We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome place to rest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Bluewater Resort

Save Saved
You added Peppers Bluewater Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peppers Bluewater Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A welcome place to rest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stopped for the night here after a long day of traveling and hiking at Mt. Cook. Location is great -- very close to town, church of the good shepherd, tekapo springs, etc. Room was a little small, but for the price it was pretty good. Bathroom was very nice, and there was a great selection of teas, coffees, shampoos, etc. in the room. Staff was super helpful, especially Marcus!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Kia ora jessieq22,

Thanks so much for your lovely comments! We are really happy to hear that you had such an enjoybale time, and I know Marcus will really appreciate your sentiments.

With thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    240
    156
    70
    54
See reviews for
148
407
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this Peppers resort for one night as a halfway point between Queenstown and Christchurch. This was our most expensive stay in over two weeks on the north and South Islands, so we were expecting something a little bit better than what we were faced with.

While not unexpected, the room we had was very small, with no option but to sit on the bed during any time spent there. Upon arrival, we chose to make use of the tea and coffee facilities, only to find that the milk sachets in our fridge had clotted, and had clearly gone bad a while ago. There was also quite a big part of one wall which had been damaged and simply filled in with white plaster (not repainted). This is of course minor, but not at all what you would expect for the price we paid. We also had the same issue as another recent reviewer with what sounded like a plane engine going on all night. It was clearly coming from the suite next to us, who had their heater turning off and on all night to regulate the temperature, which begs the question why the ventilation systems were designed so poorly.

The one thing this hotel has going for it is very friendly staff. But sadly, this didn't make up for poor state of our room!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Kia ora T J,

Many thanks for your recent review of our property.
We regret that you felt their were aspects of your stay that fell short of the mark, and certainly we will make best use of your comments to strive to improve.
Naturally, we are most appreciative of your kind words about our friendly staff. I absolutely agree that this is a real strength of our team.

Sincere thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on our last night in the South Island.
Room was very nice, large balcony overlooking the lake.
Arrived early, and the reception was happy to let us into our room earlier.
Great stay - would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Kia ora KSeymour1,

Wow - thanks for a fantastic review!
I'm really thrilled our team were able to get you checked-in nice and early, so you could really enjoy all that Lake Tekapo has to offer.
We value you taking the time to comment on your time with us.

Best wishes,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We saved up to stay somewhere nice on the last leg of our journey in NZ and it turned out to be the worst accommodation we had in 2.5 weeks. The room was unbelievably small - felt like we were in a jail cell/dog box where there was hardly room to put down suitcases let alone a table or chair to sit at. Had to sit on the bed to do everything.
The first night we were kept awake by a loud engine like noise which lasted for about 2 hours. After complaining to reception, it turned out the guy in the unit next store (so close) had left the exhaust fan going in his bathroom!! How disgusting! Who would design such a place. The duct was placed right over our bed and it was so loud.
Several of the complimentary packets in the bathroom were empty of contents, the toilet seat was broken and there was mould in the shower. The room was not cleaned well at all.
There were minimal sachets of coffee and NO FREE WI-FI! This was our only accommodation in NZ which did not offer spacious accommodation, kitchenette and free Wi-Fi. We had booked 2 nights at this place so endured it without complaining and visiting the lovely people at the cafe across the road that offered free WiFi, lovely meals and coffee at reasonable prices. This was the biggest disappointment of our trip and was not a good way to leave the country!! Would never stay there again, or at any Peppers resort again. A complete rip off!!

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Kia ora Margaret E,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
I regret that you did not have a more positive experience of our property.
Our Standard Hotels are very small, however the price point is reflective of this and we do our best to ensure our valued guests understand that these are really a sleep-n-go style room. We do offer a range of rooms and apartments to suit everyone's needs. We would have been more than happy to find something more suitable, had you brought this to our attention at the time.
There are without doubt some aspects here that we will utilise your review to look at, and we regret the inconvenience that was caused to you during your stay.

Please accept my humble apologies.

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
331 helpful votes 331 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

After travelling from Franz Joesph, to Fox Glacier and Haas, I made my way to Mount Cook and decided to take a break at the 'touristy' Lake Tekapo. After tramping hills and high altitude trails in Mount Cook, I was extremely exhausted and needed to take a break, sleep well and relax my tired legs. I enter lake Tekapo and the fisrt hotel 'The Pepper Bluewater Resort'' was the very first establishment I noticed after passing the road to Mt. John which is the main attraction at Lake Tekapo. I have had a second though to stay in any Peppers Resorts Property in NZ, after the insolent and arrogance attitude I experienced in Queenstown with Mr. Ashley who made me feel as he was doing me a favor by letting me stay longer at that really lousy property, which didn't deliver for what i was paying for.The lake Tekapo is a million miles better and newly build. My room was 811 and I had all the space I wanted and the spotless cleanliness expected from a Peppers Property.The large room over amenities and kitchen facility to prepare small healthy meals. The local supermarket was just across the road and supplied plenty of fruits, vegetable and anything you could possibly want for breakfast or dinner. The only negative part of the Hotel staff was, and I witness it several time. the Indian staff Front desk manager s are not truthful and have constant petty excuses, when a hotel guest has requirements. issues with the hotel rooms or what ever,or if sometime things are not right and needed to be redressed. The Peppers boutique Restaurant was lovely and relaxing, it offered ''Nouvelle Cuisine'' menu and there was hardly anyone eating there! The only disappointment I had, was that the hotel had mostly foreign staff and not much of local Kiwi staff. I had to adjust and try to understand the mood and behavior of the staff from Asia, non English speaking countries in Europe and India as well as China. Also, the Peppers has large groups of loud people checking in late as the Tour buses arrive late and depart early. Most of the time, they were making far too much noise and you could feel like being at some International Airport Arrival Hall or even a large city Train Station. This would irritate you and spoil the tranquil setting of the hotel premises. Lake Tekapo is after all a place to reflect, as it is so serene and beautiful all year round. It is also easy accessible from Queenstown Mount Cook and Christchurch. make sure you take a quiet side of the hotel and not where the large group tours are spending the night, otherwise it will spoil your stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Kia ora David D,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our property.

We respect and appreciate your comments regarding our staff.
Irrespective of cultural background, our staff members are wonderful, passionate individuals who love the opportunity to live in, and promote our incredible destination. That is the most important prerequisite that I think the bulk of our patrons really value when staying with us.

We do appreciate a few areas that we can work a little harder at, and value you bringing those to our attention.

Best wishes,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Had a night stay and we wish we stayed longer!
Location: near to the lake and 5mins walking distance to the yummy Kohan restaurant and app 15mins to Church of good shepherd.
Room: clean with comfy warmed bed, and spacious toilet. Cosy room.
Breakfast: spread was average, but we were greeted with breathtaking view of the lake when having breakfast at the lobby area. So that made the breakfast a truly enjoyable one.
Overall: would definitely stay here again on our next visit. =)

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Kia ora PF-funnie,

Such lovely words, thank you! We are really thrilled to hear that you found our resort to be "awesome", and I know the team loved reading your review. We certainly hope you do choose to stay again, and indeed choose to stay that little bit longer!

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Bluewater Resort has a prime location, while its not on the lakefront this is an advantage being higher up Tekapo to take advantage of the turquoise blue Lake Tekapo. Close to shops / pools / skating rink. Room was clean and spacious and had everything I needed. You don't really need to leave the resort as you can be self contained if you get an apartment and cook for yourself. Restaurant was top notch and breakfast delicious with a wide variety of hot and cold options. All staff were very friendly and approachable, and nothing was a problem.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to upgrade from the Standard Hotel rooms if you want views / extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Kia ora msmith84,

Wonderful comments, thank you so much! We cannot express how happy we are to hear how much you enjoyed yourself in our care.
We would love to see you make the commute from Christchurch again!

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the rich antiquity of the deep southern land, Peppers Bluewater Resort is only two and a half hours drive from Christchurch, with the Mount Cook National Park on your doorstep. With panoramic views on towards the glistening foothills of the Southern Alps, Lake Tekapo is also a place of mythology and rich high country history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Bluewater Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.