We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further, book now!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Constance Tsarabanjina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Constance Tsarabanjina to your Saves list
Constance Tsarabanjina
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   B.P. 380, Nosy Mitsio 2007, Madagascar   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CONSTANCE HONEYMOON OFFER
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nosy Mitsio
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Look no further, book now!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I spent four days mid October in Tsarabanjina with my family (wife and four kids 2, 6, 8& 10). The place is indeed paradise, but what make this place uniquet is the dream staff. They strike the right balance of leaving you alone and engaging with you when needed. We were told that the island doesn't cater for kids, however my kids had more fun than resorts where they have kids club, tv& video games. Mia, Martina, Helena, Francisco, Ricardo, and Eric thank you for memory we'll cherish for a life time. The location is out of this world and put other locations we've been to in shame (Fiji, Maldives, Zanzibar, Bahamas, and Seychelles). I just want to give an example of the exqusite service we experience on the island where my wife asked for a Tabasco on our first day and it was not available. The same day at dinner the Tabasco was there and it kept following us through out our stay even when we change table without askig for it.

Room Tip: Bunglows on south beach are closer to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constance Lodge... M, Assistant Lodge Manager at Constance Tsarabanjina, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for the kind review and are pleased to learn that you and your family have enjoyed the stay with us and the beauty of this island.

Your compliments for the attention of our staff will be passed on to our team.

We shall be honored to welcome you back for another memorable experience at Tsarabanjina Constance Lodge.

Best regards,
Elena Zanella
Assistant Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    27
    5
    2
    7
See reviews for
28
188
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed there for our honeymoon... It was an dream come true. Tsara is a small island where you will feel like you are the only people on the island. The remoteness and un-spoilt beauty with emerald blue calm and warm coral rich water surrounding it... We spent the first two hours of our stay snorkeling around the entire island. The scuba is also out of this world with no other divers in sight (thanks Nicola the Frenchie!!). The cleanliness, great food and drinks and incredible ambience and exceptional friendly and helpful staff make the experience even more amazing. We enjoyed a candle light dinner on the beach and the best massage ever (thanks Mr. Goldfingers) took about a 1000 pictures in six days. It was certainly the best holiday of our lives.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constance Lodge... M, Assistant Lodge Manager at Constance Tsarabanjina, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are thankful to you for have spared some time to share your experience of a honeymoon holiday at Tsarabanjina on the site of 'Trip Advisor'. It has been our duty to look after you and I am happy to see that as a team, we did meet up to these expectations.

We will be delighted to welcome you back for another memorable holiday with us to renew these magical moments.

Kind regards,
Elena Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Second stay at Tsara following a five year gap. Its still a perfect tropical paradise. The staff were brilliant - attentive but discrete. Food generally really good. Rooms are a bit tired compared to 5 years ago, but are to be refurbished shortly. Island is just beautiful and its so peaceful and quiet its like having your own island. Drinks, while expensive by Madagascan standards are reasonably priced compared to European hotels. Diving just amazing - thankyou Ricardo. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constance Lodge... M, Assistant Lodge Manager at Constance Tsarabanjina, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guests,

We sincerely thank you for the kind review and are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed for the second time the stay with us.
Your compliments for the diving will be passed on to Riccardo.
We would be honored to welcome you back for the third time and to celebrate with you your nameplate on bar.

With kind regards,

Elena Zanella
Assistant Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton on sea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

i mean what can you say, its a tropical paradise, its the thing of dreams. we were there as part of our honeymoon, we were there for 5 days at the end of our adventure to relax after the trekking around the mainland and it was fabulous. the staff were friendly but knew when to leave a couple alone, the service was exceptional – the food was a great choice every day – a buffet for breakfast and lunch and a menu service for dinner.
The drinks were good – a great choice of cocktails and considering the surroundings (I.e. it’s a captive market) I think the pricing was very good.

It really is as close to the tropical paradise of Hollywood as I have ever seen. If you like luxury, diving, swimming in crystal clear waters, or just sunbathing in the peace and quiet of an island you won’t get better than here.

Room Tip: North Beach rooms seemed slightly quieter than south beach but i suspect thats just a coincidence of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constance Lodge... M, Assistant Lodge Manager at Constance Tsarabanjina, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are thankful to you for have spared some time to share your experience of a honeymoon holiday at Tsarabanjina Constance Lodge on the site of 'Trip Advisor'.

We are glad that you have enjoyed the accommodation, the culinary spirit and quality in which we put lot of our efforts, relaxing moments on the beach and the attention of our team.

We will be delighted to welcome you back for another memorable holiday with us to renew these magical moments.

Kind regards,
Elena Zanella
Assistant Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here in September 2011 as part of our honeymoon. I was absolutely magical and really spoliing. If you can get over the fact that it is remote (it tooks us nearly 36 hours from London) it will give you so much pleasure. We spent time diving and relaxing and to consider it takes two hours by boat to get food out we were spoilt for choice, with lovely fresh food. The staff were all charming and could not have done more to make our stay more enjoyable. I only can hope that we can go back!

Room Tip: All rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constance Lodge... M, Assistant Lodge Manager at Constance Tsarabanjina, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like thank you for having spared some of your valuable time to write about your stay on the site of 'Trip Advisor'. We are delighted to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been well looked after by our team on the occasion of your Honeymoon.
It will be great pleasure to welcome you back here at Tsarabanjina as soon as you feel need to relax again and dive in the tropics.
With kind regards,
Elena Zanella
Assistant Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

It was an amazing destination. A bit pricey for our South African Rand but well worth every cent. If you love secluded hideaways that offer the most spectacular marine life - then this is the definitely the place for you. We loved every minute we were there and already plotting our next trip. The staff were excellent and attended to our every need. All in all...perfect

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Constance Tsarabanjina was our first stop, second visit, to Madagascar mid December, just now. We are slowly exploring Madagascar and chose the Mitzio Archipelago to start with this time. It's way north from Nosy Be. The boat ride is excellent and beautiful and it WILL take your breath away when you suddenly come upon the crystal turquoise waters surrounding the island. Fish abound....... and the visibility is phenomenal. The welcome of the staff on the beach was touching and honestly, there is nothing this resort will stop at to try and make your stay wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble and the staff suss you out with likes and dislike the moment you arrive. What beautiful people. The thing that struck us the most was the teamwork and team effort of all the staff. There is a cohesion, harmony and professionalism which just makes their entire operation seamless. If peace and quiet and absolute relaxation and delight is what you're after, this is the place. There is no shortage of activities. All the amenities are in good "nick" and the tennis court in the middle of nowhere so beautifully maintained is amazing. There's table-tennis, volleyball, hobbycat, lots of walking, snorkelling, swimming, diving and just fun, fun, fun in the sun. Elaina, the Italian resident Biologist is a star! Going snorkelling with her was amazing and her quick eyes pick out the smallest of things; land excursions with her were also exceptionally entertaining and enlightening. Her relationship with the locals is heartening and we managed to pick up some local phrases which delighted the staff quite a bit. Thanks Oliver for your excellent hospitality and the wine! Long live our hobby! Thanks Augustine for your excellent massages and in particular the reflexology which helped my gammy knees, no end. The footbaths next to the steps were a blessing - no sandy sheets in bed! And thanks to the chaps who relentlessly put out our umbrella and chairs and provided us with another set on our patio. We were so very spoilt. Hats off to our shy gardener who lovlingly raked and cleared up leaves around our place. We did not think our beach could be spotless but it was. We learnt, in 2 years, this chap has never been once sick which goes to show the staff are dedicated and proud of their positions and they do, indeed take pride in what they do in their respective positions. Beds are very comfy and the turndown service great. Snorkelling on our own was great fun and the variety of fish and bommies in close proximity to each other is totally absorbing. We loved walkiing over the rocks to and from the main building/bar/restaurant. Sunsets are awesome especially when viewed through the rocks and on top of the hill. Sometimes a slow meander down the garden path, the longer way, was also great and very peaceful with it's soft sandy walkways and beautifully encouraged archways. The head-gardener needs a medal as the gardens are beautifully and lovingly tended. (Note: This is not a place for the unfit or disabled.) Tsarabanjina is a place which encourages reflection and a quieting of the spirit. We think, the remoteness and beauty of this little island holds a very magical quality which makes for beautiful, lasting memories. We loved the shop and they sell the best slops and lambas. Even though Madagascar is a poor country economically wise, the culture is rich and vibrant and nurturing and we were thoroughly welcomed into it by everybody at Constance Tsarabanjina.

Sadly, we were utterly dismayed to hear that some "overseas moguls" have discovered oil between Nosy Be and Tsarabanjina and proposed an oil rig slap bang in the middle of the sea! It is big news in this part of the world and everyone is very concerned about it and the impact on the marine life and the wellbeing and livlihood and existence of the locals. It is unthinkable that this beautiful and well preserved marine area might well be destroyed in the very near futures. We can only hope and pray it never happens. It will be blatant exploitation, disregard and disrespect for one of the most, truly, beautiful places on this planet and it's people for the simple reason that the money generated from the oil will not be put back into Madagascar to help the people and at the end of it all the ocean in that area will be put at dreadful risk and ultimately destroyed with the continual trekking up and down of tankers.

Constance Tsarabanjina have been in the area for a long time and their dedication and passion to not only providing a top, unspoilt travel destination (one of the few) for us and moreover effectively assisting in sustaining the locals and really making a difference in their lives, needs to be preserved and applauded. We will return time and again to Constance Tsarabanjina - we look forward to the day our names will be imprinted on the bar along with many other annual regulars. That is a nice touch - we want our names up there too!

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side, on the beach (not the hill) are best. Just walk from your room into the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Constance Tsarabanjina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Tsarabanjina

Address: B.P. 380, Nosy Mitsio 2007, Madagascar
Phone Number:
Location: Madagascar > Antsiranana Province > Nosy Mitsio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nosy Mitsio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Constance Tsarabanjina 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tsarabanjina is the sort of castaway island that travellers dream of finding. With the doors again reopen at the resort following a major refurbishment, guests are discovering that we’ve introduced a few more luxuries to make it all the more comfortable while retaining the barefoot charm of the place.Off the beaten track, this unique island get-away already enjoys a loyal following with its reputation as a place to escape from it all – a place that perfectly captures the mood for a simpler take on luxury.Beach villasCareful to maintain the barefoot charm and eco-friendliness, while embracing Malagasy culture, interiors have been updated using natural materials and local art and sculpture based on marine life to create a boutique feel to the beachfront villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Constance Tsarabanjina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Lodge Tsarabanjina Hotel Tsarabanjina
Constance Hotel Tsarabanjina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Constance Tsarabanjina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.