We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only worth it if you get a deal on wotif.com” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Bluewater Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Bluewater Resort to your Saves list
Peppers Bluewater Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Christchurch, NZ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Only worth it if you get a deal on wotif.com”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Had the bargain room - really good fun if you are playing that game where you try to make it to another room without actually touching the carpet.
That said, although it was small, it had a nice clean shower, good heating and a giant bed.
Take a torch if you are going out at night as the lighting leaves something to be desired on the footpaths.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Kia ora MapleKiwi,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience at Peppers Bluewater Resort.
We're glad you found the hotel room to provide the services you needed during your stay.

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    301
    217
    99
    81
See reviews for
179
541
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

On check in we were informed we were being upgraded to different accomodation. Great, we thought. How wrong we were.

The resort was very busy due to a wedding and a couple of coach tours. Arriving at our room, we found that the air conditioning was not working and the place was a sauna. Having the bedroom downstairs was not great as the doors couldn't be opened as we were next to a footpath. Tried to have a shower to cool down and it flooded the bathroom.

Finally went down to breakfast in the morning and despit there only being one other table in use the staff decided to seat the family with the anoying loud children right next to us.

Certainly wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Kia ora Maritchi,

We are very disappointed to hear that you didn't find your experience at Peppers Bluewater Resort as it should have been.

We do appreciate you taking the time to let us know, so we can address these concerns.

Warmest regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We chose this resort for a stopover night as it appeared to be highly recommended on TripAdvisor.

On the day of arrival, we were given keys to our room and some suggestions on what we can do in the lake area and we were pleased. However, when we returned that night to catchup on our rest, there was first a blackout at our unit. We were told that this was unusual but was given another room 2 units away. As the first room was dark without electricity, we requested to keep the key so that we could check if any of our belongings were still left lying around. However, the second room came with a rusty boiling flask that we needed to change. As we made our way out to the reception (about 7minutes' walk) in the cold, the manager in charge suggested that we head back to the first unit to pick up the flask that was not rusty. We were shocked with the suggestion. In fact, the manager reiterated that it is normal for the flask to be alittle dirty while we had to clarify that it was rust and not dirt that we were talking about.

To make things worse, we were told repeatedly that we were already given a free room and so we could always head back to the first room to pick up items or make calls if anything could not work in the second room.

As we checked out the next day, we made it a point to feedback again on what has happened. To our relief, the servicing apologized on her colleague's behalf and offered us a discount on the room rate which we have paid for the night. Although that was a nice gesture, i must say that such service lapses really shouldn't have occurred in the first place.

Room Tip: Chose rooms that are nearer to the reception, else you would have to wait for transport to help you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Kia ora juzzbe,

We really appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay.
I'm certainly disappointed to hear about your experience and I regret that we did not handle this more appropriately.
I've taken the liberty of discussing your comments with our team, as this is not in keeping with the level of customer service we are synonymous for at Peppers Bluewater Resort.

We certainly thank you for enabling us to be able to address this with our team. Please accept our humble apologies for any incovenience caused. We would welcome the opportunity to have you back to our property again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night during our honeymoon to NZ when drving trhough to Queenstown. We stayed in a deluxe lake view room. The hotel/apartments were nice and recently furbished - they had some nice modern applicances, and were quite comfortable. Sadly, we were unlucky that we had a room on the second floor and had a room above us - this meant that we heard the guests above us. Which meant every footstep and cheer as they watched tv. While this was a bit of disappointment, it didn't impact our stay by much - which was largely positive.

Our dinner experience at the hotel was less of a success - although the food was good - the service at the restaurant was poor by NZ standards, with long, long, periods of being ignored by staff.

Its a lovely spot - but as some described - probably not worth a stay for more than a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Make sure you grab a room with a lake view. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Kia ora Mezza76au,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We're thrilled you enjoyed our property and found the rooms comfortable. We've certainly noted some of your comments about how we can improve, and we really appreciate that valuable feedback.

Lake Tekapo's definitely a magical spot, and we'd love to see you return one day!

Kind regards,
Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are great, liked the welcome fresh bread in winter. but there is not much to do around the resort. They should create their own hot spring instead of a dirty pond out front.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Kia ora 808surf,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of Peppers Bluewater Resort.
It's great to hear you loved the room so much, and the bread's definitely something we've found popular particularly during the colder months!
We really appreciate your comments, and your feedback is something we'll sit and review as a team.

Many thanks,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
173 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

A last minut wotif deal found us enjoying a warm well designed appartment. It is a large complex and yet there was no noise and it felt private enough.

Room Tip: These are 2 storied some with bedrooms upstairs and some down.It would pay to check appartment confi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Kia ora Marg22,

Thank you for such a kind review! We are pleased we were able to provide exactly what you were after.

Best wishes,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Our first impression was one of disappointment, with very average service at check in, but the accommodation once we got to it was good, albeit having paid for a Lake View apartment I was expecting a full on view, rather than one at an angle giving only a partial view, albeit all of the apartments appeared to be the same.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom lake view villa, which had a bedroom and separate bathroom at ground level with a lovely bath as well as a shower. Bed quite small and no TV in the bedroom much to my husband's disgust. Laundry facilities under the stairs if required.

First floor a front to back living space with a lounge area, full well appointed kitchen, and a separate dining area. This area was very light and bright with plenty of windows.

A short walk into the centre of Lake Tekapo which is only very small, and also an easy walk to the Church of the Good Shepherd which looks lovely set against the lake.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewmfreak, General Manager at Peppers Bluewater Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Kia ora PennyH2009,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about our resort.
We're disappointed to hear your check-in experience was not as it should have been. We are pleased though to hear that you enjoyed the villa itself and the facilities within it. We've certainly noted your comments about the television, and it's something we will look further into.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards,

Andrew M Freak
General Manager
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out to the breathtaking Lake Tekapo between Christchurch and Queenstown in New Zealand's South Island, Peppers Bluewater Resort offers architectural design reflective of the surrounding Mackenzie Basin landscape combined with exceptional facilities and services. Accommodation includes stylish studios, one, two and three bedroom luxury villas where the outdoors is portrayed indoors through a refreshing colour palette of turquoise-blue, red and beige. Each room features STD/ISD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, air conditioning and complimentary grooming items. Simply unwind and breathe in the serene atmosphere of Peppers Bluewater Resort. Relax amongst the cosy sofa at Rakinui Lounge while enjoying a warming drink or light snack and for breakfast and dinner Rakinui Restaurant serves a diverse selection of international standard cuisine and favoured local delights accompanied with a breathtaking view across Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo provides excellent kayaking and rainbow and brown trout fishing, while the old village is steeped in mythology and rich High Country history. Tekapo is Maori for night sleeping place, and the lake itself boasts the clearest, darkest and most spectacular night sky in Aotearoa, ideal for a tramp up Mount John followed by a romantic twilight picnic. Thrill seekers are sure to cover more terrain by mountain biking or horse riding before revitalising body and soul in the nearby Alpine Springs Health Spa and Hot Pool. The Round Hill Ski Field and Winter Park are also a short drive from Peppers Bluewater Resort offering skiing, ice hockey, ice skating, even curling! Peppers Bluewater Resort is the perfect destination for relaxed weekend escapes or as a relished retreat after a hectic day of exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Bluewater Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.