We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful way to end the safari” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dongwe Ocean View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dongwe Ocean View to your Saves list
Dongwe Ocean View
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Michamvi Pingwe | P.O.Box 4242, Dongwe, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dongwe
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“What a wonderful way to end the safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

After a grueling month in Ethiopia and the serengeti safari my wife and I needed Dongwe Ocean View. It's nothing less than a little slice of heaven. Situated an hour away from the mess of Stone Town, the Dongwe offers a boutique hotel of only 18 rooms all with an ocean view. We had room 108 on the top floor of one of the two buildings. Every morning we had a fabulous African sun-rise to greet us. The room was clean with nothing to be desired. The beach is swept clean every morning and the beach lounge chairs are washed and put away each evening. The centeral dining room is large with fairly decent food......
The staff goes out of the way to please!!!!! My money belt broke and the manager had it repaired in the village with a new zipper in under 3 hours at no charge! My driver needed a place to sleep and eat for our 5 night stay and the manager fixed him up with both for no extra charge to us or the driver. Clothes filthy from safari and washed and ironed each day. Nothing is left to chance at Dongwe Ocean View! The Rock restaurant is owned by Dongwe and is probably the most exotice restaurant in Africa. While we had a car and driver the hotel can arrange for a taxi to take you the 7 km to the restaurant. Please go....take your camera and enjoy.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor for the best view of everything or use the roof-top area for photo taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    56
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
33
100
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

After 12 days of safari we flew to Zanzibar for some R&R before returning home. One night in Stone Town was enough, we wanted some down time. Dongwe Ocean View was the perfect location for this.

It's far from everything, so don't expect to be going out a lot. But the beach is fantastic and the staff are amazing. They even arranged a dug-out canoe trip for snorkeling on the reef. It's not a 5-star resort with all the amenities. But it is a small hotel in comfortable location with attentive staff for the perfect way to unwind.

Oh, they are also associated with the Rock restaurant. The location is interesting (building on a small island 100 feet from shore) but the food is okay and service mediocre. The three of us would have had a better meal (at 1/3 the price) if we stayed at the hotel.

Room Tip: They have 2 buildings. Each has 3 floors with 3 units in each. All face the beach, 50 feet away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We spent five days at the Dongwe Ocean View in September and we had a fabulous time. The hotel is boutique and charming. First impression was good. The staff were wonderful and friendly and the rooms spacious and clean. Every room faces the beach and is a stones throw away from the shore. The pool was clean and refreshing.

If I had one complaint, it would have to be the food. Firstly, I must say that I love all food and rarely complain about it. For the most part the buffet breakfasts and dinners were very good. But when it came to cooking meat and fish.....they destroyed it. My prawns were rubber and when i threw it at the resident cat, it even turned its nose up at it. The chicken was so overdone that I had difficulty cutting it. The side dishes and desserts were extremely nice, in fact, better than most hotels but there is much room for improvement. When tea and coffee was served in the afternoon, the cookies and cake were scarce and appeared rationed to two cookies per person.....it was disappointing.

The beach was nice and well groomed and there is always alot of activity on the beach which is fun to watch. The local fishermen going out every morning and returning in the early afternoon with their catch. Watching them pound their octopus on the beach was neat.

You are isolated with no shops anywhere. So if you're happy laying on the beach or by the pool and reading, then the Dongwe is definitely for you. It really was very picturesque and fun.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darfur, Sudan via Charlotte, NC, USA
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Dongwe Ocean View hotel has its plus and minus.
I wouldn't call the location "great", unless you're looking for having absolutely nothing to do but laze in the sun and walk the beach. There are not too many beach touts, so it's a lovely walk. The beach is swimmable, but only during the times you may not want to be out in the high sun. All of the hotels in the walkable area are "private", so you're totally limited to your own hotel - and all it's limitations.

The hotel itself is lovely. The rooms are quite large, and well laid out. All have a wonderful view of the ocean - and also the swimming pool (fortunately or unfortunately). You're pretty much forced to sit outside though as there's only a small desk chair, and the bed is netted in a way that doesn't really allow you to sit on it.

To be so far away from other accessible areas, the hotel doesn't have many amenities. There's a nice sitting area with a television and a decent sized library, but no spa or workout facilities. There's of course, the pool, which is clean and decent-sized. There's also many, many beds, but unless you're sunning, there's worthless, because there are no umbrellas, and there's no shade tree - so forget about lying outside reading by the ocean!

The dining room is cool and open, but if you're there during low guests, the menu is very, very limited, and the food can be quite redundant if you're forced to eat it three times a day. Breakfast is not worth getting up for! There's a bottle of water, a pitcher of sugar-laced orange juice and coffee (I don't drink it, so can't comment on the quality). You can gets eggs (every morning?!) and baked beans, but otherwise, you just get bread. Admittedly, what they DID have was quite nicely prepared. But, I agree with another reviewer, the lack of fresh seafood and fresh fruit was whollyy unacceptable! I mean, really, local touts were literally walking up out of the ocean with fish on a string!

The service was tolerable; really nothing to write home about. But the workers, as with most Tanzanian islanders, were very nice and accommodating.

Overall, the hotel rooms were great; the hotel offerings were scanty. Location was beautiful, but remote. (You may not want north coast, but it would be nice to sit in a different location for at least one day!)

Room Tip: The middle rooms are larger and have a larger terrace. However, they don't have the nice breezy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Dongwe Ocean View defines the word paradise. Superbly located on the south eastern beach of Zanzibar. My boyfriend and I were looking for a quite gateway and it's exactly what we got. The food was delicious, with superb service, the stuff are very professional, friendly, polite and leave you be. The hotel is spotless, over looking an amazingly clean beach that was just divine for taking long walks during sunset. The hotel offers five star service for a three star price. To make your stay more memorable don't forget to have dinner at the Rock Restaurant. My boyfriend and I are already looking forward to going back to DOV for our next getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Dongwe Ocean View is THE place to be if you're looking for some rest on a paradise-like beach bordered by a green environment... (Those who want to see Bangkok in Africa will go to the North beaches!).

We ended there after a 5000 Km-one-month-safari from South Africa on the road... pretty exhausting and DOV was exactly what we were looking for, i.e. relaxing place, -very- friendly people, excellent food, super clean swimming pool, big room (nice terrace, big safe for all my camera gear!), clear blue sea, etc...

Anything you can think of doing elsewhere (dolphin trip, Jozani forest, etc) can be organised/done there as well!

I am a very demanding client and honestly couldn't be satisfied more (hence this review, which I never usually do!)... Even searching hard, I can't find anything to regret...

Room Tip: Get the 109!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and a fussy 9 year old traveled to Dongwe. We spent 2 weeks and here is my objective opinion.
Firstly, Ocean view is nice, clean and quiet.
The staff are very polite and leave you be.
The rooms are clean, air conditioned.
Samson the manager is great and very personable.
For the amount of money we paid it is a good 3.5 stars not 4 stars. I am basing this on my extensive travel experience,- But i can't really complain as I know Zanzibar is expensive. Everything is tastefully decorated and all rooms are ocean facing.

I would recommend this hotel for a shorter stay not the 2 weeks we did.

Food.
It was ok for the first 2 days, thereafter the choice was very uninspiring. The only local inspiration was chicken zanzibar but still bland.

Fruit selection was limited too for Zanzibar this was shocking!

After the first week and limited choices of anywhere else to eat, this became a chore. Now going back to my fussy 9 year old. She pretty much had the runs from the 3rd day. I got it in the last 3 days and another couple got it same time. So i think food hygiene needs to be looked at.

Music
Being in Africa the land of eclectic music, the restaurant incessantly played the same 4 songs (old songs mind you), over and over again. We felt like we were being tortured at this point, they even played Robbie Williams. It maybe an odd point to mention, but we expected a variety - the repetition became too much not to notice.

Beach

Clean, white sands and you can walk for miles if you don't mind the beach boys and the Italians from the exclusively Italian club 2 mins from Dongwe.

Safety

its pretty much safe, didn't feel threatened or insecure.

Drinks

Very expensive, we ended up stocking up water from Stone town - @ 2 dollars for 250 ml - it was way too expensive

Entertainment
None. Just the same music from 1989. It would be good to have an area for kids- even if it is just a swing and some toys. Our little girl got very bored and so stayed in the pool, on the beach even when the sun was blazing (yes we tried to get her in the shade, but the point is, there was no other choice for a restless child)

So overall nice stay, quiet, peaceful, nice staff, clean and safe.
I recommend a maximum 5 day stay.

I have tried to be as objective as possible.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dongwe Ocean View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongwe Ocean View

Address: Michamvi Pingwe | P.O.Box 4242, Dongwe, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Dongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dongwe Ocean View 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Dongwe Ocean View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dongwe Ocean View Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dongwe Ocean View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.