We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great standard of accommodation less impressed with restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Bluewater Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Bluewater Resort to your Saves list
Peppers Bluewater Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“great standard of accommodation less impressed with restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

We had booked a studio room and were upgraded to a one bedroom apartment .Had upstairs bedroom and bathroom with downstairs living area and kitchen .Very good quality finishes ,clean and modern .We didnt have a direct lake view but overlooked a man made pond at the front.
The drawback was the restauant where there was a large tour group of 20 people .This meant that our service was very slow and by the time they got to us 2 0f the 6 main courses had sold out including their signature dish .
However we were still impressed with the overall quality of the resort

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    318
    222
    104
    83
See reviews for
191
565
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

We stayed two nights at the Peppers Bluewater in a townhouse style two bedroom apartment (#502), which consisted of a one bedroom apartment plus an adjacent studio room for our daughter on the ground floor, and a living/dining/kitchen on the first floor. Overall we really enjoyed our stay.

Checkin was friendly and efficient, and the apartment had high quality furniture and fittings with a spacious living area complete with flatscreen TV (with Sky) , and a large kitchen with all the mod-cons.

The bathrooms were lovely, with a huge contemporary freestanding bath + separate shower in our bathroom (shower only in the studio ensuite). We also loved the underfloor heating and heated towel rails, plus electric blankets on the comfy king size bed, bliss !

Housekeeping serviced the room daily, making the beds and replacing the towels.

I booked one of the least expensive rooms, so we didn't have a view of Lake Tekapo, but the resort has a manmade pond which we looked onto. This was quite nice, although running around the lake was the path to reception and the restaurant, so we constantly had people walking past and peering into our bedroom less than five meters away. This privacy issue could be rectified with a half-height screen. The studio room overlooked the carpark at the rear.

We enjoyed our meal in the restaurant, the food was nice and the service attentive.

From looking at other websites, I don't think there's anywhere else to stay in Tekapo that could compare with this stylish resort, and I would definately recommend.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

After a long and dusty drive and a taxing day out on the Tasman Glacier we arrived at this gem of a hotel. Friendly, efficient, clean and new. Everything, however, was eclipsed by the sumptous room and the BATHROOM. Deep bath, lying in it looking out through the glass bathroom door, onto the lake and the peaks beyond. It was wonderful

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

This was the last accommodation before we finished our trip in Christchurch (we were to stay in same Christchurch hotel as the one we started the trip with). We loved the place because it was like a one bedroom 2 storey townhouse with kitchen, 2 TVs, a dining area, a lounge area, a lovely bathroom, 2 decks (one on each level) looking out on the lake. Our room had better view of Lake Tekapo from the top (& not as good on the bottom level). View really just depends which unit you choose. Everything is modern but really good quality. We couldn't believe the dishwater & cooktop were Bosch appliances. We loved the place because we like to at least be able to have a nice kitchen in case we wanted to cook & we did. We both don't really like a room that don't at least have a microwave.The bedroom was lovely. The hotel is about 2 minutes walk to the shops and 5 to the lake. This really was a home away from home, it was so lovely and beautiful and most of all, comfortable (feels like home but much neater, organised and more modern)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

The room was a good size and the view of Lake Tekapo from our balcony was fantastic. I was suprised how quiet it was given we were on the main road, double glazed windows do work! The spa also had a view of the lake and surrounding mountains.
Other rooms did not have the same view, so you may have to ask for a lake view room, otherwise I doubt you would get the same views. Not far to walk into 'town' - 2 minutes.
Overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

We paid entirely too much money $358 US to be told we'd have to wait an hour to check in as our room was not ready. Although they offered a comliementary drink, we didn't book this hotel to sit and wait. We booked a two bedroom hotel on the phone. The first room was actually two seperate hotel rooms. Very odd. With two little children, we asked for another room. They did accomodate this. The room we received was very nice however the floorplan was odd. (Two bedrooms down with bath/ kitchen and living room upstairs). Entirely way too large for a one night stay so I would advise anyone to avoid this hotel if you are just staying less than 2 nights. The lady that checked us in didn't offer any apologies when she told us we'd have to wait. Another customer complained that he was to get a lake view room and she said they didn't have one and he'd have to take it up with his travel agent. After he turned his back and walked away, she didn't hesitate to tell her co-worker that his issue was not her problem. That's absolute terrible customer service and its even worse that I had to listen to her brag about it not being her problem.

This is a very expensive "resort". Not sure I'd call it a resort as there is pool, etc. Very nice and updated decor but not worth the $358. Skip this one.

Lake Tekepo is nice but move onto your next destination. Stop for a couple of hours for lunch and pictures. I wish I would have gone with my gut instinct.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights and used it as a base to explore the surrounding areas (Mt. Cook, Lake Tekapo, Mt. John). Apartment looked new and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. You should definitely try the Alpine Springs Spa (which is almost opposite this hotel, on the lake-side) - it was truly wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort
Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
1.0 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#3 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
YHA Lake Tekapo
YHA Lake Tekapo
#5 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#6 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out to the breathtaking Lake Tekapo between Christchurch and Queenstown in New Zealand's South Island, Peppers Bluewater Resort offers architectural design reflective of the surrounding Mackenzie Basin landscape combined with exceptional facilities and services. Accommodation includes stylish studios, one, two and three bedroom luxury villas where the outdoors is portrayed indoors through a refreshing colour palette of turquoise-blue, red and beige. Each room features STD/ISD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, air conditioning and complimentary grooming items. Simply unwind and breathe in the serene atmosphere of Peppers Bluewater Resort. Relax amongst the cosy sofa at Rakinui Lounge while enjoying a warming drink or light snack and for breakfast and dinner Rakinui Restaurant serves a diverse selection of international standard cuisine and favoured local delights accompanied with a breathtaking view across Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo provides excellent kayaking and rainbow and brown trout fishing, while the old village is steeped in mythology and rich High Country history. Tekapo is Maori for night sleeping place, and the lake itself boasts the clearest, darkest and most spectacular night sky in Aotearoa, ideal for a tramp up Mount John followed by a romantic twilight picnic. Thrill seekers are sure to cover more terrain by mountain biking or horse riding before revitalising body and soul in the nearby Alpine Springs Health Spa and Hot Pool. The Round Hill Ski Field and Winter Park are also a short drive from Peppers Bluewater Resort offering skiing, ice hockey, ice skating, even curling! Peppers Bluewater Resort is the perfect destination for relaxed weekend escapes or as a relished retreat after a hectic day of exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Bluewater Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.