We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD LOCATION” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Bluewater Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Bluewater Resort to your Saves list
Peppers Bluewater Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
england
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“GOOD LOCATION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with all mod cons, location very good just a few minutes walk to the restaurants,view from room was disappointing and the bedrooms were small,but with a very large kitchen / lounge.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    280
    208
    93
    75
See reviews for
172
504
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

I would not recommend this hotel. it was WAY over priced. no unobstructed views from any room. which is upsetting when you pay for a view. very rude staff. We toured new zealand for 2.5 weeks staying in over 10 hotels. this was by far our worst hotel. if I could do it again i would have kept driving to christchurch instead of stopping here inbetween.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights after a fantastic driving holiday around the South Island. It was a bit of a treat as it was our last 2 nights in NZ so we had prebooked a 1 bedroom lake view room. It cost us A$590.00 for 2 nights which was the most expensive place we stayed during our holiday. The 1 bedroom apartment was really nice with lake views but it is at the front of the complex and on a very busy highway. We had thought it would have been on the lake front from the photos we saw on the web page. There were at least 30 bags of washing lying around at the back next to the rubbish and also outside the doors to the rooms/apartment blocks for the 2 days. Our dishwasher had not been emptied and had dirty water and left over food in it. We called reception about it and someone came but just ran a cycle and when it was finished the food/pasta stuff was still there. It took 3 more calls before someone came and then we were told it was not able to be fixed. We have stayed in Peppers in Australia and the service and standard was far superior to this place. The whole complex looks tired although it's pretty new. Very disappointing. We stayed in far more nicer places for less cost and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

Felt that I was a number and annoyance when checking in. Staff could really do with some training in customer care. Room and location was good but not enough to make me want to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

We were really impressed with this hotel. It was conveniently located, clean, well appointed and overall extremely good value. The welcome at reception was a little lukewarm bordering on surly but apart from this it was well worth the visit.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Pepper resort for 2 nights over the Easter weekend. It was our wedding anniversay and I had mentioned that when booking online. I had forgotten I had even mentioned it! To our surprise on checking in we found that we had been upgraded to a one bedroom apartment. There was even a card wishing us a happy anniversary and chocolates left in the room. The one bedroom apartment was two stories and had heaps of space. Lovely bathroom and very clean. We were in the second row of buildings so only had a small view of the lake itself. This could be more of a problem if visiting the area for the first time as it is a beautiful view, but as we have visited the area many times, this wasn't such an issue. We also had wonderful service when we went to book in at the restaurant for dinner on the Saturday night. The restaurant was full due to a wedding, but the staff member offered that we could order from the menu and then have it delivered to the room. Fantastic!
All in all, we had a great time and could not fault the service. As mentioned, we have visited the area many times and stayed lots of places from the camping ground, to motels to the Blue Pepper. We mentioned as we were leaving that we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

We were very pleased with our room. It was spacious, had a fantastic modern bathroom and we had partial views of Lake Tekapo. It was just a 2 min walk to the lake, shops and restaurants. We enjoyed our stay and thought the quality of the hotel was very good however we felt that at $206 it was a bit pricy. We paid $199 for a 2 bedroom apartment in Terrace Downs which was even more luxurious and had stunning views. The hotel advertises as a resort but has no pool or fitness centre. It is basically a hotel with a restaurant definitely not a resort.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out to the breathtaking Lake Tekapo between Christchurch and Queenstown in New Zealand's South Island, Peppers Bluewater Resort offers architectural design reflective of the surrounding Mackenzie Basin landscape combined with exceptional facilities and services. Accommodation includes stylish studios, one, two and three bedroom luxury villas where the outdoors is portrayed indoors through a refreshing colour palette of turquoise-blue, red and beige. Each room features STD/ISD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, air conditioning and complimentary grooming items. Simply unwind and breathe in the serene atmosphere of Peppers Bluewater Resort. Relax amongst the cosy sofa at Rakinui Lounge while enjoying a warming drink or light snack and for breakfast and dinner Rakinui Restaurant serves a diverse selection of international standard cuisine and favoured local delights accompanied with a breathtaking view across Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo provides excellent kayaking and rainbow and brown trout fishing, while the old village is steeped in mythology and rich High Country history. Tekapo is Maori for night sleeping place, and the lake itself boasts the clearest, darkest and most spectacular night sky in Aotearoa, ideal for a tramp up Mount John followed by a romantic twilight picnic. Thrill seekers are sure to cover more terrain by mountain biking or horse riding before revitalising body and soul in the nearby Alpine Springs Health Spa and Hot Pool. The Round Hill Ski Field and Winter Park are also a short drive from Peppers Bluewater Resort offering skiing, ice hockey, ice skating, even curling! Peppers Bluewater Resort is the perfect destination for relaxed weekend escapes or as a relished retreat after a hectic day of exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Bluewater Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.