We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome place to rest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Bluewater Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Bluewater Resort to your Saves list
Peppers Bluewater Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A welcome place to rest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stopped for the night here after a long day of traveling and hiking at Mt. Cook. Location is great -- very close to town, church of the good shepherd, tekapo springs, etc. Room was a little small, but for the price it was pretty good. Bathroom was very nice, and there was a great selection of teas, coffees, shampoos, etc. in the room. Staff was super helpful, especially Marcus!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Kia ora jessieq22,

Thanks so much for your lovely comments! We are really happy to hear that you had such an enjoybale time, and I know Marcus will really appreciate your sentiments.

With thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    318
    224
    104
    83
See reviews for
191
567
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this Peppers resort for one night as a halfway point between Queenstown and Christchurch. This was our most expensive stay in over two weeks on the north and South Islands, so we were expecting something a little bit better than what we were faced with.

While not unexpected, the room we had was very small, with no option but to sit on the bed during any time spent there. Upon arrival, we chose to make use of the tea and coffee facilities, only to find that the milk sachets in our fridge had clotted, and had clearly gone bad a while ago. There was also quite a big part of one wall which had been damaged and simply filled in with white plaster (not repainted). This is of course minor, but not at all what you would expect for the price we paid. We also had the same issue as another recent reviewer with what sounded like a plane engine going on all night. It was clearly coming from the suite next to us, who had their heater turning off and on all night to regulate the temperature, which begs the question why the ventilation systems were designed so poorly.

The one thing this hotel has going for it is very friendly staff. But sadly, this didn't make up for poor state of our room!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Kia ora T J,

Many thanks for your recent review of our property.
We regret that you felt their were aspects of your stay that fell short of the mark, and certainly we will make best use of your comments to strive to improve.
Naturally, we are most appreciative of your kind words about our friendly staff. I absolutely agree that this is a real strength of our team.

Sincere thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed here on our last night in the South Island.
Room was very nice, large balcony overlooking the lake.
Arrived early, and the reception was happy to let us into our room earlier.
Great stay - would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Kia ora KSeymour1,

Wow - thanks for a fantastic review!
I'm really thrilled our team were able to get you checked-in nice and early, so you could really enjoy all that Lake Tekapo has to offer.
We value you taking the time to comment on your time with us.

Best wishes,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We saved up to stay somewhere nice on the last leg of our journey in NZ and it turned out to be the worst accommodation we had in 2.5 weeks. The room was unbelievably small - felt like we were in a jail cell/dog box where there was hardly room to put down suitcases let alone a table or chair to sit at. Had to sit on the bed to do everything.
The first night we were kept awake by a loud engine like noise which lasted for about 2 hours. After complaining to reception, it turned out the guy in the unit next store (so close) had left the exhaust fan going in his bathroom!! How disgusting! Who would design such a place. The duct was placed right over our bed and it was so loud.
Several of the complimentary packets in the bathroom were empty of contents, the toilet seat was broken and there was mould in the shower. The room was not cleaned well at all.
There were minimal sachets of coffee and NO FREE WI-FI! This was our only accommodation in NZ which did not offer spacious accommodation, kitchenette and free Wi-Fi. We had booked 2 nights at this place so endured it without complaining and visiting the lovely people at the cafe across the road that offered free WiFi, lovely meals and coffee at reasonable prices. This was the biggest disappointment of our trip and was not a good way to leave the country!! Would never stay there again, or at any Peppers resort again. A complete rip off!!

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Kia ora Margaret E,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
I regret that you did not have a more positive experience of our property.
Our Standard Hotels are very small, however the price point is reflective of this and we do our best to ensure our valued guests understand that these are really a sleep-n-go style room. We do offer a range of rooms and apartments to suit everyone's needs. We would have been more than happy to find something more suitable, had you brought this to our attention at the time.
There are without doubt some aspects here that we will utilise your review to look at, and we regret the inconvenience that was caused to you during your stay.

Please accept my humble apologies.

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Had a night stay and we wish we stayed longer!
Location: near to the lake and 5mins walking distance to the yummy Kohan restaurant and app 15mins to Church of good shepherd.
Room: clean with comfy warmed bed, and spacious toilet. Cosy room.
Breakfast: spread was average, but we were greeted with breathtaking view of the lake when having breakfast at the lobby area. So that made the breakfast a truly enjoyable one.
Overall: would definitely stay here again on our next visit. =)

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Kia ora PF-funnie,

Such lovely words, thank you! We are really thrilled to hear that you found our resort to be "awesome", and I know the team loved reading your review. We certainly hope you do choose to stay again, and indeed choose to stay that little bit longer!

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Bluewater Resort has a prime location, while its not on the lakefront this is an advantage being higher up Tekapo to take advantage of the turquoise blue Lake Tekapo. Close to shops / pools / skating rink. Room was clean and spacious and had everything I needed. You don't really need to leave the resort as you can be self contained if you get an apartment and cook for yourself. Restaurant was top notch and breakfast delicious with a wide variety of hot and cold options. All staff were very friendly and approachable, and nothing was a problem.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to upgrade from the Standard Hotel rooms if you want views / extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Kia ora msmith84,

Wonderful comments, thank you so much! We cannot express how happy we are to hear how much you enjoyed yourself in our care.
We would love to see you make the commute from Christchurch again!

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Excelent from moment u step in
Gonna find nice service from everything in all details. Room are fantastic new confortable and highly eficient
We have winny babysitting with love room service, dinner at fantastic perfect restaurant
We woke up after great ngt of sleep and enjoy fabulous breakfast served with smiles tranquility and warmth
We are very thankfull for all the time who made our stay perfect

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Kia ora Julyra,

Thank you so much for a great review!
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our service, and I know Winnie will really appreciate your comments about her babysitting. I know she was thrilled to be able to assist!

Best wishes to you, and we hope to see you again.

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Tekapo hotels
0.1 mi away
Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort
Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Lodge
Lake Tekapo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
5.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
1.0 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#3 of 11 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
YHA Lake Tekapo
YHA Lake Tekapo
#5 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Lake Tekapo
Mantra Lake Tekapo
#6 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out to the breathtaking Lake Tekapo between Christchurch and Queenstown in New Zealand's South Island, Peppers Bluewater Resort offers architectural design reflective of the surrounding Mackenzie Basin landscape combined with exceptional facilities and services. Accommodation includes stylish studios, one, two and three bedroom luxury villas where the outdoors is portrayed indoors through a refreshing colour palette of turquoise-blue, red and beige. Each room features STD/ISD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, air conditioning and complimentary grooming items. Simply unwind and breathe in the serene atmosphere of Peppers Bluewater Resort. Relax amongst the cosy sofa at Rakinui Lounge while enjoying a warming drink or light snack and for breakfast and dinner Rakinui Restaurant serves a diverse selection of international standard cuisine and favoured local delights accompanied with a breathtaking view across Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo provides excellent kayaking and rainbow and brown trout fishing, while the old village is steeped in mythology and rich High Country history. Tekapo is Maori for night sleeping place, and the lake itself boasts the clearest, darkest and most spectacular night sky in Aotearoa, ideal for a tramp up Mount John followed by a romantic twilight picnic. Thrill seekers are sure to cover more terrain by mountain biking or horse riding before revitalising body and soul in the nearby Alpine Springs Health Spa and Hot Pool. The Round Hill Ski Field and Winter Park are also a short drive from Peppers Bluewater Resort offering skiing, ice hockey, ice skating, even curling! Peppers Bluewater Resort is the perfect destination for relaxed weekend escapes or as a relished retreat after a hectic day of exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Bluewater Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.