We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punta Faro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Punta Faro to your Saves list
Punta Faro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Mucura
Sacramento
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Vacation ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

First vacation that I was able to enjoy... the relaxation, food, environment, staff, and non-abundance of people.....ever! We enjoyed it so much we stayed 2 extra days. We went with 10 family members and all of us didn't want to leave, and vowed to come back again soon. Every day we were excited to know what we were going to experience for lunch and dinner. Every meal was fantastic! The staff was great and available if you needed them. I loved the rawness of the whole island! I will come again with all of my friends!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar A, Manager at Punta Faro, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Google Translation
Gracias al huésped que nos ha interpretado nuestra filosofía y logística un servicio natural y artesanal y natural a nuestros visitantes, diferente a la hotelería tradicional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    37
    10
    9
    4
See reviews for
63
117
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The best place with kids. If you want to relax without worrying about the kids.
Enjoy diving, windsurfing, snorkeling, and massage at the spa. Food is good and service very nice. Looks like my second home.
I really recommend that place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I Loved the place!!! If you want to get relax and forget your stress, this is the place. We went with our little daughter and she had great time. The beach is perfect for kids because there are not big waves. There is a little park for the kids where they can expend their energy. The breakfast, lunch and dinner are included in what you pay by day, but if you want food out of this times you can always order it. The food was very good for me, and you can eat all you want. Available wi-fi if you need to get connected to the world. There is not hot water in the rooms but come on, you won't need it with that weather, you just need that water to refresh yourself. But if you need hot water you can always ask for it, and they will bring it to your room. The room had a porche and view to the sea, it was amazing. We could see the sun raising in the morning...what an experience!!! The linen is impeccable and fresh...no humid or bad smell like in some island's hotels...finally, nature, nature and nature everywhere...what else could you ask for?

Room Tip: Ask the rooms with view to the sea...but all the rooms are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We spent two nights at Punta Faro and loved it. The snorkeling was excellent, the lack of vendors and day-trippers very welcome and our rooms were comfortable and had a beautiful view of the sea. One recommendation to management would be to add a chair to the rooms - I found I missed one. There was no hot water, but this wasn´t really a problem as the weather was hot and the water came out warmish anyway. The food was simple but tasty and the coconut lemonades and Caipirovskas delicious. Staff were friendly and there was free wi-fi which was a bonus for our teenage daughters. We needed to relax and we certainly managed to do that at Punta Faro.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Went recently for a wedding and although the views and beaches are amazing, the place is overshadowed by the terrible service and lack of attention from the employees at the hotel. We were promised a couple of expeditions that never happened and there was hardly a waiter serving the beach. As other reviewers have said, the food is appalling and they serve the same thing every day. Although the room was spacious enough, there is no feeling of security and the water is not clean enough to shower.
Will probably never return to this place unless someone really starts managing this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

It's a great place! Amazing island and a very cozy hotel. The food it is not sofisticated but is very good. The staff are perfect and the beach very nice. Negative points: old fashioned bedroom, no hot water and the desserts are definetely terrible. Since the we have to pay for internet, we forgot the world and relax a lot.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012 via mobile

Paradise island with high level service. Negative point: no hot water.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Punta Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punta Faro

Address: Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Archipelago of San Bernardo > Isla Mucura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isla Mucura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Punta Faro 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Mucura Island, Hotel Punta Faro is a dream oasis of white sands and warm sea breezes, where you will find the perfect escape to your routine, due to its unique and exclusive style. You'll find as well the best of Caribbean gastronomy and beautiful landscapes that will make your stay an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Punta Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Faro Cartagena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punta Faro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.