We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Beach Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dongwe Ocean View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dongwe Ocean View to your Saves list
Dongwe Ocean View
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Michamvi Pingwe | P.O.Box 4242, Dongwe, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dongwe
Arusha
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Relaxing Beach Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

For 10 days we ate good food, drank fresh juices, dozed by the pool, swam in the sea, beachcombed, learnt to play Bao and speak a little Kiswahili thanks to the wonderful staff at Dongwe. This is a small, boutique accommodation with clean, comfortable rooms and fantastic ocean views especially from our second floor balcony. We will be back!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    52
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
32
96
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ilhabela, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We spend 5 days at DOV and we had a very good time, nice people, good service and clean bedroons, with very nice view!! We really recomend the DOV, even you can find others place with nice bonglows at the beach in Paje and Bewju. We think is a nice place to be with a family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We started our summer vacation at Dongwe Ocean View - 5 nights by the beach. This place was just want we needed - great value, really good food, comfortable beds in friendly surrounding. The pool and beach bar were tastefully decorated and the staff so friendly and helpful. The view from our top floor balcony over the beach and sea was breath taking. Can't wait to come back next year.

Room Tip: Go for a top floor room or one over looking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We spent some very relaxing days in this well managed hotel, with a very friendly and kind staff, with a fantastic view on a wonderful beach, tipical of a tropical island. We had excellent fresh fish and tasty fruit juices. Fantastic walks on Dongwe beach with low tide!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halls Gap, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Dongwe Ocean View is a great place to relax and reflect on your experiences from a lengthy safari! This is what we did and we found Dongwe was GREAT value for money! Next door to gigantic resorts such as Breezes Beach Club, where you easily pay double the price, Dongwe offers a very personal and super friendly clean and comfortable place to retreat!
Make sure you get a cocktail (or two:-)) from Barrack too, his smile can't be missed.
Juma is the helpful and professional clerk at the reception, who can help you with whatever you need. I have to also mention the great chef at the buffet every night, for a buffet it was delicious food and good value for money! Thank you all for a reaxing time after the magic of our safari!:-D

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kichanga, General Manager at Dongwe Ocean View, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
thank you very much for such a nice review , for sure i will say to my staff what your wrote they will be very happy and proud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We enjoyed our 4 nights stay at Dongwe very much. The place is just amazing: fantastic view from the blacony, beautiful white sand beach, open space everywhere: restaurant, reception, swimming pool...Bedrooms are nice and comfortable, very big. We appreciated each evening to have our room prepared for the night- repellants against mosquitoes, flowers on the bed...
Food was great: cooker prepares eggs in every way you prefer, or pancakes, each morning. Homemaid soup for dinner. The staff is really sympathetic, always wondering if everything is OK for you and trying to please you (thank you Barraka for your dance on Hakuna Matata song;)). We appreciated the deputy manager's reactivity to find a solution to close our bathroom window in order not to have insects in our room at night, or to repare the alternator. We swimmed there and ate for 5 days and were never ill (even after cocktails with icecubes). We would make an other stay with great pleasure. Be careful with the urchins- there are a lot and they are dangerous when the tide is low- you need beach shoes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kichanga, General Manager at Dongwe Ocean View, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
hello, it is a very nice review , thank you we are very happy you enjoyed your holiday with us, all the best . Dongwe ocean View Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg, Västra Götaland, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Me and my wife had a lovely 10 day stay here. I have never experienced a better price/quality relation, particularly since our 10 days meant a 40 % discounted price.

But let's start with putting some things straight, since some older comments need correction now in july 2012.

Pool - The pool is very clean since a pool guy serves it both morning and evening.

Food - Very tasty and we never got sick. In the afternoon (maybe after the complementary tea/coffee time) you simply tell the staff what time you want dinner, and it will be served on time. Lunch is ordered a la carte when it suits you, and might take some 30 minutes to be served - but no big deal since you can hang out by the pool or in the couches facing the beach in the meantime.

Tours - Totally safe. Quite expensive because of long taxi trips. Try to find another group to make tours with, and the price per person will be much better.


As some hotels nearby were closed, preparing for the late july/august tourist peak season, the beach was very calm. Sometimes we had a nice beach stretch of 100-200 meters all to ourselves even at high tide. I guess it is quite calm even when the other hotels are open since the beach i sooo long.

The staff is very friendly, and after 10 days it was quite sad to leave. After returning from tours they were always asking how it was and if we had any complaints.

A few tips on trips to make on your own:

You MUST go to the Rock restaurant, about 5 kilometers up the beach. Rent bikes from a "beach boy hangout" next to the hotel for $5/day and bike north following the beach (only during low tide!) or the road (there will be a sign for the Rock). We also had our best swim on the small cape close to the Rock.. crystal clear water and nice white sand!

If you bike north even further you will come to Michamwi with its mangroove/sandbank area. A walk on the shore there during sunset was one of the highlights of our trip.

Also make sure to go snorkeling at the reef. Ask the hotel staff and they will direct you to a fisherman that takes you out to the reef on his Dhow for $10.

The rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. Water pressure in the shower is a bit low on the top floor, but it wasn't much trouble.

All in all, if you want a pricey, quiet beach holiday, go to Dongwe ocean view!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kichanga, General Manager at Dongwe Ocean View, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Hello , thank you very much for your nice review. hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dongwe Ocean View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dongwe Ocean View

Address: Michamvi Pingwe | P.O.Box 4242, Dongwe, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Dongwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dongwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dongwe Ocean View 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Dongwe Ocean View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dongwe Ocean View Hotel Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dongwe Ocean View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.