We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific guesthouse.. in a tiny village.. with a big heart” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison de Martin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Maison de Martin to your Saves list
Maison de Martin
16 route de Castillon, 30210 Vers-Pont-du-Gard, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrific guesthouse.. in a tiny village.. with a big heart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

We had an excellent stay at Maison de Martin. Our room was large, comfortable, quiet (stone walls/floors mean you can't hear other guests) and clean. The bathroom and kitchen were well-equipped and nicely kept. The breakfast was generous and always fresh and delicious. Our host, Martin, was friendly, easygoing, and endlessly helpful - never obtrusive but very happy to show us around, introduce us to locals, direct us to the sights and make sure we saw the best of the tiny village of Vers - Pont du Gard. We rented bikes from him and rode to a different destination every day: The town of Uzes and its excellent markets, the village of Castillon, the PdG (which has to be among the top 200 wonders of the world), cherry orchards, wineries. He also set us up to have a cooking lesson and a wonderful dinner with a local family. We are considering moving to Vers . . . but meantime will look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Martins place in Sept 09. The B&B is located in a tiny stone village in Provence which is very quiet and quaint. The village has one bakery, one butcher and one grocery store. Martin and Monique are absolutely lovely hosts - they shared their stories, tips about what to see in the region, and even some of their food and wine with us! Martin even took us and some other guests on a walk to see the Pont du Gard aqueduct which was amazing.
The village is about 30 minutes out of Avignon and therefore a little out of the way but it is perfect if you really want to get away from all the tourists and get a real experience of village life in Provence. If you have a car then you can see lots of the surrounding villages in a couple of days. Without a car you can still hire bikes from Martin and ride to a couple of the nearby villages and vineyards. We would definitely go back to Maison de Martin!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

the most charming hostel I have ever seen, the hosts were very friendly, hope to return again

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

This B&B is located in the center of a quaint and several-hundred-years-old stone village about 30 km west of Avignon (Provence). The bus ride is easy, inexpensive and convenient. Easy access to half a dozen nearby villages by bicycle; we visited 3 in one afternoon! Vers Pont du Gard has a wine coop where the excellent wines range in price from 3-5 euros per bottle. Shocking. The accommodations were quite nice, consisting of 3 bedrooms and 2 shared baths and a common kitchen. It's all separate from the owner's quarters. There's a lovely courtyard where it's nice to sit outside surrounded by the walls of neighboring dwelllings. It all was lovingly renovated from being a "ruin" within the past decade, so it's comfortable -- electric and plumbing is new and perfectly functioning! But the best part of our Vers experience was time spent with the owners. Great people.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

we loved Maison de Martin. Monique and Martin are wonderful and generous hosts.They offered their washer and computer at no cost. Not standard practice and we gave extra $$ for the use of both even though they did not ask. Spacious rooms, great patio, and a short walk to the fabulous pont du gard. Martin took us on a hike, we went to a night-before easter service.Neighbors came by and visited.It was all so cozy.They included us in the apertif hour (?)5ish. Wine and snacks. We shopped at the local grocery so we could contribute to the snacks. Since they both speak english it made it easier to communicate. I had my phrase book and working knowledge of college french. Breakfast was amazing-fresh pastries, AMAZING coffee,cereal, yogurt,fresh fruit. There is also a ginormous cat that lives there. Monique drove us to Uzes to shop at the great outdoor market. When we missed the last bus back to vers, she and martin came to pick us up. so nice! I look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison de Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison de Martin

Address: 16 route de Castillon, 30210 Vers-Pont-du-Gard, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Gard > Vers-Pont-du-Gard
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Vers-Pont-du-Gard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone house in a small stone village with breakfast from the patisserie around the corner. Take a free guided walk along the ruins of the Roman aqueduct (built 2000 years ago) to the world famous Pont du Gard. When Napoleon saw it in its incredible splendor, he put state funds into its restoration. Swimming, canoeing, neat hiking trails everywhere. Wonderful French dining right in the village for E13. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Maison de Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison De Martin France/Gard - Vers-Pont-Du-Gard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison de Martin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.