We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't recommend hotel rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Bluewater Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Bluewater Resort to your Saves list
Peppers Bluewater Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Castlemaine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wouldn't recommend hotel rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Recently stayed at this property. I phoned the night before and booked a room but when we arrived they said they had no record of our booking. Their hotel rooms are extremely small and on the dark side of the building so felt like we were in a cave. As others noted the beds are soft and uncomfortable and with no chairs in room are the only place to sit. Reception staff are overly formal, 'stuffy' and dressed in dark suits which seemed completely out of place in a country setting. On check out I mentioned that I was disappointed that our booking hadn't been made when I had phoned the property directly. The manager, Sharem, was only interested in getting the person's name that I had spoken to. When I told him that I couldn't remember and surely there weren't many at reception at 7pm on a Sun night he fobbed me off as though nothing he could do. Why is it the responsibility of the customer to have the name of the person we spoke to. I've never understood that!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Kia ora Josh G,

Thank you for your recent review of our property.
We are glad you found the hotel room to be functional, but we do apologies that there were some aspects of your experience that could have been vastly improved.

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    280
    208
    93
    75
See reviews for
172
504
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
derby
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

An efficient check in procedure but it did not seem particularly friendly. The rooms are in groups / blocks spread around the site a short walk from the dining room and check in desk. Our room was on the ground floor of a two storey block which looked out onto the large pond that was visited by various ducks during our stay.

The usual quite large room with as usual very little storage space / hanging space for clothes the decor was quite modern and the room was kept extremely tidy during our stay. The bed was a normal sized double which is a little small for me as I am very tall.

The bathroom was quite large and had both a bath and separate shower cubicle.

Dinner was very well presented and my steak was cooked to perfection, though I felt there might have been more vegetable accompanying the main course. The starter of three different dips with bread was also very tasty. Breakfast was the usual buffet with the full range of juices and cereal. The hot buffet part was not always very hot at least that was true of the scrambled eggs two mornings out of three. A slight change in the usual presentation was the presence of small pancakes in the scrambled egg server. These were superb with the egg (when the eggs were warm). There needs to be a little tight control on either the amount of food put out at one time or the warmers need to be kept slightly hotter.

Internet was available the fee this time was $8 for 1 hour which is probably the most expensive we have found during our month in New Zealand.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Kia ora makesholiday,

We appreciate your kind comments about our property, and I'm sure many visitors to this site will find your review most helpful! We will certainly take on board some of the valuable feedback you've provided us, so we cannot thank you enough for that.

We hope to see you again in the near future,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed 3 days there last week with wife. Got a nice view room although almost everywhere you go in Tekapo, the scenery is great. The overall experience in the first 2 days was good but far from outstanding considering the relatively high rates. The 3rd day was a disaster, kitchen and washroom weren't properly cleaned and serviced, pillows and bed sheets were all over the place, rubbish tin was not emptied. I complained and the explanation /excuses were absurd such as room would only be serviced full scale every 3 days; housekeepers could have different 'style' of working. More importantly, door was left open after servicing (believe it or not!). I must say it almost spoiled my whole vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Kia ora ChanChiYin,

Thank you for your review on our profile page. Certainly there are aspects of your stay that we are disappointed to hear of. I also appreciate your direct email to me to address these concerns, which I have responded to in kind. We will ensure that the issues that perpetuated will be be addressed with urgency, ensuring this is an aberration rather than the norm. It is certainly not in-keeping with our standard operation procedures, and terribly embarrassing to hear of. Thank you for your kind understand.

Thanks again,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I booked this resort 5 months before we arrived but do you think they could put our 2 rooms together - no!
The "show areas" of the resort look lovely but the rooms are dis-functional with barely enough room to turn around, let alone find any space for 2 bags!! There is no power point in the bathroom - eventually you can find one hidden in the kettle/tea space but that is unacceptable design for a "resort". Access to other rooms is also ridiculous - you have the choice of negotiating several sets of stairs plus carpark or hiking across rock gardens just to get to a room nearby - totally stupid design.

Room Tip: try to find another location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Kia ora Jules0999,

Many thanks for your feedback about our resort. We can certainly appreciate some of the design quirks, but we hope this did not detract from an otherwise enjoyable stay at Peppers Bluewater Resort.

Best regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed at one one the 2 bedroom units and was immediately impressed with the presentation of the rooms, they were very clean and well laid out. The beds were very comfy and the place was very well heated. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their stay. We had a meal in the onsite restaurant and while the mains were fairly small the dessert I had was the best I ever had anywhere. The big disappointment came in the form of room service breakfast the next morning, the meals were cold, undercooked and very second rate (I would give it 1 star). I would visit again but would definitely not order room service again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Kia ora Mike B,

Thank you for such a great review of Peppers Bluewater Resort!
We are disappointed to hear your breakfast experience was not more in-keeping with the rest of your stay, but we do value your honest feedback. We are thrilled that you had such a good stay.

With thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had a great stay over Labour Weekend. Booked a hotel room and was worried about the size etc due to prev reviews. Normally when we stay in nice hotels we tend to get a view of the bins. We got super lucky and got a room that looked straight across at Lake Tekapo. The resort is large and is a bit of a walk for breakfast and tip is to get their early before the slumbering masses. Tekapo town is a couple of minutes walk away which is very convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Kia ora lucystarbuck,

Thanks for a great review of our property. We are really thrilled to hear that you enjoyed yourself so much.

Warm regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the least expensive room available ($+100 per night) which was a squeeze even for two people. Someone left rubbish in the bin and on the table space when we arrived and there was still tea in the pot. Those things made us a bit annoyed, but comfort-wise it was good. The bed was comfy, the shower and bathroom were top notch and the view from the dining area/balcony was amazing but I wouldn't recommend staying in the cheap rooms unless you're on a budget...in which case you probably shouldn't stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out to the breathtaking Lake Tekapo between Christchurch and Queenstown in New Zealand's South Island, Peppers Bluewater Resort offers architectural design reflective of the surrounding Mackenzie Basin landscape combined with exceptional facilities and services. Accommodation includes stylish studios, one, two and three bedroom luxury villas where the outdoors is portrayed indoors through a refreshing colour palette of turquoise-blue, red and beige. Each room features STD/ISD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, air conditioning and complimentary grooming items. Simply unwind and breathe in the serene atmosphere of Peppers Bluewater Resort. Relax amongst the cosy sofa at Rakinui Lounge while enjoying a warming drink or light snack and for breakfast and dinner Rakinui Restaurant serves a diverse selection of international standard cuisine and favoured local delights accompanied with a breathtaking view across Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo provides excellent kayaking and rainbow and brown trout fishing, while the old village is steeped in mythology and rich High Country history. Tekapo is Maori for night sleeping place, and the lake itself boasts the clearest, darkest and most spectacular night sky in Aotearoa, ideal for a tramp up Mount John followed by a romantic twilight picnic. Thrill seekers are sure to cover more terrain by mountain biking or horse riding before revitalising body and soul in the nearby Alpine Springs Health Spa and Hot Pool. The Round Hill Ski Field and Winter Park are also a short drive from Peppers Bluewater Resort offering skiing, ice hockey, ice skating, even curling! Peppers Bluewater Resort is the perfect destination for relaxed weekend escapes or as a relished retreat after a hectic day of exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Bluewater Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.