We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote spot with very good diving” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Easy Diving and Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Easy Diving and Beach Resort to your Saves list
Easy Diving and Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Punta Ballo, Sipalay, Negros Occidental 6113, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Sipalay B&B and Inns
Prague
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Remote spot with very good diving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I was very surprised (in a good way) by the quality of the resort when I arrived. Cottages and spacious and very nice - some may have problems with the amount of steps though ;) Staff extremely helpful and proffessional (both in the restaurant and dive center). Perfect nice beach right next to it.
Wifi internet is available in the restaurant, although you have to pay for it (200 PHP for 5hrs ticket) - it worked, but not very fast (not good enough for Skype). Globe was on 3G with very good speed (Skype worked).
Diving was excellent - especially day trip to the Turtle Island was well worth it.

Tip for getting there from Dumaguete - the bus ride (from the bus terminal) takes about 5hrs. Just ask for a bus to "Sipalay" and they'll point to one. You'll need to change buses in "Bayawan" and then "Hinoba-an". It's not a problem, you literally just leave one and hop on another, just sometimes the wait can be a bit longer (hour or so). They also get crowded, so expect to get close to locals :) Total cost of the bus tickets is about 300 PHP. Trike from Sipalay to the resort is another 300 PHP (it's quite far). Oh and busses typically leave every whole hour.

Room Tip: If not fit, the closer to the restaurant, the better or else you'll have to walk quite a few ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
21
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rijnsaterwoude
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Easy is a really nice resort. Spacious bungalow style rooms set in the lush jungle. Nice restaurant area with good food. Well run diving outfit. We arrived here on a Diving safari from Moalboal to here, which is highly recommended. Super diverse diving with great marine diversity. Good service. Three things keeping it from a perfect score:
- The bungalows are on a steep hill, so walking from your bungalow to the restaurant and back is quite a walk (especially with a load, and especially with pouring rain)
- There is no swimming pool, which we found quite lacking for a resort
- Wifi is paid by the hour, strange for a resort of this type.
Again, the diving safari they run is really excellent and highly recommended, staying in this resort is not a punishment either ;-)

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the restaurant and dive center, not all the way up the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detmold, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We do not have the words to express what an unique and special property this is. We've travelled quite a bit, and have visited many hotels/B&B/Small hotel, so our expectations were standard and we are thrilled to report that our expectations were exceeded at every turn. The room was clean, well-maintained, nice decor, and spacious. And most friendly staff ever!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Easy Diving is an extremely exquisite place to be. The resort is excellent but i didn't stay there long enough to really enjoy the whole resort because i went on a dive safari that they are offering there. I booked online through Savedra Dive Center which wasn't a complicated business at all. It was excellently efficient and quick it can't get any smoother. The safari was one of the best experiences i ever had in my life. We were headed to a group of islands in the open sea called Cagayan Islands and the weather in that region is just excellent. The water was really smooth, almost no waves at all. The sea reminded me of a bathtub. it was that smooth. The 7 hours it takes to travel from the resort to the islands was a pleasant experience. We headed out at night and i had no trouble sleeping through the voyage to the islands. it was quite comfortable and the cabins are relatively large. There are a total of 4 cabins on the boat and it is not unpleasant to sleep on deck or on the net spanned over the outriggers. We made our first dive in the morning but i had ear problems so i couldn't go diving. I went diving on the third day of the trip and the dive spots are just excellent. Hundreds of Fish in different varieties and the coral reef is just pristine and colorful. Corals are intact and healthy, probobly one of the few coral reefs in the world which is undamaged. It was just teeming with life! The fish were huge! The coral polyps were active and happy! An eagle ray here a devil ray there, Sharks are not uncommon. Although the bigger creatures were not really present because of the sudden rise in temperature some still showed up. The small life there is a sight to see as well, flat worms, nudibranches, a lot of interesting stuff. The captain parks the boat at night behind the barrier reef surrounding the main island when we finish our last reef dive. Even there on the shallow, sandy bottom, it is not devoid of life. At only 5 meters in depth, you see stingrays, pufferfish and interesting little creatures on the bottom. You don't even need scuba gear just go snorkeling and you already see a lot! The "parking area" as i call it is so tempting to dive in that i made a couple of night dives with the other guests there. Onboard service is just great. You get served excellent food and you never get short on surprises. Once we went to a solitary island and it was just beautiful and uninhabited and that was were we saw a lot of the interesting animals during our dives. It was really an excellent experience, one you shouldn't miss when you visit the Philippines.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Easy Diving Resort in Sipalay Philippines is a very special place. me and my family spent 8 days here and we will definately come back. From the first day we arrived we felt like a family and we were treated as one. The diving ( only my husband is a diver ) was very good as I was told, for me I was pleased just to stay on the surface snorkeling. The bungalow we stayed in was clean and had a great view of the Sulu Sea. One more thing - the food is excellent. I would really recommend this hotel. Big hug to all the nice staff from Maria and Per with family.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guttingen, Switzerland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

we visit christian over 8 years now and it has always been a big pleasure. 2005 the place was a very small lonely island of calm. The journey there was already an adventure. 2009 the place grew a bit bigger, markus the restaurant manager came in very useful. The last time we checked in was mid. December 2012. and first of all I have to say “it was simply perfect” the resort reached a size of a fife star resort but still did not loose the family atmosphere.

It includes 22 bungalows and is located at the only white beach on negros. The bungalows are nicely arranged and very clean. (nothing else expected from a swiss host ;-)

breakfast & lunch – as usual, a la carte
dinner – WOW, normally you can choose between two main dishes for dinner. The meals are always over the top. It is a mixture of local food and european food arrangement, nice decorated plates, fresh sea food, well prepared europen food as well (ex. Pasta)
If you are very lucky you may attend on of the legendary barbecues.

there are around 50 dive spots in a distance of 10-15min by boat. only boat-dives!!!
the local dive guides are perfectly trained, very friendly and find all sorts of small stuff under water.
the dive sites are rich in variety especially for macro-divers.

We have to mention the service especially – it is unbelievable good
after two days the staff knows you by name. We do know some of the staff over 8 years, which shows that he has quite a good continuity and the staff is very well and fair treated. Maybe that is why they are so motivated and friendly and never insistent.
We feel always very welcome, and christian, markus and their crew make the slogan “come as guest and leave as friend” come true. - thanks for that

TIP: for addicted divers go for a safari-tour first. Enjoy the “big-fish and off-shore diving” on minimal comfort. The safari-boats are for philippine standard very good, but not comparable with the ones used in Egypt.
But the diving is much more exclusive, more adventure and much more fun. The boat crew is perfectly trained and mostly 1 swiss dive instructor is with on board.
After the tour, stay for another few days in the resort by top end quality and service and enjoy the “small-fish and macro diving” around this beautiful beach resort.

Greetings from chalchi & roli to christian & markus

we will see you again soon

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful resort right on the beach, nice beachfront restaurant with wide options for meals, staff are just lovely with nothing too much trouble. It is a 4 hour private car ride from bacolod airport (worth the trip). We actually left our passports there and only realised 4 hours later, Christian the owner went out of his way to have them delivered to us, while we checked into a cheap hotel and chilled. We couldn't have been more appreciative as another 8hour round trip would not have been ideal!!

Diving is wonderful many portions for reef and wrecks with great dive crewYou won't be disappointed! I think they have 30+ dive sites available!!!!

Suits more the middle aged crowd (we are late 20's) but we still really enjoyed our time!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Easy Diving and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easy Diving and Beach Resort

Address: Punta Ballo, Sipalay, Negros Occidental 6113, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Negros Island > Negros Occidental > Sipalay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sipalay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Easy Diving and Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Easy Diving and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Easy Diving and Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.