We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punta Faro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Punta Faro to your Saves list
Punta Faro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Mucura
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

As many of the other reviews have already said this place is paradise. The service is amazing, the staff seems to anticipate your every need. They are also trying to be as ecological as they can with programs teaching the local children about protecting their environment. The only quibble is the food, while plentiful and fresh you aren't coming for the gourmet cooking. One other thing, be sure to have a massage over looking the Caribbean. it was glorious and reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    45
    13
    9
    4
See reviews for
72
137
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

At the end of our trip around Colombia, we spent 3 nights at Punta Faro, on Isla Mucura. It was the peak of our trip. The island is quiet and very well preserved, the staff at Punta Faro very friendly, and there is plenty of stuff to do, in case you don't want to spend the whole day on the beach. We took a bike tour with Ricardo, around the island, we went for half a day scuba diving with Cali, snorkelled, and relaxed at the little spa right on the beach. Although we had to shower with cold water (there is no hot water on the island), it was so hot outside that it was a welcomed refreshment. The food was very good and we particularly enjoyed the fresh seafood. It was the perfect place to end our trip in Colombia.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Truly paradise island in Colombia!!

A place you probably don't expect to find anymore these days .
All local people are very friendly and nice.
Food is natural and fresh with seafood and other stuff very well presented.
If you are looking for paradise ......
this is surely a first stop in the process!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed on the island for 6 days following a 3 day stay in Cartagena. It was the perfect island paradise following our stay in the city. A beautiful remote resort on a small island with few people and fresh seafood. Rooms are great - no hot water on the island which is no issue as the weather is so warm. Great ecological walking tour, snorkeling and boat rides offered. This is the perfect place to relax and get away from it all. Staff are so helpful and will try to accommodate all requests. Speed boat ride is 2 hours from Cartagena - a great experience and a beautiful journey.

Tip: We should have booked 1 night back in the city following our stay on the island as the boat leaves Punta Faro @ 11am meaning we could not make our 2.30pm JFK flight.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

If you are in Cartagena, be sure to extend your vacation and stay at this resort. The hotel and facilities are A+. Extraordinary fun, it’s remote and beautiful. Our biggest complaint was that we didn’t like the paper napkins they used with their good meals. The staff, particularly Segura, who meets people at the boat that comes over, are very friendly and helpful. Callie at the dive shop ran a good operation for divers on the island. Over all, it was an outstanding place to stay, don’t miss it if you are close.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is a must do if you're looking for some quality beach time around Cartagena. The beaches at Cartagena aren't that pretty. You have to go out to the islands if you want white sand and crystal blue waters.

* Location - It's ~2hr boat ride from Cartagena. It's an open air boat and the ride is smooth. The time goes by very fast and it's a beautiful ride. They don't have good documentation on the website, so to get to the boat, you meet at the Hotel Regatta. Punta Faro has an office there. You meet at 10:30am and the boat is supposed to leave at 11am... although ours was over an hour late. :(

* Service - You can tell the staff really cares about making sure you have the best and most relaxing time. One small gripe - nothing starts on time (activities, meals).

* Food - Good mix of options. Lunch is the best meal with the most variety.

* Rooms - Splurge for a sea view room. They have hammocks and lounge chairs. It's definitely worth the extra $. There isn't hot water but the showers run at a little warmer than room temp. I'm a hot shower person and I had no problem with the water temp.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I took my partner to see some places in my country and it was fantastic! The room with an amazing view, the possibility of scuba diving and be able to see the clear water. The service was first class and the food every day trying to give a new experience of Colombian cooking

Room Tip: Worth paying for the sea view. Other rooms were standard...nothing special
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punta Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Faro

Address: Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Archipelago of San Bernardo > Isla Mucura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Mucura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Punta Faro 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mucura Island, Hotel Punta Faro is a dream oasis of white sands and warm sea breezes, where you will find the perfect escape to your routine, due to its unique and exclusive style. You'll find as well the best of Caribbean gastronomy and beautiful landscapes that will make your stay an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Punta Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Faro Cartagena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punta Faro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.