We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in parts!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Bluewater Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Bluewater Resort to your Saves list
Peppers Bluewater Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good in parts!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in Feb on the way from Akaroa to Queenstown. A bit of a mixed experience - the room (deluxe lake view) was fine and very comfortable, although I had asked for upper floor but got ground floor. Also, the lake view was a side view, across a road - not quite what I was expecting!
Dinner in the restaurant was excellent - local salmon on noodles, and a very nice cheeseboard with local cheeses. However, the breakfast was poor. Admittedly we didn't go until 9am but there was very little fruit, poor choice of cereals, just a few croissants and bread for toast. At NZ$ 22 for continental, we thought that was poor value. Full breakfast was $ 25 so probably a better option but they really need to keep tidying and replenishing the buffet if they are going to charge that.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake view, upper floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amay_acharya, Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Kia Ora VAH12,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you found your room to be clean and comfortable. We however do apologise that we were not able to meet your request of a room on a higher floor as those rooms were already occupied during your stay.

We have also discussed your comments with regards to the breakfast service with our F&B management team in detail so that such issues do not occur again .

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards
Amay Acharya
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    251
    172
    75
    58
See reviews for
149
433
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Booked a room with a view of the lake. Could just see the lake between two large run down buildings across the main road. Most rooms just have a view of somebody else's air conditioning unit. Unsympathetic planting, drab colours, no bathrobes despite high price tag and zero privacy if you wanted the curtains open. Conveniently located and large units with good bathrooms and comfortable beds. Well kitted out kitchen. However if you are looking for something special look elsewhere there are some good private operators locally which we found and have booked our next visit with them instead.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Kia ora Robin M,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. We regret and are disappointed to hear that our resort was not quite what you expected.

We are glad to hear that you did enjoy many of the features of our large apartments, including the comforable beds.

We would love to see you back again in the future!

Best wishes,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

No toiletries other than a bar of soap and four stains on the bottom bed sheet. The other problem was the location of the very bright lights beside the footpaths which stayed on all night. There was one very close to the window near our bed and this window only had a slatted blind, not a blackout blind. Therefore we had to (try to) sleep in a fairly bright room.
Our room was also getting colder and colder because the air conditioning unit would not turn off or adjust. We called reception and they could not fix it so they pulled the fuse; we therefore ended up with none!

Having said that, Tekapo is a beautiful place and worth stopping at, but if you want a view of the lake you need a front row apartment.

Room Tip: Make sure you are on the road frontage if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amay_acharya, Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Kia Ora Troutman4851,

We are very sorry to hear that a number of aspects of your stay were not in-keeping with our typical Peppers standards. I have discussed your feedback in detail with our management team, and we have certainly acted strongly to ensure these matters are addressed asap.

Once again please accept my sincere appologies for all the inconveniences caused to you during your stay

Kind Regards

Amay Acharya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We booked a lake facing studio but was upgraded to a one bedroom lake facing unit.
OMG the place was so big. On the first floor is the bathroom suite and the bedroom, and on the top floor is the open spaced kitchen and living room with a balcony that has a view to die for.
A room with lake view is a must. It is really good to wake up n the morning and open up the curtain to see lake. We really enjoyed our stay here and we will be back.

Room Tip: Get the Lake View room, worth the price and come early so you can enjoy the Lake !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Kia ora zyso,

Wonderful review! Thank you so much! We are thrilled to hear that you really loved the space our apartments offer, and that you were able to really enjoy that amazing lake view.

We hope to see you again.

Best wishes,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed here two years ago and loved it...but cannot say the same today. The staff was short and not helpful, and drinks at the bar were over priced. When we got to the room we could barely get our luggage in the room...the bed took up most of the room, we have never seen anything like it. No toiletries...I think they forgot. Desperately in need of some updates, our room was tired and in need of a coat of paint. Sadly...we won't be saying there again.

Room Tip: Don't pick a standard room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Kia ora Tiffany B,

We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay this time.
I apologise that your Standard Hotel Room was not large enough for your needs.
Naturally, we would hope you give us another chance and perhaps arrange an alternate room type. We are the throes of repainting many of our units, as we do each and every year.

With thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed here for two nights. We had well maintained room, however, we didn't have a view of the lake and were unable to upgrade due to lack of availability. Service at peppers bluewater breakfast was terrible, we had to wait 15 mins for fried eggs and one of the staff members spoke rudely to us (and others) regarding how the toaster operates.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Kia ora Hussein A,

Thank you for your review.
We regret that you were unable to obtain a lake view upgrade, and I certainly encourage pre booking to ensure such a request can be guaranteed. I apologise for the delay on fried eggs; as you know we run a buffet service due to the high demand, so there can be a small wait on specific requests such as fried eggs. I am glad to hear that you felt the room was well maintained.

Many thanks.

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The rooms really are very nice and the food was very good BUT:
We ordered the platter as an entree. This is actually very good value but bizarrely is an entire meal in it's own right - starter, main course, sweet stuff, cheese - all on a single board. They are showcasing food from the region but rather than selecting appropriate stuff everything possible is on the board. Tasty but not really leaving you wanting to eat anything else.

The staff are well meaning but hopelessly inefficient. A mix of cultures/languages perhaps, possibly poor training - who knows. A mix up in the kitchen meant that they tried to serve our mains before the starter. A request to clear our plates was refused because one (very slow) person at our large table was still eating. Sure, this is probably standard practice to wait until the last person is ready but we actually ASKED to have the plates cleared.

And then at breakfast there was a lot of fuss about not letting us sit at a particular table (which actually had been put aside for our group). I'd been in the dining room about 15 mins before eating and no one had asked for my room number. As soon as the first mouthful was in my mouth a waiter then apologised and asked me for my room number. They have a job to do but need to pick their times to suit the customer - certainly not when they have just put a fork of food in their mouths.

The rooms - very comfortable beds, very clean and modern. Strangely, no shampoo but did have the usual other gumpf. It was very windy when we were there and the windows and doors rattled badly all night.

So, 4 star for the accommodation, 3 star for the service. And no hotel will ever get a 5 star from me without offering free wifi.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Kia ora mariemusicacademy,

Thank you for your comments.
We regret that you felt aspects of our service were below par. I've taken the liberty of discussing your review with our management team, & I am confident those minor improvements have been actioned.

With thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the rich antiquity of the deep southern land, Peppers Bluewater Resort is only two and a half hours drive from Christchurch, with the Mount Cook National Park on your doorstep. With panoramic views on towards the glistening foothills of the Southern Alps, Lake Tekapo is also a place of mythology and rich high country history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Bluewater Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.