We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Base to Tour Southern Brittany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Branhoc – Logis & Brit Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Branhoc – Logis & Brit Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Le Branhoc – Logis & Brit Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 route du Bono, 56400 Auray, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Auray
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Great Base to Tour Southern Brittany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Kath and I stayed at this small, but very comfortable, hotel for five nights during a recent motorcycle tour of the 'must-see' sites of southern Brittany. Our ideal French hotel is family-run, welcoming, clean, motorcycle-friendly and within walkihg distance of an attractive village/town centre and restaurants. Other reviews pointed to Le Branhoc meeting these requirements - and we were not disappointed. Thierry and Catherine were the perfect hosts, encouraging and complementing us on our attempts at parlezing the Francaise. Although relatively modern, the hotel has a definite French feel and style. It is also very quiet, which is maybe a bit of a surprise considering the hotel's proximity to the road.
We had a room at the back of the hotel, overlooking the sheltered, sloping garden - which is Thierry's pride and joy, and still a 'work-in-progress'.
The breakfast room has a nautical theme, with breakfast itself being the usual high standard expected of a good quality 'budget' French hotel.
Of interest to touring motorcyclists will be the availability of free, secure, on-site parking - which also gave us the opportunity to meet the lovely Marguerite - Thierry and Catherine's friendly pet pig!
In conclusion, the French 'star' rating system may only awrd Le Branhoc a 'two-star' rating, but we definitely enjoyed a 'five-star' welcome and stay - we'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBranhocHotel, Gérant at Hotel Le Branhoc – Logis & Brit Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

It is a real pleasure to read your comment on TripAdvisor regarding your visit at the Branhoc Hotel, Thank you very much! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all the details we put together to make your stay memorable.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at the Branhoc Hotel.

Kind regards,
Catherine & Thierry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    4
    0
    5
See reviews for
8
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Dereham, Norfolk.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here in 2011, and liked the area, the hotel and its hosts (Thierry & Catherine) so we decided to return in 2012 to further explore the Morbihan area.
What makes this hotel special is a combination of the hospitality of the owners, the quiet location with free car parking together with the proximity to St.Goustan for restaurants in the evening. We stayed in #19 which was one of the larger rooms, tastefully decorated and had a room safe which was very useful. Continental breakfast was served in a nautical-themed room which comprised primarily of meats and cheeses together with the usual bread/brioche selection. Some guests requested boiled eggs every day, and these were readily provided. Most of the guests when we were there were either French, Dutch or German. Thierry speaks predominantly French, whilst Catherine speaks a little English. A good excuse to brush up on one’s French and try to blend in with the locals!! St.Goustan is a picturesque and lively place in the evening with several good venues to eat – crêperie Saint-Sauveur and Bara Crêpes were the two that we frequented. Would strongly recommend both of them for quality, service and overall ambience. The walk to St.Goustan is about 10-15 minutes from the hotel, but one evening Thierry showed us a short cut via a path, and even lent us a torch for the evening.

There is also a Carrefour hypermarché 5 minutes drive from the hotel which is ideal for those forgotten essentials as well for cheap fuel. So much to do and see in the area – highly recommend days out to Josselin, Rochefort-en-Terre and Vannes to name just a few of the nearby locations. Visiting the nearby islands in the Gulf of Morbihan (Ile aux Moines) by boat was an enjoyable experience. Thierry booked the reservation for us, leaving from Locmariaquer, although in retrospect departing from Vannes might have been an easier choice. Several firms operate these trips but Navix appear to have much bigger boats.

Room Tip: Room 19 is the largest room available if you want plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBranhocHotel, Gérant at Hotel Le Branhoc – Logis & Brit Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

It is a real pleasure to read your comment on TripAdvisor regarding your visit at the Branhoc hotel, Auray! What a fantastic review, thank you!

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our service.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Le Branhoc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Whistle stop on a gander around Brittany. Frankly the campsites we stayed on the previous two nights were so good a basic hotel like this was always going to look expensive by comparison. nevertheless we stumbled in at just after 2300 after trying to check in at a completely different hotel by accident (another notch in the French "English fools" bedpost - sorry) and the lady with whom I conversed on the intercom was not in the slightest "fromaged off". No tea or coffee facilities, which would have been most welcome in the room. The shower does that hot/cold thing but its supposed to be good for you so i don't mind. The neighbouring room Showers make a lovely buzzing noise which ensures you dont oversleep. Our Room, 26, had a sloping ceiling on one side which, if tall like my wife, can make quite an impact. The children were reading quietly as she was explaining this to me when she did it again and they learned even more new words!
We've got this tent thing sorted now - just, thanks to Quecha pop up tents, I win the put away wrestling contest every time now - so we'll probably stay with canvas if we do this again but, if it was raining, this would have really felt like home. A good stop but only if the weather stops you sensibly using some of the fantastic "how it should be done" camping facilities this area offers.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBranhocHotel, Gérant at Hotel Le Branhoc – Logis & Brit Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Client,
We thank you for taking the time to write a comment. We regret that your stay was not up to your expectations. We take note of your comments and we hope one day we will have the opportunity to show you another aspect of our House and our work.
Best regards. Le Branhoc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This is a good value small hotel. Our room was clean and quiet. The bed was comfortable although the room was a bit small. The proprietors were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fine for 8 euros. The hotel is a comfortable walking distance from St Goustan and Auray (15-20 minutes). We would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBranhocHotel, Gérant at Hotel Le Branhoc – Logis & Brit Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking the time to write a comment. What a great surprise to see such a nice review.

We look forward to welcome you again,

Kind regards,
Le Branhoc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Dereham, Norfolk.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Basic but clean and extremely quiet 2* hotel with good sized (free) car park and well appointed for touring the Morbihan area. Rooms have very comfy beds and soft fluffy towels. Buffet breakfast very acceptable, plentiful and varied for €8 served in a pleasant nautical-themed room. The hosts (Thierry & Catherine) are very welcoming and go out of their way to make your stay perfect. Thierry speaks predominantly French, so one has to be prepared to try to speak the local language!!. During our six-night stay almost all of the guests were French nationals. Catherine however does speak a little English. This apart, their hospitality shone though and nothing was too much trouble. One day we decided to go Vannes (highly recommended!!) by train (very quick and easy 12 minute journey via TGV) and rather than book a taxi, Thierry insisted in taking us personally. Boat trips to the nearby islands operated by Navix can also be booked through the hotel reception..

St.Goustan is the place for eating in the evening (10 minutes walk from the hotel) with a wide choice of good restaurants. For those with a love of the local crêpes the following are highly recommended:- Crêperie Saint-Sauveur, Bara Crêpes and L’Ile au Trésor. Walking to St.Goustan good footwear is desirable since much of the footpaths are unpaved. A good regular bus service also exists – The Auray Bus - serving the station and the surrounding neighbourhood. For those forgotten holiday essentials there is a good sized Carrefour hypermarché only 10 minutes walk away. We were also advised not to miss visiting the large shopping complex just outside Crach on the Locmariaquer road (La Trinitaine), selling local Breton biscuits, cider and kitchen ware (with another excellent crêperie adjacent to it).

So much to see and do in the area, so we have already booked up for next year !!
Would highly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Hotel is very quiet despite being close to main road. Traffic not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBranhocHotel, Gérant at Hotel Le Branhoc – Logis & Brit Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

What a great surprise to read your comment!

We thank you for taking the time to write your experience about your stay with us at Le Branhoc Hotel.

We look forward to welcome you again!

Kind regards,
Catherine & Thierry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Easy to find hotel with a very good room - on the ground floor, which was a bonus! Private parking directly outside the hotel, which was in a nice garden setting. The manager was very courteous and helpful and pointed us in the direction of the picturesque little port of Auray for an evening meal - where there were plenty of restaurants, only about 10 minutes' walk away. Breakfast was good and plentiful, in a lovely room overlooking the garden. An ideal base for touring southern Brittany.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBranhocHotel, Gérant at Hotel Le Branhoc – Logis & Brit Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit at the Branhoc Hotel!

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed all your experiences in the Morbihan - Bretagne!

We look forward to welcome you again!
Kind regards,
Le Branhoc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North-East England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Some of the previous reviews seem odd to me. The breakfast was one of the best we've had in France (so I disagree with "basic but ample"). Meats, cheeses, crepes, local patisseries, fresh fruit. Much better that your "half a baguette and a pot of jam" that the reviewer would suggest. Also it is optional not "obligatoire". The couple running the hotel (ably assisted by their teenage son) were always pleasant.

OK the sloping roof could catch out tall people, but I am 6 feet tall (whatever that is in metres) and had no problems. We stayed three nights and ate in the nearby port of Auray where there is a good selection of reasonably prices restaurants and creperies. It's handy for the Gulf of Morbihan, for Vannes and Auray itself is a pleasant town.

Would we go back? Definitely!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBranhocHotel, Gérant at Hotel Le Branhoc – Logis & Brit Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

It is a real pleasure to read your comment on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Le Branhoc Hotel!
We are delighted to read that we were able to meet your expectations and that you fully enjoyed your stay!

We look forward to welcome you again,

Kind regards,
Le Branhoc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Branhoc – Logis & Brit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Branhoc – Logis & Brit Hotel

Address: 5 route du Bono, 56400 Auray, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Auray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Auray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Branhoc – Logis & Brit Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pack your suitcases for Vannes and Lorient, in Auray to be exact, in a peaceful and verdant setting: The Hotel Branhoc, situated only 700 metres from the historic St Goustan. Here in the heart of the Gulf of Morbihan, which one never tires of rediscovering, take time to enjoy your holidays to the full with family or friends, romantic weekends and even your seminars and simple stop-overs. The hotel offers: spacious bedrooms, woodland park of 5000m2 with botanical paths, private parking, excellent service......and only a stone's throw away scenery to take your breath away. Relaxation guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Branhoc – Logis & Brit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Branhoc – Logis & Brit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.