We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rama is not what it used to be” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casino Rama

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rama
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casino Rama
Save
You added Casino Rama to your Saves list
5899 Rama Road | Rama, Rama, Ontario L0K 1T0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rama
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rama is not what it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

Overall, the rooms are still clean and service is good. However, I do not recommend Casino Rama the place for middle age or younger people to go for a good "casino playing, gambling, drinking" let's have a good time like it used to be years ago. Years ago the machines would be going off left and right. During my stay this week, I heard more negative complaints about machines, how computerized they are, overload of 1cent and nickle machines. Place gets flooded with seniors who eat, watch a show and leave. Practically empty. Room service and food it good. But to me everyone this week was in a rush to eat at buffets and head to their tour buses. It will be Niagara Falls or Vegas for my next little trips.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    51
    34
    8
    15
See reviews for
26
102
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

We stayed for one day and it was a very good experience. The room was lage and very clean and the front desk people were very friendly and accomodating.We stayed at the hotel before but we found this trip very relaxing.I think my wife liked the mattress more than anything else.She liked the comfort .Recommending this hotel is a no brainer.It is an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

We took advantage of a great deal - $39 a night (because we have Players cards) and, I guess, we have spent quite a bit gambling there. It was just wonderful - the service was superb from the moment we arrived at the check-in desk, to the valet parking, to the staff at the restaurants. Everyone was so friendly and accomodating. The room was perfect - large and modern with a fireplace and a king sized bed. The bedding was the most comfortable I've ever, ever slept in. In fact, I've been trying to locate a local retailer where I can purchase the same type of duvet. We ate at three restaurants during our stay, the Willow (authentic Chinese) where the service wasn't that great, Weirs where the service and food choices were perfect, and the Buffet Restaurant, where I overate to excess. Lots of choice for everyone. I have only positive comments to make and would highly, highly recommend this hotel for either leisure (we checked out the pool and wished we had brought our bathing suits) or business. The staff are highly trained professionals in every way. Thank you for a wonderful time and I really can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

When we arrived, a new computer system for the hotel front desk had been rolled out the previous night at 10 p.m. When we arrived at 1:00 p.m. to check in, the system was still not functioning and people were standing in line. They handed out bottled water, but there was no procedure in place regarding handing out sequenced numbers so you didn't have to keep checking back and standing in line in another order, so newly-arrived people were served first once it was up and running, again. They did not offer food vouchers or any type of compensation for this terrible inconvenience. There were elderly people and those with special needs who were not addressed on a priority basis, either. The staff kept their cool and were pleasant to deal with in a difficult situation, but that's where it ended, and to me that's what should be expected, anyway.

We had a basic "deluxe" room (they claim all their rooms are deluxe). Esthetically it was pleasing: A sitting area with a 52" plasma tv, a fireplace (the pilot light was out, but a quick call to the desk and a five-minute repair job did the trick), a king-sized bed with luxurious linens and the bed was incredibly comfortable, all the lights were functional. HOWEVER: There were very few towels and they were terribly scratchy, no robes for you to use, no coffee maker, no mini-bar, no fridge, no microwave, our room faced the parking lot - not a view one would desire, while the sofa looked fine the sag in the middle was so bad we couldn't comfortably sit on it, the bathtub was very basic and small and in a dark corner of the bathroom, the toilet didn't flush very well.

While we did not use the pool, it is right opposite the elevator on the third floor and open for everyone to see you, which made me too self-conscious to try it. The area was dark and the pool looked small. The over-priced spa treatments are adjacent to the pool, so you would be inhaling that stifling chlorine odor during your spa treatments. Not a well thought out location.

Our room was $40 for the night because of my players club card and a special promotion they offered. I have been offered, but not accepted, the same room at $129, and $179 during other promotions. It is my understanding the room normally goes for $250 a night. I'd be hard-pressed to enjoy it even at $129 a night, to be quite honest. The resort is terribly expensive in terms of food, spa and room prices, not to mention the machines are so tight you can lose $100 in ten minutes on the smaller-denomination machines ($1, down to $0.01). There is no incentive to return until they loosen the machines, again, and improve on the room details that make the difference in a comfortable, pampered stay versus a room in which to catch a few winks and leave, again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

We finally booked a weekend at this hotel (by phone, you can’t do it online; I guess because most of its traffic is around free nights for – major – casino players) and we’ve enjoyed it a lot.
It depends on what you’re looking for, some people might dislike it for the same reasons we liked it.
The rooms are great, we had problems with the heating (hidden while having the fireplace started) but quickly solved. The fireplace pilot shuts down from time to time (the winds were the cause, we’ve been told) so you might need a maintenance call to prepare for a romantic evening.
The bathroom is amazing, with a separate (large) shower cabin. The room itself is very large, no coffee machine indeed but we didn’t miss that. All still looking pretty new/well maintained.
We had a great massage at the spa; the pool/spa area is amazing (being built in a large “empty” area allowed the architects to include a lot of natural light).
The Cedar restaurant is very good, better make a reservation (currently open only two days a week between 5 PM and 9 PM). The restaurants don’t have natural light; you might feel a little gloomy sometimes.
The casino is still good, probably fewer people than on our previous visits (as probably everywhere else nowadays).
The seating in the entertainment center is awfully uncomfortable, be aware if you’re larger/taller or just having back problems (fortunately - ? - the show we saw was just 60 minutes long).
It’s great for a self-contained vacation, when you don’t have to get out for the spa/pool/restaurant/bar/casino. The nearby area has nothing more to offer but there are many interesting places in driving distance.
Would we return? At the standard rates (CAD 249 and up, plus taxes, per night) not very likely; with a special package probably yes.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Recently attended a concert and a one night stay at Casino Rama.We found staff very friendly and accommodating.Rooms are spacious and comfortable.Great selection of restaurants, St Germains being our favorite.Gaming floor is large with good selection of slots.One complaint in the casino is under staffing of attendants.Overall a nice getaway.One suggestion for Hotel,put coffee makers in rooms.Looking forward to returning later this month to see ZZ TOP.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed overnight at the Hotel in Casino Rama after attending a Neil Sedaka concert. I'd purchased an entertainment package which included one night stay, two tickets and two breakfasts. The hotel is very clean - the room was large and very very clean and they let us have access to our room as soon as we checked in - which was quite early. The atmosphere in the facility is very dark and rather dreary - especially near the Casino itself. Nevertheless, we enjoyed a nice meal at Cedars the new restaurant and the service there was good.
Unfortunately, the grounds around this Hotel are very lacklustre despite the gardens - there are no outdoor eating areas, no outdoor pool and nowhere to really walk. Hard wooden benches are randomly placed and that's about it for outdoor seating. We were lucky to have a room that overlooked a field as half the hotel overlooks a parking lot. All the restaurants face 'inwards' - no view of anything so our impression was rather colourless with regards to the hotel lobby, and surroundings.
Another thing to be made aware of is the policy at check-in. We were given a bill which showed that we actually 'owed' a balance which had been paid in full a month before. After expressing my concern twice - not really following the convoluted explanation, the check in 'hostess' looked at me (my hubby couldn't believe it) and sarcastically asked "Would you like me to explain this AGAIN?!" I really don't like being scolded for trying to figure out a bill for which I've already paid. Finally she produced a second sheet which showed the correct balance of 'zero'... but she was clearly very annoyed. The Supervisor whom we spoke to after was very kind and he apologized which certainly helped. But be forewarned - they do have a complicated and strange check in - we've travelled all over the world and never encountered such a system nor were we ever chastized that way! Not the friendliest way to begin a holiday.....................
These 'grievances' aside, the Hotel is spacious, clean and does provide wonderful entertainment. We thoroughly enjoyed the concert and the meals we ate. The breakfast at Weirs was very good as was the service. Casino Rama is not a cheap experience and if you are prepared to be in a somewhat isolated environment (as noted in several other reviews), you can still have a nice time. I'd recommend this facility - be careful at check-in!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casino Rama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casino Rama

Address: 5899 Rama Road | Rama, Rama, Ontario L0K 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Rama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rama
Number of rooms: 289
Also Known As:
Casino Rama Hotel Orillia
Rama Casino Orillia
Rama Hotel Orillia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casino Rama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.