We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent day at the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Pedro de Majagua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Pedro de Majagua to your Saves list
Hotel San Pedro de Majagua
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Isla Grande-Islas Del Rosario, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Grande
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent day at the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

What a great way to get away for a day to spend time at a secluded quiet beautiful beach. Very efficient transportation, great lunch, and nice staff. We chose the quiet beach to the right. Fall asleep under a palapa , listen to the waves- snorkel w your loved ones- very nice.
Yes it's pricey but you get what you pay for. Took my 5 kids there - ages 19 to 8. Between kids falling asleep in a hammock, watching them try and eat the whole red snapper on the plate and lounging on the couch beds overlooking the beach- it was a great day. Nice easy trip if looking to mix it up or beat the heat of Cartagena ... Plenty of time to get home from the beach(at hotel around 430) for a few hours rest to finish it off w a horse and carriage ride and an awesome dinner. What a great city!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerenciamajagua, Gerente at Hotel San Pedro de Majagua, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We really appreciate your kind comments about the staff service.This beautiful island is the perfect excuse for having a time full of relaxation and away from everything. Thanks for sharing with us your experience at the hotel and for allowing us to be part of those memorable moments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    74
    63
    21
    23
See reviews for
41
162
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I recently got back from a 3 night stay at Majagua with my wife and two kids. We were coming from a few nights in Bogota, where the food was outstanding and the people were warm, friendly and helpful, I expected far far far more than what I received.

The Good:
- The beach was pretty

The Bad:
- The service was awful - like really terrible. They seem to go out of their way not to help you, or provide any service. Nobody ever tried to help or ask how things were, or even smile. Actually -the maids were very nice, but that was about it.
- The food is terrible - I was there with my family for 3 days - and the best meal we had was plain spaghetti with butter for my 3 year old - which cost around $15 USD
- When eating any meal - they would bring a piece of paper to sign after you would order anything. Order drinks to start - sign. Order food - sign. It wasn't like there was somewhere to run to escape the bill - you are on an island
- Mosquitoes are aggressive - I won't blame this on them - but I left with north of 20 mosquito bites
- There are probably 10 locals stationed at each of 2 beaches, constantly trying to sell you beaded necklaces. I am happy to support the local community, and in fact left with too many crafts - but literally every time you get up to go in the water, or bathroom - you are bothered to buy something else. The staff either turns the other way, or actually gets some of it back.
- Did I mention the service was awful?
- Our room was infested with ants. Actually we had to switch rooms b/c our a/c broke - and both the first and second rooms were infested. The rooms themselves were nice enough otherwise.
- It's completely overpriced - take the sum of the above - and then put a 50-75% premium on what you should pay. The rooms, the food, the drinks, the transfers - all overpriced. $10+ USD alcoholic drinks - really?

The beach was pretty - take a day trip if you really want to see this island b/c it was beautiful - but the experience was just ruined by everything else. We cut our trip short, and headed to Cartagena early - which we loved.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerenciamajagua, Gerente at Hotel San Pedro de Majagua, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We would like to offer you our sincere apologizes for any discomfort caused to you and to your family during the stay at San Pedro de Majagua Hotel. Your comments will allow us to improve our guest service and our gastronomy, so you will enjoy in a few weeks a new menu with many other options for lunch and dinner time. If you will plan a trip to Cartagena, please let us know through our email reservas@hotelmajagua.com. Give us the opportunity of create a new experience with good memories for you and your family at San Pedro de Majagua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We spent a day at this hotel's beach (actually there are two--one with a bar and piped music, one that's quiet) We did have lunch as part of our trip....we opted for the fish (red snapper) served fried/whole--well prepared...other option was for lobster...it looked great as well. We booked our tour through the concierge at the Sofitel Santa Clara....trip was about 100 each person...we were bused to a marina, where we got our boat with seating two by two...boat was full, but not crowded...some folks from the island came back with us, but it was no problem...trip took about 45 minutes once well underway....the water is beautiful...snorkling/ dive trip/ etc was all offered extra and we chose to chill on the beach which is what we came for. Also eco tour was offered...as usual in Cartagena, there were a number of polite but persistent vendors hawking jewelry...once they understood you weren't buying, they tended to leave you alone...the island we went to has about 800 permanent residents....The hotel looked interesting with decent sized porches with hammocks hanging...didn't see the rooms....my sense was our tour was a cut above others we saw leaving the docks about the same time...for sure our boat was not as crowded...If you want a beautiful beach day in Cartagena, this one is a good choice...I'm sure Santa Clara concierge would book it for you even if you are not staying in the hotel...tel for hotel on my receipt is 6734097...hotel address shown as barrio san diego, calle del torno

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have spent a few days in this island resort with spa. It's an elegant place in harmony with nature. My bungalow was sourrounded by mangrovias and in the porch of the room you could relax and listen to the sea. The room was nice, clean, the service was perfect. There is a snobbish environment tough and my main deception was that the beaches are only two, small and nothing really special. One highlight was the massage in the SPA that was excellent. The real reason for which I would recommend this place is the "enchanted lagoon" that you find in the island just off the hotel. It's a lagoon rich in plancton that has the magical effect of illuminating your body if you swim there during the night. It was very romantic and wild at the same time as you can't really see around you since there are no lights...just the illuminating water. If you want to relax in an island close to Cartagena and experience the enchanted lagoon, then you should go!

Room Tip: As far as possible from the reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I've been to Islas del Rosario a couple of times now (if you're trying to decide where to go I've also reviewed Isla del Pirata) and I would urge you to really think about what you want from the trip before going. If you are looking to spend the day on the beach relaxing and you are going any day other than Tuesday to Thursday you will get remorseless hassle from the locals trying to sell you things. I'm not going to pass judgement on whether it's right or wrong but it is relentless and can completely ruin what should be a relaxing trip. Personally I will never be going back which is sad.
If you decide to go though I would strongly recommend you go to this hotel. It is about twice the price of many of the others but personally I would say it's worth it. The rooms are spotless and the service we received was excellent; the boat transfer and day boat are also more comfortable that some of the other islands.
We arrived on the boat around 1030 having left Cartagena about 0900 and were greeted with cocktail. Our room was ready and immaculately furnished and cleaned. The air-con was on to provide some respite from the sun if that was what you wanted.
The hotel is on a fairly big island and has two beaches of its own. One with a bar and music and one with just a sitting area referred to as the 'small' beach.
The beech with music and the bar was very pleasant; the music was n't intrusive and the cocktails were very welcome. This beach has a designated swimming area which is roped off. The vendors here were polite but generally annoying. They would come to you at least once an hour (which with the number of vendors in about once every five to ten minutes) trying to change your mind and get you to buy something. The view is good though and the sea is warm. I did notice that the vendors are much less persistent and the inland quieter on Tuesday and Wednesday. They have so many vendors the operate a system where by only some can come to the island on certain days. This does n't help.
The little beach is, to my mind, the nicer of the two. Whilst it does n't have a bar someone will get you a drink. It has a sandy from and also no designated swimming area; you can swim out as far as you like but take care as you're swimming in the main channel the boats take.
The number of people coming to the island just for the day did n't effect us at all; we hardly noticed them.
As for price it is a lot more expensive that the other resorts. I would say it's worth it but thats a choice you have to make ... if you come at all. I would go to this hotel again (for the same price) but only if the vendors were removed it just ruins your holiday

Room Tip: Go for the most expensive; they're separate suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Nice hotel but awful service and overpriced. We booked this hotel hoping to get a taste of Colombian cultural and friendly style. However what we find was a very unhelpful, rude, unfriendly and terrible service specially at the front desk. Management does not seem to understand that a good service will attract more tourists. It's a real shame because after seeing other parts of Colombia where the service was great, this left a bad taste in our mouths instead of a nice memory. The hotel is nice but is grossly expensive considering the service. The food is good but overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great island resort that has everything you need on the island. The rooms are well stocked with snacks in case you get hungry and we didn't think the prices were that unreasonable given you are on an island. The whole resort is very traditional to the island which is nice - but with upgrades like air conditioning :) the guys selling necklaces on the beach are persistent, but very friendly and fun if you get to chatting with them. The food at the restaurant is okay.. Not fantastic but not awful either. Definitely worth a night or two to relax and enjoy while in Cartagena.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Pedro de Majagua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Pedro de Majagua

Address: Isla Grande-Islas Del Rosario, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Islas de Rosario > Isla Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Pedro de Majagua 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the Rosario Islands. Only 45minutes from Cartagena de Indias (transfers on arrival and departure to and from Cartagena are provided by the hotel through hotel motor boat once a day and on pre-schedule time. Also you could rent a private boat or yatch for this service), the island's centennial trees, internal lagoons and Colombia's biggest reef system make this the ideal destination for an exciting yet relaxing vacation. All rooms are equipped with every comfort needed for a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel San Pedro de Majagua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Pedro De Majagua Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Pedro de Majagua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.