We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A refreshing establisment in mixed up Cyprus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vasilias Nikoklis Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Vasilias Nikoklis Inn to your Saves list
Vasilias Nikoklis Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Nikokleia | Paphos, Nikoklia 8505, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Nikoklia B&B and Inns
Durham, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A refreshing establisment in mixed up Cyprus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This beautiful establishment in the middle of orchards and a beautiful valley is run by mother-daughter-son team with a conscientious attitude to guests' needs. The managing team is always eager to please. We stayed here twice during our two month biking tour of Cyprus in April and May 2012.

The rooms are impeccably clean and comfortably appointed. We stayed in the two upper floor corner rooms which are normal size by European standards but additionally are equipped with a pleasant balcony overlooking the valley. Other than the beautiful singing of the birds it is very quiet here. The outside pool area and front courtyards are pleasantly designed and appointed. Internet is offered by the inn but it has erratic operation. The internet USB keys operate satisfactorily in this location.

The public areas need attention. It may be romantic to have little birds fly in and out of the alleyways and 'lobby' and dining area, but this is a serious health hazard. Although there is a concerted effort to keep areas clean, it is fundamentally impossible to keep bird excrement away from the floor, which shoes carry into the room and there is always a possibility that it may end up in food.

The supplied breakfast is very adequate particularly considering the homemade sweets of the matriarch. As to the dinner, it has an air if home cooked meals in an atmosphere becoming to the quality of the meals. They even have some respectable Cypriot wines, strongly recommended.

All in all it is a refreshing place to stay and relax or use as a base for exploration of the area. Good luck with the improvements Theodora - Christine and Dimitrios.

We strongly recommend this accommodation option as compared to the 'better' established inns or hotels of nearby Paphos.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    14
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Came across Vasilias website while looking for a venue for our wedding reception and instantly fell in love with it. We wanted somewhere with character with a Greek feel not a hotel by the beach we were not disappointed. The location was in a beautiful and secluded spot which we had exclusive use of. We got married in Geroskipou town hall which is in easy reach about 10 minute's away. When we got to the venue it was laid out beautifully with champagne cocktails and traditional home made lemonade which was very refreshing. The wedding breakfast was excellent which included their own home grown olives which were the nicest I've ever tasted couldn't fault any of it superb. We wanted a traditional greek guitar band for our evening entertainment we were told they were none available but Christina phoned around and got us one which was very good of her. Everyone was very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was in keeping with the character of the inn very comfortable and clean. We woke up to a beautiful view from the balcony and birds singing. Breakfast was continental with tea and coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice which was also very good.
We will be going back for a visit the next time were in Cyprus as its in easy reach of Paphos if your visiting Paphos I would recommend you pay a visit as its a very special place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christina_vn, Manager at Vasilias Nikoklis Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear B,

Thank you for your post and your positive comments. I can not thank you enough for this! You make me feel very proud of what i do. The best reward for us really is this, knowing that we help to make your day special! xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We were fighting with the flys until we left from the place. The flys were thousands and everywhere especially on the food. It was unacceptable to have so many flys and not do anything about it, nowadays which we have so many things to prevent them of being around us and so annoying. And the pool was dirty. The only thing that you have there and you can't use it. There are not any other facilities. And this all was happening during a wedding day there which this is the worst thing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christina_vn, Owner at Vasilias Nikoklis Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear Gina,

Thank you for your review, unfortunately this is something we are aware of and we are doing our best to prevent it. Special pesticide is sprayed twice a day and cintronella sticks and candles are placed all over the venue, perhaps you haven,t noticed them during your visit. We are located in the country site and nature is something we have to live with, always ensuring the healthiest way to prevent any annoying insects.
Regarding the pool , is well looked after everyday but due to the fact that trees and plants are surrounding the venue its quite easy to find leaves and flowers falling into the water.
Regarding the facilities of our venue this is what we have to offer and this is what the wedding couple had chosen for their special day and as far as i know they are very happy with their choice.
Thank you
Christina Konstantinou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Recently ate there, foud it to be within very easy reach to Paphos airport, near reservoir, local sights and very peaceful. If I didn't live so close by I would have stayed the night. The place was very inviting, staff welcoming. and menu was varied.
The fresh flowers, linen-clad tables and subtle lighting made a refreshing change from the usual traditional restaurants. We will definitely be going back sometime.

Room Tip: I did not stay overnight, but feel sure that the whole place would be as clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

My wife and I got married here at late notice, as the church we wanted withdrew our booking a week before the wedding. We met Christina a few days before the day who was really friendly and welcoming. On the day the venue was beautifully set up for the ceremony and reception dinner. We picked this as we wanted somewhere very quiet and secluded and we were not dis-appointed. It was extremely quiet and at times it felt like we were the only people in Cyprus. We had the ceremony in the rear courtyard and it was beautiful. The food at the reception dinner was excellent and we then set about celebrating in the gazebo and poolside bar. All the staff were really friendly and we had an amazing night. The room we stayed in was the honeymoon suite and was basic but clean and we liked it. The bed was a four poster but I can't say what the other rooms beds are like. The breakfast next morning was a continental style which we ate on our balcony. Overall we will always have very fond memories of Vasillias for obvious reasons and will definitely return one day. If you want to relax in peaceful surroundings then this is a friendly family run gem.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

As a family we have recently returned from Cyprus, for a wedding celebration, ceremony and celebration at Vasilias. With out a doubt, the consideration for the occasion and service provided was first class. The venue, provided a fairy tale location for a day that everyone will remember always. The Service, held in a court yard, where flowers covered the walls and pagolas, Supported by a duo of violin and guitar, left no one in any doubt that this was an occasion to be remembered. Having dealt with the ceremony, a grassed area for photos, was just through the gates of the courtyard, all this flanked by a field of almost mature fruit.
The meal was something to remember, where a variety of starters, followed by a sumptous main meal that melted in your mouth.
We have wonderful memories to treasure, and would recommend this small inn be visited even if only for the food. On the other hand if you have an occasion to celebrate, I can think of no better, if your visiting or even living in Cyprus.

Room Tip: As all bedroom access is from the North, all windows will face the sun at some point during the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We chose Vasilias for our Wedding for it's charm and character. It's a traditional taverna located in the hillside away from the commercial hub. We booked out the 8 bedrooms for our guests and held a barbeque there on the Friday night prior to our wedding the following day. The food was fantastic, as was the atmosphere. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and it was a great start to the weekend.
The bedrooms are all air-conditioned and are well equipped and in keeping with the style of the taverna. There is a small swimming pool which was most welcome in the searing heat!
The wedding ceremony itself was held in the courtyard of the taverna. There was ample room for our 36 guests. It had an indefinable magic that cannot really be put into words. The wedding breakfast was superb, as was the service from Christina, Dora and the rest of the staff.
Vasilias is a very special place and if you are considering getting married in Cyprus, or want to visit "the real Cyprus" then consider staying here - it is truly magical.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vasilias Nikoklis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vasilias Nikoklis Inn

Address: Nikokleia | Paphos, Nikoklia 8505, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Nikoklia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nikoklia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vasilias Nikoklis Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vasilias Nikoklis Inn is a small traditional and family owned Cyprus inn and exclusive wedding venue.The inn stands on a bend on the west bank of the Dhiarizos river with views up the valley to the Troodos mountains and down the valley to the sea. Hemmed in by lemon and olive groves, it is a profusion of plants of every hue, from bougainvillea to fig trees and cool, grape covered dining terraces.The rustic surroundings offer the ideal place for your holidays away from the hustle and bustle of ordinary life, you can relax under the grapevine-covered terrace or by the swimming pool enjoying the sun.Located just after the village of Nikoklia, a peaceful village with traditional Cypriot charm and an air of sleepiness that makes you feel instantly at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vasilias Nikoklis Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vasilias Nikoklis Hotel Nikoklia
Vasilias Nikoklis Inn Cyprus/Nikoklia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vasilias Nikoklis Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.