We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Las Palmeras Eco-Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Grande
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Las Palmeras Eco-Hotel
Save
You added Las Palmeras Eco-Hotel to your Saves list
Isla Grande | Islas del Rosario, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Isla Grande B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Island Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

My husband and I spent a week at Las Palmeras Eco-Hotel. We had intented to stay 4 days but ended up spending a week. We were looking to stay on an island to relax and just hang out. This was the place for us. Our cabana was cleaned daily, the grounds were well taken care of and the staff was friendly and responsive to our needs. The Eco- Hotel is not a typical hotel, it is rustic with few amentities. But the place is laid back, real and a very safe place to stay. We gave daily English lessons to Ana, Manuel (husband) and a local boy trying to start a canoe tour business. We went swimming, snorkeling, took a boat trip around the islands, visited the bird sanctuary and aquarium. We visted the school, walked all around the island, met many of the locals and had interesting conversations with them. The food was basic, lots of fried fish and rice. Water is conserved because it has to be brought in from the mainland in 6 gallon bottles. There is one bathroom with a shower for the men and one for the women. Showers were taking using a 5 gallon bucket of water and a coconut shell as a pouring container. The beach is about a 10 minute walk through the jungle. We enjoyed our stay here and found it to be a very peaceful, low keyed place. Ana and her staff were great. We would suggest that you bring bottles of drinking water, alcohol and snacks as these are expensive on any island. Ana will help you get a local boat ride back to Cartagena at half the price it cost to get to the island on the tourist boat. We liked the idea of supporting a local family trying to run an eco-hotel on an island whose competitors are hotel chains with lots of money. All of this made it an interesting place to stay. We recommend this place to people who like to "Travel off the beaten path."
Contact informtion: Ana Rosa Martinez Berrio
Cels: 314 584 73 58 and 317 638 79 22
e-mail ecohotelaspalmeras@hotmail.com
Facebook; Ecohotel Las Palmeras

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    13
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We just got back from a weekend at las palmeras and won't everr be going back again. It has heaps of potential but they don't take advantage of it, instead they take advantage of their patrons.
When we got there we were kindly greeted and explained how things work. They told us for $50 US we got accommodations and three meals, the only thing that was not included was alcohol. At lunch the guy offered us waters so we accepted. This happened each day and at dinner as well. On our last night we asked for our bill and discovered that they had charged us for all the waters. Had they told us water cost $ we wouldn't have minded, but they told us it was included.
The room was nice maybe worth $30-$40 US a night, total for two people. We have stayed other places that were much nicer and much cheaper. No running water at Las Palmeras. Including the food was nice because we never had to go get food but it wasn't worth the price. Very basic rice and chicken with plantains. Anything other than that cost extra.
If you go bring lots of water and your own alcohol. It's not cheap to drink at the bar next door. I would bring some snacks too, breakfast is at 7 and is very small one egg and a corn tortilla essentially. And lunch isn't till 1. But if I were to do it again I would go for two days one might and stay at one of the nice places nearby, it would be the same as two nights at Las Palmeras but with awesome service beach access and a pool. Still bring your own booze. The island is small and can all be seen in an afternoon.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Ana Rosa's hotel, Las Palmeras Eco-Hotel, in February of 2012. We could have stayed for months! We absolutely loved it! Ana Rosa is a spit fire, loves to talk, and will take care of you as if she was your mother. We were greeted with a big hug and kiss on the cheek. It was as if she knew us for years.

Her place is really simple. No running water (she collects the shower water from the rain), little light, and no electric plugs, but so much peace. One things that I highly recommend you bring is a head lamp. .

Room Tip: You have a choice to stay in a straw bungalow, hammock, or a tent. We choose the bungalow and slept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We recently escaped from the beaten track and found a tranquil oasis at Las Palmeras. Difficult to get there (we jumped off the Isla Rosario's nightmare tourist boat at the aquarium and persuaded a local boat man to bring us!) and difficult to get in contact with the establishment, but believe me, it's worth it!!!

We stayed in a quaint bamboo hut, spotlessly clean in spite of the jungle mud outside due to heavy rain. For 80,000 peso, we got board and 3 delicious meals cooked by Ana Rosa. Great value, especially considering it was the most delicious food we experienced on our vacation! Ana Rosa and Manuel couldn't be more hospital - helping in anyway they could from renting snorkles for us to running to buy ice to make cocktails when we mentioned we'd fancy one!

Two friendly divers from Madrid were also staying there, and arranged some exciting dives for us (they are staying until February - wonderful dive guide if you manage to meet them!) Otherwise, Isla Grande offers peace, tranquility and good snorkling - and Las Palmeras is the perfect place to explore from!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Ana Rosa and Manuel were excellent hosts during our 2 night stay at the EcoHotel. The rooms and toilets were impeccably clean despite the rainshowers and resulting mud. Beds comfortable, food fresh and tasty, and the atmosphere relaxing. I only wish I spoke more than a tiny bit of Spanish - i'm sure Ana has some wonderful stories!

The beaches near by are heavenly and sparsely populated, the water perfectly warm and clear for snorkelling or diving. Be sure to visit the Laguna Encantada at night for a sparkling swim. The flourescent plankton light up under water when you move - so bring your snorkle. I also read this is great for day time snorkling, but did not get a chance to try it myself.

Do be aware this isn't for the luxury traveller - toilets are flushed using buckets, and showers consist of rainwater-filled buckets and half a coconut. But like I said - facilities were nice and clean, just be prepared for a bit of an experience! :)

Don't forget bug spray!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed in the Ecotel Las Palmeras for 1 night and were the only two guests. We had our private little straw hut, consisting basically of a large bed with a mosquito net.

We had contacted the hotel via their facebook and then contacted Rosa on her mobile. She also organized the transport for us: we left from a large local market close to Cartagena (NOT the muelle turístico) and left with a boat of locals which Rosa had organized for us. I don't remember the final price but it was somewhat cheaper than 70 000 COP return (on Sunday on our way back we went with another, tourist boat because on Sunday the local's "shuttle" doesn't work)

Rosa is very open and tells you all you want to know about living on the Island and the Ecotel - very enjoyable. She cooks the fresh meals (typically fresh fish and rice with some kind of sauce) herself over the open fire and helps you organize whatever you want to. We went for a guided tour (in a boat) with her son through the mangroves and to the coral reeve. We rented snorkeling equipment and it was very impressive (but admit I had never seen a coral reeve out in the wild) - probably best to bring your own equipment but we had no problem with the rented equipment.

Rosa's grandchildren brought us to a beach where we were the only two people - it was not huge but very nice sand and palm trees - as close to a paradise beach as you can imagine. Only draw back - like all the time on the island - make sure you get quite a bit of anti-mosquito on - they are everywhere and in considerable quantities - if you put the anti-mosquito on you should however not have a problem.

We really enjoyed our stay, be however prepared that you're going to an Ecotel on a small Caribbean island: they store rainwater to use for showering and other personal hygenie activities and the rooms are obviously not en-suite.

We were looking for a lonely, genuine and somewhat adventurous place to stay and this expectation was absolutely fulfilled.

We would definitely come back, thanks for all!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

I just came back from a night at the Ecohotel Las Palmeras on Isla Grande - Rosarios. Ana Rosa loves to tell you many stories of her life as a native. Las Palmeras offers hammock for COP 25'000 and for COP 58'000 you get a hammock and three delicious meals. Everything is hand and fresh made.

There should be a cheap taxi boat to Isla Grande.
We went to the Muelle Turisticos and asked one of the companies to drop us off at Isla Grande. We payed COP 70'000 return.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Palmeras Eco-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmeras Eco-Hotel

Address: Isla Grande | Islas del Rosario, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Islas de Rosario > Isla Grande
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Grande
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is 100% ecological and in nature, managed by five local families of islanders. We produce electricity from solar panels. We offer fun activities for adults and children: snorkeling in the coral reef, luminiscent lake at night, tour of the lakes and mangrove by kayak, bird sanctuary, forest hikes, and visits to the local village. The island is also perfect for just relaxing with a good book on a hammock or on the beach. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Palmeras Eco-Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.