the rooms are a little dated but this just seems to add to the general ambience of the hotel and it is certainly very clean throughout. It appears that a lot of the interior decorations are hand made with love and this lends the hotel a very homely feel. There are some lovely traditional touches and the handmade quilts in the breakfast room are fantastic. Our room was always very warm, in fact too warm at times. The owner is a lovely, friendly person and I'm sure would do anything to make your stay enjoyable. All of the other staff were also friendly and helpful. We usually have a hire car when we go to Chamonix as it is easier to get around with one so I can't comment on the public transport. This is the first time I have ever done a review but after reading some of the ones on here I felt the need to offer a different perspective on this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

Starting with what was good: food which was above average in quality and service (like it was part of another movie).
Close enough to ski bus station. Valley ski bus system is nothing but a joke unfortunately, those buses reaching les houches are not frequent enough and crowded, returning from Argentiere takes even 40min standing and drivers do not drive humans but potatoes.
Now worst for me: temperature in the room which in the end I measured because it seemed just too cold (21.5). On third day we decided to complain an tell we want 24 degr in our room and that they do not stop the heating during the night. We spoke to the old lady who did not even want to listen us out what we had to say, she said that she will fix it by telling Nicolle (apparently they had a system of establishing temperatures in the rooms). After dinner temperature was up one degree, next day situation returned to previous situation.
Other turn off for me was the bathroom structure with separate tiny enclosures for wc and lavatory/shower (outdated finishings did not bother me).
I am still here :) I hope they do not put something in my food for this post.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beau Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beau Site

Address: rue de l'Eglise, 74310 Les Houches, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Les Houches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Les Houches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beau Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.