We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Tour du Vieux Port

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Tour du Vieux Port to your Saves list
La Tour du Vieux Port
23, quai Souchet, 33500 Libourne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Libourne
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We didn't stay at this hotel, so this review is only about the restaurant. Great food, great wine (as you would expect given the area) and excellent value for money. We didn't book but ate early. Probably best to book as it got pretty full by the time we left.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I chose this hotel from the Logis de France guide which gives it three chimneys for the rooms and three casseroles for the restaurant. It is not really what I would call an hotel, it is a restaurant with rooms. I say this because when the restaurant is closed access to the bedrooms is through a door at the back and either you have to have registered, in which case you have the key, or you need to have telephoned for the door access code. This was a nuisance for me as I had intended to meet someone at the “hotel” during an afternoon. Ample, payable, street parking.

That said the room I had was comfortable with a large bed. It overlooked the front road, which also meant it had a view over the old port. Traffic noise was at a minimum. Price was 65 euro for the room, plus 7 euro for breakfast.

The restaurant was OK, but for me it was trying to be more than it actually was. I had the menu at 29.50 euro and had the rack of lamb cooked on the wood fire. It was very undercooked and rather tough. I drank a bottle of ChâteauTroplong Mondot 2007 (90 euro).

Service was average and I don’t think I would choose to stay there again or to have a meal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hedge End, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We arrived in Libourne late afternoon and found this hotel really easily - having that tower and being right next to the river is a big help. We parked right outside the hotel's door and there was also a lot more parking opposite next to the river. We were checked in and shown to our rooms by a really friendly lady who explained everything to us. The room was very spacious with a good sized bathroom and a comfortable bed, and great view of the river. Everything was spotlessly clean and we had everything we needed for our stay.

We'd had quite a long day so didn't want to go out to eat, plus the hotel's own restaurant looked very different and we wanted to try that. We had a really fantastic meal and great wine. The portions were very generous and I'm particularly glad I didn't have a desert as they were huge. I'd come back, or recommend this place, just for the restaurant alone - it really was very good.

Breakfast was good with all the usual fresh items you'd expect.

This was a really nice place to stay - something a little bit different - is in a nice location and has very friendly staff that make sure your visit is all that it should be. A definite recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

On a warm August evening we dined a fresco at La Tour du Vieux Port's riverside (Dordogne) 'annexe,' right across the road from the hotel. It was excellent and in itself a very good reason to go on a driving holiday in France. Here they take cooking very seriously, with service, on the occasion of our visit, by the maître and a couple of friendly hard working youngsters. What we ate was just excellent and we can't wait to return for some more Tartare d'Avocat aux Crevettes (which introduces a whole new slant to our familiar avocado with prawns); Salade brick de Chèvre; Rognon de Veau grillé persillade; Côte de Veau grillée provençale; "the best ever" crême brulée and a jolly nice choc ice. With a half of Mouton Cadet and another of Badoit, the bill came to €84 - or £68 - before service. The last meal we had which approached this standard was at London's Le Gavroche. That meal was also very good and it cost considerably more than £68.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Tour du Vieux Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tour du Vieux Port

Address: 23, quai Souchet, 33500 Libourne, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Libourne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Libourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your La Tour du Vieux Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tour du Vieux Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.