We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dongwe Ocean View

Save Saved
You added Dongwe Ocean View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dongwe Ocean View
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Michamvi Pingwe | P.O.Box 4242, Dongwe, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Dongwe
Johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Service great, food good! What more can I say? Staff very considerate, helpful and friendly. Staff always willing to assist when you want to go on excursions.

I'm not a big fan of big resorts with lots of people, continuous entertainment, loud music and 'partying'. Therefore I enjoyed Dongwe immensely - the complete opposit - the hotel's atmosphere was very relaxing, nice and comfortable - able to do your own thing.

Excursions I would recommend - snorkeling just down the beach, blue safari, visiting the rock restaurant and the spice tour. I really thought that's not for me but I found it very interesting and an experience to recommend - learnt a lot of the culture.

No 'beach boys' hassling you all the time - that was a bonus!!

Will definately recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    48
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
29
88
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from ten romantic days at Dongwe Beach View and, despite the fact that beach holidays really aren't my 'thing', I could not have been happier. The hotel itself was lovely, from the spacious rooms with huge beds to the hanging wicker chairs in the open air reception area, to the laid back bar on stilts above the beach, watched over by friendly 'Masai'. The hotel staff were invariably friendly and helpful, be they working in bar or restaurant, cleaners, pool-boys or cooks, the food was fresh and of good quality and varied every day according to what the 'catch' was, the service impeccable.
We were there for my wife's birthday and what looked to be the entire staff celebrated with us by bringing a cake with her name on it and a bottle of wine to our table, complete with an utterly unique 'Swahili' rendition of 'Happy Birthday'.
It was undoubtedly a holiday highlight.

I had half expected beaches crowded with deckchairs and sunburnt tourists, with armed guards patrolling, but what we got was complete tranquility, the beautiful, palm-lined beach largely empty but for a few local fishermen preparing their dhows. I heard from fellow guests that other parts of the island had been overcrowded and wet during our stay, but we saw nothing but hot sunshine and the occasional gathering of a dozen people when the fishermen spread their catch out on the beach once a day.
Being on the east coast of the island, Dongwe Beach View enjoyed a pleasant breeze on most days that we were there. Not refreshing exactly, but enough to make the intense heat bearable. The shallow stretch of sea that lies between the beach and the coral reef, a kilometer out, made for a calm place to swim when the tide was in (the sea as hot as bathwater), and a great place to rock-pool when the tide was out. We even saw a stingray gliding through the low-tide pools. You don't see that in the UK!
We had the luxury of a car while we were there and found that, by traveling just a mile or three up and down the coast from the hotel, there was enough variety of scenery and bars, to keep things interesting without going too far afield.
Back to the staff; When we were pulled by the bribe-seeking police, Juma on the reception desk was the embodiment of calm reassurance, when we went to Stone Town, waiter Deo kindly showed us round the market, Anita on reception was always smilingly helpful, whatever the request, and barman/waiter Soleil was ever ready to sit and share his knowledge of Zanzibari life, when not engaged in serving others. Samson the manager patrolled the restaurant each evening, ensuring that his guests had no problems, and teaching us a new Swahili word each day. And the rest of the staff, without exception (yes Barack, even you :)), were fantastically welcoming, warm and helpful.
By the end of our stay we were almost coming to see all these guys as family, and I shall miss them all, even more than the stunning views from our balcony.
Hakuna matata, as they would undoubtedly say.
Were we to return to Zanzibar one day, Dongwe Ocean View would certainly be our first port of call.

Room Tip: Every room faces the sea, but I reckon it worth asking for a top floor room for a marginally better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kichanga, General Manager at Dongwe Ocean View, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
WOW what a great review asante sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We've stayed at Dongwe Ocean View for 8 days with my wife in January 2013. I spend more than 70% of the year traveling, staying in 4-5 star hotels, so my standards are pretty high.

THE SUPERB: The employees of Dongwe are one of a kind! They were extremely friendly, always tried to help out, even when we requested something that was not on the menu (grilled octopus or fresh vegetables for a breakfast) they've helped us. When we went for a trip early in the morning (6:30AM), they've offered that they get up early to prepare breakfast for us (normally starts at 7:30AM) or they can prepare some take-away for us in advance. I've never ever experienced such friendly service and this is something that makes Dongwe VERY special.

THE GOOD: The rooms were very clean and each room is with ocean view (not to mention that our bed was covered by flowers). The hotel atmosphere is very friendly and you will feel at home. Staff will remember not only your room number, but also your name and your preferences. There are a lot of opportunities to spend your free time - trip to Stone Town, Spice Tour, swimming with wild doplhins, Prison Island, you can rent a car\bike or go to nice The Rock restaurant. And of course, Zanzibar is amazing country with beautiful beaches and amazing views.

THE BAD: Breakfast should be improved, the food was good, but the selection was simply too limited. Same applies to dinners - the food quality was really good, but the selection was pretty limited (1 page menu). I would like to see some local specialities instead of pasta\pizza, but I understand that the menu is based on common demand. Oh, and water should be cheaper - $2 per bottle is way too much.

If we will ever come back to Zanzibar (which is something we would like to do), we would definitely go straight to Dongwe and I can highly recommend it to anyone. If you prefer friendly family-like accomodation instead of typical hotel complexes, Dongwe will get 6 out of 5 stars!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kichanga, General Manager at Dongwe Ocean View, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
thank you very much for your review and thank you very much for your suggestions that we appreciate very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We arrived at the hotel not expecting much but were overwhelmed with the warmth of hotel staff right from the reception and throughout our stay. We read past reviews about clients being pushed to patronize a related restaurant off the hotel grounds. No one hassled us to go there. The ten dollar ride to the Rock Restaurant was reasonable and the food plus the view fantastic. Should I decide to come back to Zanzibar I will be a repeat customer of this beautiful property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kichanga, General Manager at Dongwe Ocean View, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Hello, thank you very much for such a nice review, hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Together with my girlfriend Anna our dream becoming truth, Our first visit we stayed North Nongwi, too crowded and was ok for our first option.
Second holiday at Dongwe Ocean View was amazing, Small nice Hotel of only 18 rooms, We were all welcomed by Manager Sampson and Juma, We started to feel relaxing before seen our room.
We stayed room 108 lovely and big enough, and those 4 nights were too short for us.
Bar service is lovely and friendly staff, The food is delicious.***** where we recommend more spices to be used for.
Beach is nice and is the best free beach as is not even crowded like other part of the island.
I am arranging trip for my parents this year to occupy the same room we stayed.
Every opinions depends on what you are looking for, For us Dongwe Ocean View is the best place we like.

Room Tip: Room 108 and 208 for special Dream
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kichanga, General Manager at Dongwe Ocean View, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
thank you so much for such a great review i hope you come back for the third time the room is there waiting for you and all the staff od Dongwe Ocean View asante sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent our honeymoon travelling across Tanzania in Jan/Feb 2012. After all the dust and car rides we wanted a peaceful spot on the beach to relax. This was it.

- Dongwe beach is mostly covered with large resorts which makes Ocean View Hotel an exception. Rooms are clean and spacious with nice balconies to enjoy the ocean view and winds.
- Keep in mind that there is very little to do on the beach which makes large resorts with their activities more practical. However, if you’re just looking for a peaceful place to relax and enjoy the ocean, Ocean View is better.
- The local tourist industry is not very developed so keep your expectations low. For example local fishermen can take you snorkeling but they won’t have fancy equipment or a motor in their boat

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kichanga, General Manager at Dongwe Ocean View, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
You got Dongwe Ocean View a small intimate hotel were you can relax on one of the most beautiful beachs of Zanzibar. Thank you for your nice review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A lovely hotel with wonderfully friendly staff and an amazing location. A wonderful coral sand beach with exposed reef at low tide and not much hassle from beach boys. Reasonable priced food and drink although the menu could do with a make over and a few specials, but the food that is there is quite reasonable. Rooms are functional but hot water a bit patchy in supply.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kichanga, General Manager at Dongwe Ocean View, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
hello Jason, thank you very much for your nice review , we will check our hot water !! have a good day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dongwe Ocean View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongwe Ocean View

Address: Michamvi Pingwe | P.O.Box 4242, Dongwe, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Dongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Dongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dongwe Ocean View 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Dongwe Ocean View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dongwe Ocean View Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dongwe Ocean View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.