We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury by the Lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Bluewater Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Peppers Bluewater Resort to your Saves list
Peppers Bluewater Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Christchurch
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Luxury by the Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

It is hard not to gush about this hotel and actually Tekapo in general, both a top experience. I have stayed here once before and both times found it a pleasure - modern with a real contemporary style, warm (including heated bathroom tiled floors and digitally controlled room heating) and the lakeview rooms and restaurant have a spectacular view. Note non lakeview rooms just look into the carpark so do pay extra if this will disapoint you - the lake is across the road though so not far to walk for the real view. Breakfast was excellent with fresh croissants just out of the oven.
Lake Tekapo township has alot to offer for such a small place - highly recommend "Pepes" restaurant, was very cosy with a fire going and the pizza and chocolate sundaes were delicious. Would also recommend the hot pools (Alpine Springs) - there are three large pools which are tiered on the hillside so they all have lake views. We went at night so couldn't see the view but it was lit up beautifully and was incredibly relaxing - the changerooms felt heated which was much needed as it was about 2 degrees. It also had a day spa, ice skating rink and snow park where you can go tubing. We didnt get time to see it but there is a large observatory on the top of the hill with a cafe that does day and night tours of the stars - apparently this is amazing as Tekapo has such good night visibility. I would recommend all visit Tekapo, I felt sad to leave!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    240
    164
    71
    57
See reviews for
149
415
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

We booked it without any expectations and because there was a great last minute deal on the hotel. We loved how new the hotel looked and we got great service and recommendation from the reception staff. For a small amount, we were upgraded to a 3rd floor lake view corner unit with a balcony, which made star gazing at night a beautiful experience. The units are stand alone and each unit is accessible by stairs. But they carpeted the entire stairwell in each stand alone villa, which scored many brownie points with me (even though we had to lug our luggage all the way up to the 3rd storey). The unit also came with a huge bath tub and a heated bathroom (very important for us since the weather was chilly and started to snow while we were there). The location wasn't as good as the hostels / motels right next to Lake Tekapo but then again the mouth of Lake Tekapo isn't very big so it's not like you miss out much lakefront living (in any event it takes only about 5 mins to walk from Peppers to the lake). If you are looking out for a romantic experience, ask for the 3rd floor lake view units - the upgrade fee is absolutely worth it. Plus the view of Lake Tekapo with the milky baby blue water is unparallelled (for us). Till today, my other half and I still talk about the magical experience we had at Peppers + Tekapo.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

We stayed here for the weekend for a work meeting. The rooms are comfortable and were warm even though it was snowing outside!!! The resort is very new. The resort is very close to the hot pools that are one of the top attractions in Lake Tekapo. We ate at the resort and the food was tasty with attentive staff who were efficent without being pushy. I would recommend this resort to people staying at Lake Tekapo. There are no on-site activities and a gym or pool or spa pool would really improve this place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

We overnighted here on the way back to Christchurch from Queenstown and really had no expectations about this place or the town overall. What a pleasant surprise we got when we were able to go in and get a fantastic room rate with dinner and breakfast thrown in and then go to our room and see that it was relatively new, modern and tastefully done. I foolishly opened all the windows as it had been a warm day only to find the room full of mosquitoes after returning from dinner - as reception later confirmed it is better to use the airconditioning rather than opening the windows at night! Dinner was also surprisingly very good as was breakfast. The peace and tranquility of the place was totally enhanced by the breathtaking views of the mountains and the lakes. Could easily have stayed here another night or two.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

We loved this place and it was particularly magic during sunset and early morning looking out over the mountains. Only downside was the $50 pre-authorisation that was taken off my credit card, the toilet paper, worst ever and the lack of soap in bathroom and the fact that I had to jump through hoops to get linen for the sofa bed that I booked and then I had to make the sofa bed myself. These issues were raised with the resort when I requested my $50 to be credited back. They advise that in the future this problem will not occur, so I hope that is the case. They also advise that if you need extra things, towels, soap or anything all you have to do is ask. This did put a damper on the stay, but the resort itself is fantastic. Didn't eat in the restaurant, but the chinese restaurant in town had fabulous food. Hope this helps.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

We stayed as two couples in a 2-bedroom apartment, and got an excellent late booking rate. The space of the living area, quality of the decor and whole ambience were outstanding. These more than made up for an odd layout. The second bedroom was designed so that it could be occupied independently. This meant it had its own ensuite and an enormous fridge, but no space to put clothes, or indeed swing a cat. As another reviewer pointed out, because the apartment could be two separate units, the internal doors locked automatically. We solved this easily with two of the ornamental rocks from outside the front door. The rest of the apartment more than made up for these oddities. Unlike another reviewer, we had no problem with reception, indeed they went out of their way to be helpful. We cooked our own food in the extremely well equipped kitchen, so that we can’t comment on the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

We stayed in a studio room with a nice view of the lake. The room was big with modern furniture, comfortable bed, flat screen TV and a DVD. The bathroom is of good size with lovely floor heating and a big tub. Do not be fooled by the outside of the hotel, inside is a very nice and modern style hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the rich antiquity of the deep southern land, Peppers Bluewater Resort is only two and a half hours drive from Christchurch, with the Mount Cook National Park on your doorstep. With panoramic views on towards the glistening foothills of the Southern Alps, Lake Tekapo is also a place of mythology and rich high country history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Bluewater Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.