We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most wonderful experience -- we will return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Bouceel

Save Saved
You added Chateau de Bouceel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de Bouceel
Lieu-dit Bouceel, 50240 Vergoncey, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Vergoncey B&B and Inns
Kaiserslautern, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The most wonderful experience -- we will return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I had the most wonderful experience at the Chateau de Bouceel! Every aspect of our stay was superb. In late May, we spent two nights in the Saddlery. It was a few steps from the main house. The Saddlery was perfect -- it was private and quiet with a comfortable sitting room, a fully stocked kitchen, a large bathroom and three bedrooms (a full bed, twin beds and a baby bed). The full bed was very comfortable and we both slept soundly with the windows open with a nice breeze. The main house and grounds are spectacular – the perfect French Chateau -- but the stars of the stay are the charming and impeccable hosts, the Count and Countess Regis de Roquefeuil. Because my husband and I are history fans, the Count recounted the amazing history of his family and the Chateau. The location is perfect for visiting Mont Ste Michel (20 minutes) , D-Day areas (1.5 hours) and the Brittany area. However, if you stay at the Chateau, I urge you to block extra time at breakfast to chat with Count de Roquefeuil and view his WWII memorabilia. The Count also advised us regarding wonderful restaurants and day trips. My favorite part of the stay was at the Memorial Day ceremony at the Brittany American Cemetery, where I had the honor to visit the American soldier the de Roquefeuil family has adopted. The Countess cut flowers from the Chateau's beautiful garden and placed them on his grave. My only wish is that we could have spent more time at peaceful and lovely Chateau de Bouceel. We definitely will return and next time for an extended stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
109
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I could not say one bad thing about our stay at the Chateau. The chateau itself, the grounds, and the Comte and Comtesse were all amazing. We traveled with our son (5 years old) and all enojyed it immensely. It is very peaceful and gorgeous...even on days with a little fog it added to the mystique! While there, don't consider it just a place to sleep. Carve out time to explore the grounds, meet the donkeys :), visit the chapel, and most importantly engage the Comte in conversations about the chateau, its history, and his family! While we speak french (my husband is french and my son and I are fluent), the Comte speaks exceptional english (he previously lived for some time in Chicago - our home city, what a small world!) and as such there are no language barriers here. Breakfast was a time when he would sit with the guests, answer our questions, and indulge us with stories from his family's past (if we desired). Don't plan on eating & dashing if you can...stick around and enjoy a leisurely breakfast and discussion.

We only stayed two nights but would have happily stayed longer and likely will the next time we visit Normandy and Brittany. It is well situated and there are various good dining options in nearby towns - just ask the Comte and he will provide his recommendations. He even went out of his way to make reservations, get us maps (we forgot to bring our GPS..not a great idea!), etc. He also gives good guidance on what to visit in the region and how best to layout an itinerary for the day (what city/site to visit first, where to end the day for dinner, etc).

Only thing I would caution is to mind the cat when you get back to the chateau in the evenings. It is a very nice and friendly cat but he likes to jump in guests' cars - as we discovered the morning of our departure when we opened the car and the cat jumped out! It had apparently spent the night in our car having jumped in when we got out the prior evening. No harm done though...the cat just napped and luckily didn't leave any evidence behind from its stay :) We had a good laugh with the Comte and Comtesse about it afterwards :)

So, if you're in the area and it's in your price range, you MUST stay at the Chateau de Bouceel. You will not regret it!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I've stayed in many French chateaux, and Bouceel is the best. Beautiful, peaceful grounds surround the chateau, and the Comte is best host I've ever met. Entertaining and charming, the Comte made every person staying at the chateau feel at home. The rooms are exceptionally well-appointed, and there are no bad views! It was fascinating to see the pictures on the walls recounting the history of the family going back hundreds of years. The Comte recommended excellent restaurants in the nearby villages. The chateau is close to Mortain, Avranches, and lovely little Ducey, not to mention Mont Saint Michel. This trip was the best I've made so far, and the greater part of it was staying at Chateau Bouceel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We chose Chateau de Bouceel because of the excellent reviews and its proximity to Mont Saint Michel and it far exceeded our expectations. We were greeted by Comte Régis de Roquefeuil, an exceptionally informative and charming host. The restaurant he suggested for dinner was one of the finest meals we had during our vacation in France and the stories that he told about his home and Mont Saint Michel were a delight and made our trip much more special. We stayed in the “Ba-mé" bedroom which was luxurious and had a beautiful view of the back garden. Our only regret was that we did not plan a few extra days at Chateau de Bouceel to relax and enjoy more of the countryside.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Besides being an absolutely magnificent Chateau, what makes this special is Comte Regis. He is absolutely charming to talk to and hear about all of the history of the Chateau.
The area is very beautiful and very quiet. We stayed in the Marquise Bedroom but all of the rooms are wonderful.
I won’t go into detail of the place as I am sure you will read that in the other reviews. What I can do is tell you a hint that Regis told us about Mont St. Michel that you really MUST listen to:
We had planned on spending the day there which in hindsight was crazy as you can see everything in about 2 hours. What he suggested though was to go to Dinan first and then St Malo. Both are amazing towns, especially Dinan. Later that day we arrived at St Michel at precisely 4:00 PM just when the 7000 tourist busses were leaving. It made it much more enjoyable as St Michel is VERY touristy. Think about Clifton Hill at Niagara Falls and you get the idea. We were able to see everything without being rushed and it was quite enjoyable. Then back to a peaceful evening at Chateau de Bouceel. They had a lovely study/library with a fire going that really ended the day nicely for us.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bouceel1763, Owner at Chateau de Bouceel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear friends,


Thanks a lot for all.......In order to take good care of people you must love them!
We hope seeing you again in Boucéel
With our best regards
Régis de Roquefeuil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Chateau de Bouceel is very close to Mont Saint Michel and was built in 1763 and still a family home.
The rooms are beautiful with superb carved wood panels, parquet floors, period antiques blending harmoniously with modern suite bathrooms.
Tha breakfast is excelent and the Mr. Regis, the Comte, is always there for you!
The Count and Countesse the Roquefeuil are very friendly and helped us booking very nice restaurants and given very good advices in places nearby that we should visite.
It was an amazing experience.

Room Tip: The rooms are huge and very confortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bouceel1763, Owner at Chateau de Bouceel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
We thank you for your review. Boucéel estate has always been linked to Mont Saint Michel. During the One Hundred years war in 1434, three brothers, Boucéel's owners, have fought in Mont Saint Michel alltogether with 119 knights against the English invaders...........They won and since then Mont saint Michel remains French!!!.....
with my best regards
Régis de Roquefeuil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at the Chateau for two nights with my husband during our trip to Normand and Brittany at the end of September. The whole place is absolutely beautiful. We stayed at Nelly's bedroom which was spacious with a marble fireplace and two big windows overlooking the garden and the pond at the front of the chateau. The beds were very comfortable.The bathroom was big with modern conveniences and a big window. We also had an adjoining small room, next to our bathroom with an extra bed. Comte Régis de Roquefeuil was an excellent host. We enjoyed his stories about the history of his family and the "ghost" of the castle. The breakfast at the big dinning room was fantastic. As for the location of the chateau it is perfect as a home base if you want to visit Mont-St-Michel, Normandy beaches and San Malo etc. I strongly recommend Chateau de Bouceel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau de Bouceel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Bouceel

Address: Lieu-dit Bouceel, 50240 Vergoncey, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Vergoncey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Vergoncey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18kms away from Mont Saint Michel the chateau is still a family home. Built in 1763, it sits in a quiet park with lakes, island, age old trees. The interior boasts super carved wood panels, parquets floors, period antiques, family portraits blending harmoniously with modern comfort and stylish bathrooms. Your hosts, Nicole and Regis, will welcome you as friends and share the enjoyment of their home. Breakfast included in rate. Non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de Bouceel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Bouceel Vergoncey, Normandy, France
Chateau De Bouceel Hotel Vergoncey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Bouceel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.