We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good venue for business events” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotelli Gustavelund

Save Saved
You added Hotelli Gustavelund to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotelli Gustavelund
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kirkkotie 36, Tuusula 04310, Finland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Tuusula
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good venue for business events”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I was there for a business seminar. The room was clean and the services were good but not excellent. No toothpaste or toothbrush provided. The food was quite good but the desserts weren't. The hotel area is good and the whole place is huge so it can be excellent for events but not suitable for personal holidays as it's far from the Helsinki city center.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
2
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Came to Gustavelund on a business trip. First of all, this is far from anything resembling the capital, it is in the opposite direction from the already remote airport. Gustavelund is an enormous structure and our group was I think the only guests the first day we spent there so it felt very empty. Conference facilities were OK, nothing special but nothing to complain about either. Staff seemed disinterested, but possibly they were just bored due to the lack of business. Food was not spectacular either, well prepared but very bland and felt heavy and old-fashioned. To get anywhere you had to take long walks through narrow corridors, and up and down stairs, not good if you are disabled or have health problems. I ended up in a room furthest away from the reception and was extremely disappointed as it looked nothing like the nice rooms in the info material. Apparently, only the rooms closest to the reception have been refurbished, I ended up in a cramped 1970s nightmare facing a parking lot. And many of my colleagues complained about having been disturbed by construction workers and/or laundry, which I think could easily have been avoided by booking us into other rooms as the place was empty anyway... 2 more groups arrived the second day we were there but huge Gustavelund still looked empty.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

All things considered, this is certainly the most awful hotel I stayed at in the last couple of years. The bathrooms have probably not been renovated since the inauguration of the hotel (seventies?), and the dining room has more of a university canteen than of the dining room of a hotel. But the service beats it all. The restaurant closes at 6pm (if it opens at all after lunch) and the only option which is then left is a kind of Burger 1 1/2 to 2km from the hotel.
On the second day of our stay, they cut the water at 8am (until 12am) without any prior notice, and on the third day, we were waken up by the drilling machines of the workers renovating the rooms opposite to ours.
The personnel at the reception was not particularly friendly either: when one of us did not check out by 12:00 sharp, the receptionist came to his lunch table to tell him that he is already 30 minutes late with his check out and should hurry up (and this with the probability 0 that his room had to be cleaned for an arriving guest).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

I stayed in Gustavelund for one night on a business trip. The location is beautiful, but that's about it. The restaurant and breakfast are ok, but nothing special.
For me the biggest problem was the room. The walls were so thin that you could hear everything that was going on in the rooms next to you (even sneezes etc.). There had also been a water damege in the hotel on the previous day, and you could smell it in some corridors.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotelli Gustavelund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotelli Gustavelund

Address: Kirkkotie 36, Tuusula 04310, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Finland > Tuusula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Tuusula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotelli Gustavelund 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gustavelund offers comfortable accommodation for groups as well as individual business and leisure travelers. The hotel is located at the shore of Tuusulajärvi lake in a beautiful park, only 15 minutes from Helsinki Vantaa airport and 30 minutes from Helsinki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotelli Gustavelund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotelli Gustavelund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.