We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frank & Stephanie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Petit Lac

Le Petit Lac
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Domfront
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Petit Lac
Save
You added Le Petit Lac to your Saves list
La Bigotiere, 61700 Domfront, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Frank & Stephanie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely week at Gite Tourchis. The Gite is spacious and airy and spotlessly clean. The rooms were comfortable and it is very well equipped. Our children enjoyed the pool and there is a lane to wander down in the evening past fields. In the local area there is plenty to do; cycling is safe once across the main road; riding, high ropes, and canoeing. Colin & Joy were attentive hosts and made us all very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Had a really lovely time at Le Petit Lac. We were there with our two young children (aged two and three and a half) and their grandparents. Facilities were brilliant - the swimming pool was a huge hit with the children (and was where they spent most afternoons). There is a lovely big garden that they could run around in, and a BBQ which was used most days. The rooms were spotlessly clean and a really good size. Colin and Joy were super - really friendly and full of good ideas about where to visit locally and what to do, and were great with our children, especially so when they let them to go and see their horses.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was our 4th visit to Le Petit Lac - which speaks for itself! - and we will be back again.

These are lovely gites (we have stayed in both) - very clean and comfortable. The garden is lovely and we made good use of the covered bbq area.

Colin and Joy are great 'hosts' and we enjoying our chats with them.

Although this is our 4th holiday in the area, we are still finding new places to visit or new things to see in places we have already visited! Some of our favourites are :

Granville - worth the drive for the lovely beaches in the area.

La Ferte Mace - 'man made' beach, lake, play area and forest walks.

Fosee Arthur - beautiful walks in the forest and around the lake - and a lovely café.

Bagnoles de l'Orne - lower part of the town has a lovely lake, park and nice restaurants etc. and forest park near the car park. The tourist train goes around the 'upper' part of the town where there is a really beautiful park and chateau (the town hall).

Domfront - medieval castle ruins, Notre Dame church. Pizza place on the main road into Domfront is very good, and the Bistro St Julienne is fabulous.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have just returned from a most enjoyable holiday staying in the Gite de Torchis. We were four adults and two children aged six and three. The gite is beautifully designed and very spacious. Spotlessly clean and comfortable. The children enjoyed playing in the garden which is enclosed. There is so much to do in the area and the tourist office in Domfront is very helpful. Although the coastal beaches are some distance away there is a man-made beach and a lake at Ferte Mace which is excellent.
We travelled to the coast several times and the beach at Jullouville is certainly worth the drive. Other attractions included a visit to the biscuit factory at Lonlay L'Abbaye, the 19thC village fete at Frambault, sightseeing in Domfront and visits to some of the nearby chateaux. For the more adventurous there is an assault course on wires through the trees at Bagnole-de-L'Orme. Our six year old went two days running and even the three year old managed on the mini-assalt course! All in all a perfect holiday for three generations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This our third visit to Le Petit Lac (Summer 2010, Easter 2011, and now June 2012).

The very fact that we have returned speaks for itself.

The accommodation is well appointed, well maintained, and spotlessly clean.

Despite this being a return visit, we still found new places to visit and places to see.

As I have said in a previous review, Colin and Joy are the perfect hosts. Not at all intrusive - but always on hand should you need their help. Thank you Colin for the recommendation of Le Bistrot St Julien in Domfront. We ate there on our last night, and were impressed.

Thanks again to Colin and Joy. We WILL be seeing you again....

David, Janet, Sam and Rhianna Crossley

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambs
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We have just returned from staying at the Gite De Pierre, two famalies and a set of Grandparents, and I can not recommend this Gite enough. All the rooms are large and feels very spacious, the Gite had everything we needed and more. The hosts Colin and Joy at hand to answer any queries before travel and during our stay. This is a lovely area to explore, a lovlely man made beach at la ferte mace with a play area and a lake to walk round, we spent a day here, an open air swimming pool, men don't forget your speedos as shorts not allowed. All in all a great time had by all made perfect by the wonderful Gite.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Le Petit Lac is situated about 3kms from Domfront (where you can find the baker, supermarkets, etc). There is a man made beach and a spa town about 20 minutes away, the kids loved both. There is plenty to do in the area, but you will need to drive a fair bit. Saying that the countryside is lovely and the roads quiet.
The accomodation is well maintained, very clean with great showers. We had 6 adults and two children in our group, there was more than enough space for all to find a quiet area if needed.
The children loved walking down the lane/track to see the cows and feeding polos to Colin and Joy's horses.
In summary, we had a great holiday and would go back.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Petit Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Lac

Address: La Bigotiere, 61700 Domfront, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Orne > Domfront
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Domfront
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditionally renovated very spacious luxury Gites set in 6 acres in the Normandy. Countryside in the heart of the Poire region, yet only 3km from the Historic (XII Century) mediaeval town of Domfront. Ideal base for trips to Mont St Michael & the D Day beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Petit Lac Domfront, France - Normandy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Petit Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.