We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Highwayman

The Highwayman
Norwich Road, Creeting St Mary IP6 8PD, England
+44 1449 760369
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A friendly family welcome is extended to all who visit The Highwayman, a grade II listed 17th century timber framed building that has been sympathetically extended. Located on the A140, just a few minutes outside Ipswich, Needham Market and Stowmarket in Suffolk, The Highwayman is easily accessible and an ideal meeting point for all occasions.David & Olga took over the running of The Highwayman restaurant in Ipswich in October 2004 and warmly welcome everyone to sample the honest homecooked food, a good selection and well kept real ales. The main restaurant and galleries provide a traditional and relaxing atmosphere in the which to dine amongst soft lighting that compliments the exposed oak frame of the building.Our food is all about the ingredients which, whenever possible, are locally sourced, seasonal and always freshly prepared. In particular a relaxing Sunday lunchtime at The Highwayman is sure to become a tradition. Tuck into roast rib of beef with Yorkshire pudding, roast potatoes and seasonal vegetables.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had my mums birthday party here, food was beautiful all three courses. We had a private party in their conservatory which was very nice. We were made very welcome and service was excellent. Would recommend to anyone and will visit again very soon. Top marks to David and Olga.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    30
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SCUNTHORPE
1 review
“The Highwayman. Hard to fault pointles to try.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

There is no highway robbery here! We booked at short notice on recommendation of our holiday landlord, and went for Sunday lunch. We were warmly welcomed and received close and prompt but not smothering attention. The beer was excellent, with lighter and stronger real ales. Time to browse the menu was fine, no hurry or pressure. Choices were good and interesting. Food quality was excellent. Rib beef cooked to perfection for those of us who think it needs to be cooked, not semi raw; it just melted in the mouth. The duck breast was superb and cooked exactly as requested. Vegetables were spot on; again nothing left half-cooked as some chefs seem to advocate, but just right. The Borscht (soup) was a new experience; an acquired taste that was very quickly acquired. It is really very good but there are other choices too. For dessert, fruit cobbler and custard; think of the best then come here and eat it.

You may find cheaper places but not much and certainly not better. Main course prices are very reasonable and the whole extremely good value. Surroundings excellent, comfort with space, and very pleasant service. Not the least important thing; all of the food came to the table hot! Very highly recommended; 5 stars throughout.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very warm welcome..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was a much needed treat after a very, very long & tedious journey up here from Twickenham. A super start to our hols. The Highwayman was recommended to us by the chap that owns our holiday cottage, he suggested we ring first. Mob/GPS reception is not good here. There was a problem with getting through, David took the time to ring us back, he was also very warm & helpful in giving us directions when our GPS failed. We arrived just after service closed, but David & Olga were still very warm & welcoming. David was chatty/friendly without being intrusive, very helpful with tips/advice on what to do in the area. The real ale was great, my other half is an ale aficionado & he was v pleased with the quality of his drink. Clearly David keeps his ale stock fresh & pipes clean! David is a lucky man to have such a talented chef as his wife. I had the free range chicken & my man had a streak, both presented well, good sized portion & tasty, we both cleaned our plates! I believe you get what you pay for & we were not disappointed. We will be back before the end of our hols. Abi & Tom, Twickenham.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“All round excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Almost missed this little gem. Myself and my girlfriend were down south on a trip to Brome and passed the Highwayman on a jaunt back from Ipswich. We hadn't seen many other places to eat so decided this looked like a lovely spot. We arrived a bit early around 5:30 (opening is 6:30 in the evening) and decided still to come back. Best decision we have ever made. We had no reservation and politely asked if it was possible to be seated for dinner for 2. The barman was warm and welcoming ensuring that it was not an issue. He took the time to display the specials on each of the boards and advised that guests are encouraged to have a drink at the bar whilst their food is being prepared. We happily took our seats and ordered a couple of drinks. The barman made time to speak to us ensuring that we were happy with our trip so far as well as serving anyone else that came into the restaurant. After our drinks we were taken to our table and food arrived promptly and immaculately presented. Despite the varied and tantalising menu we both ordered the sirloin steaks and given the VERY reasonable price of the dishes were delighted with both size and quality of the servings. We were seated upstairs but regular service was offered to us and ensured that any drinks that we asked for were brought without delay. Afterwards we settled our bill and had a lovely chat with the barman about sights that we could go in the area. There is no fault I could find with the restaurant, lovely staff and service, excellent food and very reasonable pricing meant we both left feeling like we had almost missed a treat had we not returned when it opened. Shame we don't live a bit closer to visit more often.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“justifies its excellent tripadvisor rating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

enjoyed a great meal out at a place we had meant to visit previously
in an informal setting we were easily accomodated despite only booking at last moment, caring hosts and friendly service.
The food speaks for itself, a good selection on the menu- a few off menu specials all cooked beautifully with generous portions, made to order and with that extra bit of passion from the kitchen.
a great experience and excellent value for money which we will repeat again .always good finding good eateries so close to home.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Highwayman also viewed

Beyton, Bury St. Edmunds
Walsham-le-Willows, Bury St. Edmunds
 
Dedham, Colchester
Great Whelnetham, Bury St. Edmunds
 

Been to The Highwayman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Highwayman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.