We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant was Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pavillon de Margaux

Le Pavillon de Margaux
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Le Pavillon de Margaux to your Saves list
Le Pavillon de Margaux
3 rue Georges Mandel, 33460 Margaux, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Margaux
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Restaurant was Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel but from the moment we approached the front door we were welcomed by the manager and the waiting staff from the restaurant. Gorgeous outlook from the sunroom style restaurant overlooking the vineyard. We had a beautiful bottle of wine from the vineyard and a fab meal. Waiting staff were attentive and helpful. Atmosphere was great. Highly recommend as a restaurant stop and the hotel itself looked lovely too in the Medoc region on the D2.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    6
    5
    14
See reviews for
9
16
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangor Co. Down
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

The Chateau Giscours where we stayed for one night on our trip to Bordeaux were full for the rest of the week, so recommended Le Pavillon We booked in for 3 nights, got a most comfortable room. On third floor, no lift, so a bit of a climb. Hotel well situated for visiting the wine Chateau of Bordeaux, located in Margaux on main road. Enclosed parking at rear. The restaurant looks out over vineyards, food good, good wine list, though pricy! Breakfast served in conservatory to side of main building only average. Busy hotel with only 14 rooms. we enjoyed our stay, just a pity reception staff were somewhat aloof.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Went there today to grab some lunch. It's a very pleasant place, gorgeous view, nice food and wine. Very close (walking distance) to Cht Margaux. I would absolutely go back there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

good points:
in the heart of margaux (but the village is so small that everything is in the center)
you have wifi - but nowadays everywhere has wifi
bad points:
they sell the name of the village, we paid 95 euros for a simple room, even not in the main building, it was such a dissappointment
room was bare
breakfast was 12 euros or something per person- it's ripping off, nothing else
summary: go and arrange a B&B in advance, you will have superior accomodation!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

We arrived at the hotel in the evening at around the time we said we would but to find that it was closed and had to call and wait 5 minutes for the receptionist to arrive. She gave us our key to the room which was not in the main building and we saw her drive off again. We then had to call for the password for wi-fi connection, which was given incorreclty so we had to call again. Why could information like this not be left in a file in the room?

We were not advised the restaurant would be closed and we had not decided whether or not we wanted to eat there , but on our arrival we had no other choice but to eat elsewhere. There was no-one there to advise or any information as to where else we could have gone.

The room was not clean, really not the standard expected of this kind of establishment. The headboards to the beds were very dusty and the bedside lamp shockingly so,

Service for in the morning was fine but to have stayed somewhere where there is no-one on site is very disappointing as it is a hotel not a bed and breakfast. Little things could have got this place a much better score.

Location and setting were stunning and the facilites are fine, therefore the aforementioned were a huge letdown. The receptionist did seem surprised when I told her the room was not clean. Pictures on their website are representative of the grounds, but until they rectify these issues I cannot recommend this hotel,

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

We have recently returned from Le Pavillon Hotel Margaux and had a wonderful time. The Hotel is beautiful and the staff were very friendly and obliging.

We had a very nice room plenty big enough with a king size bed and sofas and tabels and a flat screen tv. The views over the vineyards were stunning.

The bathroom was spotlessly clean and very large.

The restaurant was very pretty and the food both nights was delicious.

We would definately recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to the Medoc Region .

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasVegas, NV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

We stayed nearly a week at this hotel while touring the Bordeaux wine country. We had a modern, large spacious room. The staff was very nice & spoke good english. Would definately stay here on future visits to the area.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Pavillon de Margaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon de Margaux

Address: 3 rue Georges Mandel, 33460 Margaux, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Margaux
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Margaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Pavillon de Margaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Pavillon de Margaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.