We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BREATHTAKING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Bluewater Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Bluewater Resort to your Saves list
Peppers Bluewater Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Greater Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“BREATHTAKING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Just loved this place! The view from our room was breathtaking, like a postcard! the room itself was huge, a living area with beautiful kitchen. The bedroom and bathroom were equally spacious. The heated bathroom floor was pure decadence in the cold morning!
There was a lovely cheese and fruit platter waiting for us as a welcome gift! How thoughtful!
Yes, there was manchester bags strewn across the entry landing, but if I had to go up and down those slippery flights of stairs throughout the complex, I would do the same. All bags were removed within a reasonable timeframe. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Bluewater, and upon future return to Lake Tekapo will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
KIa ora connie567,

Wow - what a wonderful review! Thank you so much! We really appreciate you taking the time to post your comments, and we are naturally very pleased to hear you had such a brilliant time in our care.

We look forward to seeing you back again!

Kind regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    280
    208
    93
    75
See reviews for
172
505
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Neat, clean, spasious. ... A good stop over.

Some units would not have views; we had a two bedroom with views over the town towards the lake.

A little distant from the lake if looking to stay longer (there are places closer).

And a little pricy as well for location.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Kia ora reklaw_d,

Thanks for much for your recent review! We are very happy to know that we more than met your expectations.

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We were here for one night recently. They allowed us to check in slightly early which was good. The room was spacious and had a lovely view of the lake. Beautiful bathroom. Appeared to be very clean apart from a few long black hairs and a stain on the bedcover when turned back. The breakfast was one of the nicest we have had. The wifi was very expensive so we never used it. They accommodated a late check out which was good. I would recommend staying here even though it was more expensive than other nearby accommodation options.

Room Tip: There was nowhere to rate the cleanliness on this review but I would have given it a 3 out of 5 due...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Do you want to trip on a rock on the way to your room? How about pay well over the odds for internet access when even basic motels offer it for free? Do you like tiny TVs? No? Well perhaps Peppers Bluewater isn't for you then.

Given how expensive this place is, everything should be right. It isn't. Corners have been cut. The lack of exterior lighting in the resort, for instance. Or the like-a-TV-only-smaller screens. Or the bath with a couple of spots of missing enamel. None of these things would be a big deal in a $125 a night place, but this isn't. Combine that with staff that act like they are doing you a favour in letting you stay there, and you might wish, as I did, that you had booked somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

After a long drive from Kaikoura we wanted to have a good and comfortable stay, thats exactly what we got at Peppers.
Peppers have a good reputation and have got good properties in Australia & NZ both. Tekapo being one of them.
The resort has and amazing location and has superb view rooms. The one which we were given had a direct view of the amazing lake.
The check in was quick and rooms were fantastically clean and up to mark. We opted for the suit room which had a huge lounge and sitting place along with a good stocked up kitchen and wonderful fire place. A nice sound system was also placed in the room.
The room had a beautiful view in the morning of the sunrise. Baths were also good and clean.
Staff of the hotel guided us and also booked for us tours and worth seeing places in tekapo.
The resort has a well stocked bar and wonderful restaurant with nice lookout at their very own pond.
Bikes are offered by the resort for short trips.
Check rooms personally before check in try to keep it near the restaurant area as much as possible as other wise it becomes a long walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisnaskea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed here for one night during our journey south to Queenstown and we were not disappointed. We booked into a three bedroom apartment, which turned out to be two double bedrooms and a sofa bed but what a view of Lake Tekapo. The apartment was spotless and the beds extremely comfortable. Breakfast was included with cereals, fruits and a full cooked buffet if you wanted it, this was a real plus point. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. However given the standard of the accommodation I would expect complimentary WiFi in the apartment rather than having to pay for each minute used. Watch out for the doors especially if you have young children they are self closing and extremely heavy and always keep the keys in your pocket, it's possible to find yourself outside a locked door with the keys still inside.

Room Tip: Request an apartment with a lake view otherwise you could end up at the back of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed exclusively at Peppers whenever we visit Tekapo but on this trip we were seriously disappointed. We arrived at 2.45pm to check in only to be told we needed to wait 10-15 minutes for our room to be ready. Considering we pay from 2pm, this was not acceptable especially since we had just arrived after a 4 1/2 hour drive. After waiting for 10 minutes we were then told we needed to wait a further 10-15 mins for our room. It was then that I protested and an alternative room was offered. No apology for the inconvenience, no offer for a free drink while we wait, etc. I was given 1 key to the room and directed there. The staff asked if we had been to the resort before (yes, on many occasions - your records should have flagged that! Talk about feeling not like a valued guest!) We get to the room, 410a to find it is the absolute worst one you can have in the complex (you look out on to the parking lot) - But the rate was low ($165 per night) so we accepted it. The room itself was dirty - tap had a ring of filth around it and the shower had black mold all in the grout. Needs a serious clean. Black hairs left in the bathroom floor (I'm blonde so they weren't mine!!) SO not happy. We will be looking for alternative accommodation after that experience. We didn't even eat at the restaurant we were so angry with the service. Very disappointing! Peppers, you need to lift your game!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out to the breathtaking Lake Tekapo between Christchurch and Queenstown in New Zealand's South Island, Peppers Bluewater Resort offers architectural design reflective of the surrounding Mackenzie Basin landscape combined with exceptional facilities and services. Accommodation includes stylish studios, one, two and three bedroom luxury villas where the outdoors is portrayed indoors through a refreshing colour palette of turquoise-blue, red and beige. Each room features STD/ISD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, air conditioning and complimentary grooming items. Simply unwind and breathe in the serene atmosphere of Peppers Bluewater Resort. Relax amongst the cosy sofa at Rakinui Lounge while enjoying a warming drink or light snack and for breakfast and dinner Rakinui Restaurant serves a diverse selection of international standard cuisine and favoured local delights accompanied with a breathtaking view across Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo provides excellent kayaking and rainbow and brown trout fishing, while the old village is steeped in mythology and rich High Country history. Tekapo is Maori for night sleeping place, and the lake itself boasts the clearest, darkest and most spectacular night sky in Aotearoa, ideal for a tramp up Mount John followed by a romantic twilight picnic. Thrill seekers are sure to cover more terrain by mountain biking or horse riding before revitalising body and soul in the nearby Alpine Springs Health Spa and Hot Pool. The Round Hill Ski Field and Winter Park are also a short drive from Peppers Bluewater Resort offering skiing, ice hockey, ice skating, even curling! Peppers Bluewater Resort is the perfect destination for relaxed weekend escapes or as a relished retreat after a hectic day of exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Bluewater Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.