We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Bourgogne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel de Bourgogne to your Saves list
Hotel de Bourgogne
Pl. de l'Abbaye, 71250 Cluny, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cluny
Quebec City, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Very good restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Very good place to stay right in the middle of the city with a high quality of food with good service. It's right beside the Harras that you can visit to see very nice horses with guide. It's also 1 minute walk to the abbey of Cluny.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    40
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
48
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We arrived without a booking and the lady owner on reception could not have been more helpful, she showed us the room before we confirmed, to make sure we were happy with it, which indeed we were, large airy and very clean.The hotel has car parking and is in a great position near the abbey and the bars and restaurants.We had a very good continental breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

While the bedroom was basic, the bed was big with a big clean bathroom. Like all old buildings, the floorboards creek and ceilings can be low making it feel dingy. The welcome and friendliness of the woman on reception was outstanding. She was so helpful and a delight - her attention to good customer service appeared to come naturally from her personality Good breakfast with cereals, breads, croissants, ham and cheeses. The location of this property is outstanding - just by the Abbey.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

If you are visiting Cluny and want a good hotel that will not cost an arm and a leg, a good breakfast to stand you in good stead for the day, then this is where you should be heading. We would have liked to have dinner here too as the reviews recommended it but we were unlucky enough to be here on their closing day. Comfortable bed, kingsize, spacious room, great view over the abbey, fantastic position in the heart of the town. We hope to return one day to eat in the restaurant and enjoy breakfast in the garden. If you are driving, book the garage!

Room Tip: Pure had a view Of the Abbey, great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotes D'armor, France
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is our second stay because Cluny, amazingly enough as it is a "destination" does not seem to have many really good hotels and we enjoyed our first visit. After driving around for about 20 minutes trying to find the dratted place and KNOWING it was near the abbey/ruins, what a relief to have a good chap at the reception desk. We parked in the square by the hotel- free until 9 a.m. next day and were shown to a pleasant room overlooking rooftops and, below, a small, green courtyard garden. Room was reasonable size, ditto bathroom and at 103 euros , not a bad price....breakfast at 11 euros each is really worthwhile if one is travelling far the next day, plenty of choices and good food.
We had dinner in the restaurant, which has some unusual artefacts around, is very spacious and well-lit but also with a candle on the table for atmosphere. Very good staff and the food is tasty, if not madly exciting! We chose the 26 euro menu, had a bottle of the local (Macon) wine at 26 euros- a white wine, quite unusual and very full of flavour. Solutre, whence it came, is about 12km. away on a "tourist" trail, with several vineyards selling own wines.
We ate:- eggs in red wine and jambon persille for starters. These were followed by saddle of rabbit and tarragon chicken. Can't remember the desserts. All the food is home-prepared and cooked and the restaurant has a notice to that effect, as France is trying to introduce a category for restaurants such as this one, where nothing is bought-in.
Again, if we are near Cluny, we would probably stop here; the town itself is charming, with narrow streets, old buildings, the abbey and (rather expensive) shops, plus several bars and restaurants, all looking quite interesting.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the "National Haras" (horses) and this is a pleasant outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspley Guise
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Really liked this hotel and the food and location. Good to have private parking and lovely courtyard garden. No airconditioning but this was not a problem as old building stayed cool
The hotel was right next to the old abbey and historic part of the town so beautiful and also very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times now, on our way down to the south of France.

We looked at Cluny and it appeared to be a nice town. The hotel with the best ratings appeared to be this one, and well deserved are the good ratings too.

It is situated virtually 'on' the remains of one of the most historic abbeys in Europe and looks out onto the main square in Cluny.

Close to the autoroute, secure covered parking, generous sized clean rooms and a hearty breakfast, all make this an ideal 'stop over.'

Thoroughly recommended.

We can also recommend the Forum restaurant, quirky Italian with great food, a short walk on the edge of town.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the square...............
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Bourgogne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Bourgogne

Address: Pl. de l'Abbaye, 71250 Cluny, France
Location: France > Burgundy > Saone-et-Loire > Cluny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cluny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de Bourgogne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Bourgogne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.