We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and well located, nice breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Bluewater Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Bluewater Resort to your Saves list
Peppers Bluewater Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice and well located, nice breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Positive Points : Very well located, but as it is a small town, nearly everything is well located. Breakfast in served in room with lake view (which was beautiful;)). Breakfast is very nice (lots of things). Well decorated rooms. Nice shower;)

Negative Points : Room was VERY small... We also had tourists arriving late, making lots of noise.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Kia ora Ioscas,

Thank you for your kind review.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us.
I am particularly glad you liked our breakfast!

Best wishes,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    251
    172
    75
    58
See reviews for
149
435
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We loved our stay at Peppers Bluewater Resort. After a long three hour drive from Christchurch airport we arrived in the dark but quickly settled in to our two bedroom townhouse. Room service was efficient and the food delicious, the open fire and heating cosy, the huge beds extremely comfortable. Next morning we were excited to see the stunning mountain views all around. Lake Tekapo is a small place and is best suited for the nearby sites and ski fields. Sadly for us, Roundhill Ski Fields were not open due to lack of snow but we found other things to do - including the incredible Mt John Observatory & Astro Cafe, the local cafes & day trips to Mt Cook Village and Lake Ohau. And still with plenty of time for lounging in our enormous two storey townhouse by the open fire.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Kia ora Loulee,

Love your review - thank you!! You've made the team's day knowing how much you enjoyed your time here! We are so glad to hear that you loved a number of aspects about your room, and that you were so comfortable.

We hope that you are able to fly back over one day, and perhaps see stunning Lake Tekapo during another season.

Kind regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at this property for one night. Our 2 bedroom villa was not ready until 3pm and when we arrived we were greeted with bags of dirty linen outside the door. The bedroom configuration was strange with the children's room quite separate (including own keys) to ours. There was no mini bar, poorly stocked tea/coffee supplies, and same for the bathroom - shampoo but no conditioner. We chose to eat at the on site restaurant in the evening. Again, disappointing. Clearly understaffed. The "pork belly" was in fact pork with bacon wrapped around it. The lamb rump was fatty. The meals were over $30 each for the privilege. The bar area adjacent to the restaurant was littered with empty bottles some time after the group that had occupied the area had left. No free Wifi and the purchased high speed internet was nothing of the sort.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Kia ora Caroline Q,

Thank you for your commenting on your recent stay with us. We certainly are saddened to hear that we fell below your expecations in a number of areas. In regards to your meal, I have personally spoken to our chef this morning and I know is very disappointed that he did not leave a better impression upon you. He feels that we did have the staffing levels to provide better service to you, so perhaps we need to look more closely at our organisation that evening.

Unfortunately, our room types are a little modular which means that some rooms are a combination of two smaller apartments. Not all 2 & 3 bedrooms are like that, but I can understand that it is a little unusual. A lot of families do like that the kids can be isolated, whilst the rest of the family can stay upstairs and perhaps stay up a little later! I apologise that this didn't suit your particular needs, and I can understand how this might not be ideal. Regrettably, we cannot do anything to change this particular nuance.

With thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Arrived just after 2pm and our room wasn't ready, waited around 20 minutes to be given our keys. Resort from the outside is nice and has great views of the beautiful lake tekapo. Rooms are tiny and I mean tiny. Felt very, very claustrophobic - ok for one night stay. Not too bad of a hotel, but did expect a bit better!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Kia ora Teeks89,

Thanks for your recent review. We really appreciate you taking the time to review our property. From your comments it sounds as though you booked on of our Standard Hotel Rooms. These certainly are very small and compact for an overnight stay only. Having said that, they are available at a budget rate and really suit those looking for a place to sleep, freshen up on route to the lower South Island. We also have a number of one, two and three bedroom apartments which are fantastic in size, and these best suits those families wishing to stay with us a little longer, in greater comfort.

We hope to see you back again, to give on of our apartments a try!

Kind regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The resort is located beautifully on a hill, overlooking the lake, close to the village center. It consists of a series of small buildings with nicely decorated, modern rooms. There’s a common entrance leading to 2 rooms, so you might need to share. Definitely ask for a room with a lake-view!

The room we were in was very small, but good enough for a couple of days (comfortable bed, well functioning heating system, nice shower). There is a possibility to make some coffee and tea in the room, but they don’t replenish nor make up the room every day (not sure if they should, as on the second day around 4:30 pm 2 guys appeared at our door asking if we needed some service...), so if you are a heavy coffee or tea drinker, bring your own supplies or use one of the restaurants in the village (or the hotel restaurant). Also, for some reason the staff always leaves the “common” door open – what the waste of energy in winter!

The breakfast, which you can pre-book the day before (recommend) at the special price of 22$ (otherwise 25$) is really good. On the first morning of our stay, it was a buffet-style breakfast (as there were many guests staying in the hotel) and on the second morning we got to choose anything from an extensive list on top of the continental selection (toast, cheese, jam, yoghurt, fruits).

There are a few restaurants and cafes in the village (in case you don’t want to dine in the hotel’s fancy restaurant), but some of them close really early. Still there are a few options for dinner including Western (=burgers) and Asian (Thai, Japanese). Also, there’s a small supermarket, if you just want a snack or some fruits. If you look for free WiFi, visit the village (there it’s enough just to buy a drink to get the password), in the resort it is pretty expensive.
In case you need to wash your clothes before the next stop, they have a small laundry in the resort. They even supply the washing powder.
The staff is friendly and attentive. The only “remark” I have is about the doors being left open. In winter it’s really unwise.

While staying in the area, climb on the Mt John, it’s an amazing route! Also, visit the Tekapo Springs. Their hot tabs are something you should not miss on your trip. Not to mention Mount Cook, which is just 1 hour drive away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Kia ora Jola L,

What a great review! Thank you! I think this is a fantastic overview of both the resort, and the village, which will be a great help to future travellers who are scrolling through these reviews.

We are pleased to know that you found so many enjoyable aspects about our property, and it seems like you had a fabulous time in Lake Tekapo, which is the most important thing!

In reference to the common doors, they do access two separate rooms that are typically booked by separate families. These can be left ajar from time to time - eliminating some confusion when you arrive to your apartment. Each unit does have its own fire quality door, which are thick , heavy and do ensure that no heat escapes the units during the Winter months. Nonetheless, we appreciate you raising this and our environmental conscience is absolutely key in such a spectacular region as the Mackenzie District.

We really hope to see you back again in the near future.

Best wishes,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The good things: Nice fairly new facilities with great amenities and nice spacious suites with equipped kitchen and two tv, great for long vacations!
The bad thing: the staff is not very friendly or helpful, they charge an extra % if you pay with credit card.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Kia ora Pikotoba.

We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed so much about our property.! I really appreciate you jumping on Trip Advisor to let us know - that means a lot!

Regrettably, our resorts do charge a 2% surcharge on all credit card transactions which has become fairly commonplace in the industry today.

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed here for one night as part of tour package. The hotel complex was huge and there was a bit of walking from the receptionist to our block of rooms at the far end so we're glad our bus driver dropped us off near where our rooms were located. However it was a struggle to lift our luggage up the stairs to our 2nd floor room. Our room was OK for the one night, a bit on the small size and not as luxurious as the website advertised. Dinner at the restaurant in the hotel was excellent, but our waitress had trouble communicating in English and had to ask the chef to explain to us what was the specials of the day. Hotel staff weren't rude or anything but seemed to be disengaged.

Room Tip: ask for a ground floor room if you have trouble lifting your luggage to the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Kia ora dreamer176,

We appreciate you taking some time to let us know about your stay. Unfortunately we are a little spread out, but we are always happy to allocate a room closer to reception if its requested at the time of booking.
I am very happy to hear that you loved your dinner; we have just released our new Winter Menu, which we are very proud of. We are running a number of specials throughout July/August, and have some hearty room service option also available. It would be great to have you hear again for dinner in the future.

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the rich antiquity of the deep southern land, Peppers Bluewater Resort is only two and a half hours drive from Christchurch, with the Mount Cook National Park on your doorstep. With panoramic views on towards the glistening foothills of the Southern Alps, Lake Tekapo is also a place of mythology and rich high country history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Bluewater Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.