We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stop on your drive to Queenstown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Bluewater Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Bluewater Resort to your Saves list
Peppers Bluewater Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A must stop on your drive to Queenstown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

Lake Tekapo is where most people stop for the night when they do the drive from Christchurch to Queenstown (it's pretty much in the middle). Make sure you stop here. There is not much to do in Tekapo but it really is beautiful. Peppers is a pretty new resort with all the mod cons. We had a 2 bedroom apartment and it was huge. The apartment was very well laid out with the living area and kitchen upstairs separate from the bedrooms downstairs. The room was very clean and I couldn't have asked for anything more. The view across Lake Tekapo from our balcony was incredible.

Make sure you try the pizza place (Pepe's?) and walk around the shore of the lake in the early morning.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    245
    170
    73
    57
See reviews for
149
424
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

A run-of-the-mill hotel at Lake Tekapo - we stopped for one night here on the way from Queenstown to Akaroa in a 1-bedroom lake view. The hotel itself is modern and the décor is ok. The bathroom in our room was huge with a bath and a walk-in shower (best part of the room). As others have mentioned there are problems with the shower heads - the pressure of the shower forced ours up so it sprayed onto the ceiling! This meant we had to shower in a trickle of water. This should be easily fixable.

There's a kitchen, which we used. But he had to first wash everything as the plates were covered in grease, the cheese grater had old cheese inside and was rusty (didn't use it in the end), the sieve had rice and 'dried rice water' glogging it up (we tried to wash this to do the next person a favour but it just wouldn't come off - for the bin I think!) - we were avoiding the restaurant after reading of recent food poisoning!

Approaching the hotel we found it was very poorly sign posted and had to pull into the petrol station so we could turn back. If memory serves it was better sign-posted if you are approaching from the east. The internet is 20 NZD for 24 hours. We had some slight issues where facebook.com was being redirected to a dodgy site purporting to be facebook but the ISP was able to fix it somehow.

I think the staff need to try harder. This could be such a nice place.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
453 reviews 453 reviews
313 hotel reviews
Reviews in 334 cities Reviews in 334 cities
412 helpful votes 412 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

For one night it was adequate. The lake color is just out of this world! NewZeland water colors are reason enough to visit! Two story, full kitchen, nice big TV. No view for us. Restaurant was OK.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

My partner & I stayed at Peppers Bluewater as a stopover from Christchurch to Queenstown. We stayed in a studio room with lakes views which were just beautiful. We found the room to be comfortable and relaxing. All new with a luxury bathroom, modern décor and large king-size bed .The Views of Lake Tekapo are just astonishing and breathtaking, worth the stop over for some quite relaxing time. We also enjoyed a beautiful breakfast at Rakinui restaurant, which was lovely before heading of to Queenstown.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

Perhaps it was the fact that we had stayed at some really great places and had some great service but Peppers failed to live up to expectations. The apartment was nice but I like split level flats. A little bit cold but someone had turned the heat pump on before we arrived. Little things were not upkept like the shower head which wouldnt stay in place but it didnt make the stay any worse. But I think the not so great thing was my sister got food poisoning and when we told the manager the next morning, he didnt seem to believe us. Why would we lie? We just wanted to let them know that while the food tasted good, it made her ill. Like I said not great but alright. A little expensive for what it was though.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

Firstly, they need better signage... we drove pass the entrance & the most obvious sign was the one that said: units for sale!

We were at Lake Tekapo for a friend's wedding & dinner at Peppers. AND 3 people from the wedding party got food poisoning after eating there! Not good. What made it worse was that it wasn't bad enough food poisoning for them to treat it like a real complaint. Apparently we all weren't ill long enough and didn't have a letter from the doctor to confirm that it was their food that caused the food poisoning. The attitude was strictly "you can't say it was our food from our kitchen that made you sick". That just ruined it for me...

What a pity because other than that, it was a nice place to stay... a bit on the expensive side even with the "wedding party offer". There were also minor things that needed to be taken care of... like the shower holder that fell off if you turned the shower fully on. But all of those were so minor that it didn't matter. Not taking a complaint about the quality of your food however, just didn't sit too well with me.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

What a fantastic place to stay. From the moment we entered our 3 bedroom apartment, we were in love!! Fantastic facilities, stylish decor and comfortable beds. We were so glad that we switched our booking to this hotel. We used our Entertainment Book card and got 10% which made it a more realistic price - although still top end of the scale. But worth the extra dosh.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the rich antiquity of the deep southern land, Peppers Bluewater Resort is only two and a half hours drive from Christchurch, with the Mount Cook National Park on your doorstep. With panoramic views on towards the glistening foothills of the Southern Alps, Lake Tekapo is also a place of mythology and rich high country history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Bluewater Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.