We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious bed and breakfast accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glangwili Mansion

Save Saved
You added Glangwili Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glangwili Mansion
Llanllawddog, Carmarthen SA32 7JE, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save £5 per night!
Ranked #1 of 1 Llanllawddog B&B and Inns
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Spacious bed and breakfast accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Glangwili Mansion is set in spacious grounds just outside Carmarthen. We were warmly greated by the owner. The house has been modernised to a high contemporary standard. This is not a cheap alternative to an hotel. Prices here are around the same as you would pay for a 4 star hotel in any UK city centre. However the cost is reflected in the location and high standard of the rooms. There are four rooms available and we had the Garden Suite which is a large double aspect room with a queen size bed, sofa and chair, tv, fire, french windows opening onto a small fenced patio area with the other windows opening onto a lawned area. Wifi is avaible in all rooms at no extra charge. There is a patio area with tables and chairs at the front of the house. Water and tea and coffee making is supplied in the room. The spacious bathroom has a walk in shower and no bath which I prefer. Shower gel and shampoo are supplied along with bathrobes and slippers. Breakfast was excellent with a good range of cereals, fruit and yoghurts and an excellent range of cooked breakfast to follow. The owners are very helpful with planning trips and where to eat in the evening. The only thing which let Glangwili Mansion down was that it was a bit dusty in our room and there were hairs on the dressing table chair and bits on the carpet. I am extremely fussy and this may not have bothered other people. I would return to Glangwili Mansion if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glangwilimansion, Owner at Glangwili Mansion, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments.
Here at Glangwili Mansion we pride ourselves in taking extra special care of all our guests, providing a conseirge service and helping to make their stay with us as positive as possible. Consequently, we are very proud to have been awarded 5 stars and a Gold Award by Visit Wales for our efforts - the result of huge investment and years of very hard work!
As you were made aware, during your stay we had electricians in the building, upgrading the lighting system. I can only suggest that the dust you experienced had settled out from the atmosphere, after we had done our daily clean.
We would encourage hotel guests the world over to talk to Owners/Managers at the time of stay, and in 99% of cases feel sure any problems can and will be resolved. There is no point in using social media sites for problem solving - they can't help but the hotel can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
65
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zwolle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We (my wife and I) just had a 3-night stay here. On arrival the owner welcomed us with enthousiasm and showed us our suite. There is real eye for details in this house and in the rooms. Our suite (Chartreuse suite) was spacious and nice with also a large bathroom with a bath. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was good. The house and the rooms are a bit heary (also in the plumbings). We loved our stay here and could recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

George and Linda made us feel welcome from the onset. The house is in a most idyllic setting and the accommodation is outstanding. Large spacious rooms spotlessly clean which retain the character of the house whilst giving the rooms a very contemporary feel. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble even down to trying to book dinner reservations for us at nearby restaurants. We only had the weekend free but would have loved to stay longer and seen more of Carmarthenshire. A great base for any occasion and George and Linda really made us feel like it was a home from home. The full “Welsh” (Yes, I remembered George) breakfast in the morning was out of this world and sets you up nicely for a full day of activity. Many thanks and we hope to visit again.

Room Tip: All fo the rooms are superb, you can't choose a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Wales in Style? Yes! We stayed 9 days and found spacious, spotless rooms in a great contemporary style.
The location is even great also for using it as a kind of hub for touring South Wales.
The hosts are very polite, friendly and helpful, have a good sense of humor and are never pushy.
Thanks George and Linda with best regards to the Alpaca gang.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed here the night after returning from the Isle of Wight Festival, and before collecting our new pup ahead of a five hour journey home. Summary, we needed to be relaxed and in the right frame of mind, and George and Linda at Glangwilli Mansion made sure we were in exactly the right spot by the time we left.

This is a tastefully furnished, well run establishment, in a part of Wales. it is well complemented by a great selection of contemporary art, all of which was right up my street and most of which can be purchased.

Whether you are simply passing through, or needing a base in this beautiful area, I would recommend this place highly. If there is any downside at all, it is the fact that the pubs are a car ride away, not a short walk!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We have returned from 4 nights with Gorge & Linda & the only thing wrong, was that you just don't want to leave!! From the minute you arrive to the time you leave, George & Linda's hospitality if second to none. We got married on Saturday at Carmarthen Register Office, but George & Linda turned our day into the most fantastic time that we will both remember forever. They got involved with us & said they wanted to make it very special & they did!

We had the garden suite which was just lovely. The breakfasts are the best we have ever had, in a relaxing atmosphere. The surrounding area is very relaxing & oh so quiet!

George & Linda really know what their guests want & they do it all so easily. This is the best place ever to stay & leaving ws like saying goodbye to really good friends. That takes a lot of beating! FANTABULOUS!!!

Room Tip: The garden suite is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Lovely place in beautiful surroundings.George and Linda were very welcoming and went out of their way to make sure our stay was enjoyable,and it was.
We can honestly say that is the best B&B we have ever stayed in, the most comfortable and definitely one of the cleanest!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glangwili Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glangwili Mansion

Address: Llanllawddog, Carmarthen SA32 7JE, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen > Llanllawddog
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Llanllawddog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious 5 star, Gold Award, boutique style Bed and Breakfast. Situated on the edge of Brechfa Forest, a few miles north of the bustling market town of Carmarthen, South West Wales. Create the perfect weekend break... a romantic getaway?, maybe walking in the forest?, or simply relaxing in your luxurious room – at Glangwili Mansion, we give you a special place to chill out and unwind in complete comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Glangwili Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glangwili Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.