We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, clean rooms, good budget choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of hotelF1 Cherbourg

hotelF1 Cherbourg
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tourlaville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
hotelF1 Cherbourg
Save
You added hotelF1 Cherbourg to your Saves list
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue de la Tourelle | Lieu dit "Les Noes", 50110 Tourlaville, Cherbourg-Octeville, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tourlaville
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, clean rooms, good budget choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is a good budget hotel, at the other end of the price range of the Accor group (we stayed at Sofitel earlier in the year). The good points: Cheapest hotel we could find, secure, friendly staff, clean room, great free internet connection (not well advertised, just a small notice on the reception desk). The not so good points: The towels that are provided are fairly small, so if there are 2 of you making use of the self-cleaning (& therefore possibly wet underfoot) shower cubicles along the passageway, the towels get fairly damp. Take your own soap for use in the hand basin in the room (shower gel is provided in the showers). Having recently done a "health & safety" course, I was more aware of the lack of hand washing facilities in the self-cleaning wc. Nowhere to wash your hands until you get back to your room, where you have to key in a code on the pad to get in. I put in a suggestion that hospital style anti-bacterial spray dispensers could be fitted.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
7
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

I've stayed in F1s for years - good honest value for money hotels. On this trip my cycling pal & I stayed in 3 F1s & were attracted to the new Duo rooms as 2 single beds suit us better than the double with bunk above arrangement. At Cherbourg we encountered a "computer says no" staff member who refused to allow us to bring our expensive carbon road bikes into the duo rooms telling us stony faces "c'est pas possible" & then condecended to allow us to have the old style room "mais faites attention aux mur" thats like telling a Mercedes driver to be careful not to scratch the concrete walls of a multi storey car park!! In the two other F1s we stayed at ( ST LO & Avranches) we used the DUo rooms & I have photographic proof that 2x bikes can easily fit in with room to spare! All F1s very clean & the breakfast is great for the money with as much filter coffee, decent cerial & fresh bread as you can eat. ONly thing with some F1s is they tend to be away from the centre of towns & you may have to walk a fair distance for your evening meal. Oh yes free internet was great on my smart phone & was able to reply to emails back home FOC!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

great location, great price, 34.20 euro between 3 of us sharing a room, you cant do better .....great for a stop off getting the ferry to or from Ireland and a good base for touring the local area i.e the landing beaches etc ... breakfast good vale at 3/4 euro too.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed at the F1 Hotel in Tourlaville, Cherbourg for one night en route to southern France. The Trio rooms are fantastic for families, especially teenagers. The facilites are basic. but perfectly adequate for anyone needing a bed for the night. Safe & Secure facilities as hotel is surrounded by security fencing with coded gates.
Would definately recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to hotelF1 Cherbourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hotelF1 Cherbourg

Address: Rue de la Tourelle | Lieu dit "Les Noes", 50110 Tourlaville, Cherbourg-Octeville, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Cherbourg-Octeville > Tourlaville
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tourlaville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — hotelF1 Cherbourg 1*
Number of rooms: 63
Also Known As:
HotelF1 Cherbourg Cherbourg-Octeville/Tourlaville, France

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage hotelF1 Cherbourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.