We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“take the lake view room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Bluewater Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Bluewater Resort to your Saves list
Peppers Bluewater Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“take the lake view room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

we at first took the last available cheaper motel room. the room unfortunately was a twin (2 singles) and we wanted a room with just the one bed. we had to upgrade to a lake view room which was so much bigger and the view was lovely. well worth the upgrade. it was a little noisy from the people above us and the noise of them coming in and out of the front door did disturb us during the night. we were really tired from a long drive so eventually feel asleep but this could be a problem for light sleepers. service from reception was great, the cleanliness was not the best. a little more attention to detail required in this area. lots of scuff marks on the walls and the first room we checked into had milk spilled on the bottom of the fridge and rubbish left behind by a previous guest.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    302
    218
    99
    81
See reviews for
179
543
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We will never forget that first glimpse of Lake Tekapo as we drove over a hill to see the bluest water we may ever have had the pleasure of seeing on our travels. Rock flour from the surrounding mountains rolls down into the lake to produce a phenomenon that will live in the memory forever. The town is tiny but the impact is incredible. Peppers Bluewater is well situated, just a two minute drive to the village shops, Church of the Good Shepherd and lakeside. Make sure you book a top floor (3rd floor) front unit looking directly over the lake. The low floors have limited views and the units behind the front row would see little or nothing. If ever there was a case for local government to permit a few more higher floors this is it! We were on the ground floor and saw frustratingly little of what would potentially have been one of THE amazing room views. Average to good quality rooms. Good Restaurant and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Top floor, front row will give the best lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Very good location - overlooking the beautiful lake. We took the 2 bedroom villa which had the rooms on the ground floor and the living room + kitchen on the first floor. We stayed there for 3 nights and had a very pleasant and comfortable stay. The rooms were clean and spacious. The kitchen was well equipped allowing us to easily cook food. Heard that the restaurant is quite good - we liked the vegetarian pizza.

Overall a very nice stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We only stayed here one night. We had 2x 2 bedroom lakeview apartments near each other. One was not a true 2 bedroom apartment, but had another 'hotel room only' which shared a common outside door.

The other 2 bedroom lakeview apartment had 2 rooms inside but there was another hotel style room next door through a separate door which we could hear the guests inside at night.

Each main bedroom had a ground level balcony opening up to the front of the hotel/highway. Bedrooms felt very small but upstairs was of a generous size.

Upstairs of both apartments was probably the best part with the kitchen, balcony & sitting area. There was a gas fireplace in one of them. Both kitchen were very large and well featured.

Unfortunately the views are not unobstructed towards Lake Tekapo and the mountain ranges. As the hotel is on the southern end of the highway, the highway, town and some trees get in the way of the beautiful scenery.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms look on to the highway, with glimpses of the lake/mountains in the background. Hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Just back from an awesome NZ vacation! In Lake Tekapo, we stayed for two nights in a one bedroom lake view villa at Peppers. The villa is quite luxurious and spacious with a bedroom on the ground floor and the kitchen and living room on the first floor, so its a duplex configuration. The kitchen was well stocked and you cook easily cook all your meals. The location is quite pretty, just a road across from the lake.
My only gripe would be that when room servicing was done the 2nd day, the upstairs living room wasn't cleaned as thoroughly as the bedroom.
Overall quite a nice stay and I would recommend it to anyone going to Tekapo.
Do go for the night observatory tour, it was something very different and interesting!

Room Tip: The villas with kitchens if you want more space and the choice to make your own meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

We returned to Peppers at Lake Tekapo on our Honeymoon since this was the site of my proposal - were pleasantly surprised by Peppers special treatment. They were aware this was my honeymoon stay & arranged for a special chocolate/cheese platter along with sparkling wine to welcome us & thank us for returning. When we ate at the restaurant that night, we were given a complimentary glass of wine as celebration. Service was excellent and the accommodation is still the best in Tekapo. Gorgeous views! We were even given the same room that we stayed in on our original engagement stay. Love this area of the world. Remember to visit St Johns Observatory if visiting!

Room Tip: Make sure to as for a room in the front row of the complex - this provides excellent views of the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Cannot go wrong staying here if you are a couple, great modern rooms some with a beautiful view of lake tekapo. Didn't really suit us with a four month old, but that was no fault of the hotels, we should have done our research better. We stayed on the top floor, heaps of stairs, no microwave for sterilizing bottles, no basic kitchen facilities, washing Machine was miles away from our room and always in use. Again great place for a couple, restaurant very good!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out to the breathtaking Lake Tekapo between Christchurch and Queenstown in New Zealand's South Island, Peppers Bluewater Resort offers architectural design reflective of the surrounding Mackenzie Basin landscape combined with exceptional facilities and services. Accommodation includes stylish studios, one, two and three bedroom luxury villas where the outdoors is portrayed indoors through a refreshing colour palette of turquoise-blue, red and beige. Each room features STD/ISD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, air conditioning and complimentary grooming items. Simply unwind and breathe in the serene atmosphere of Peppers Bluewater Resort. Relax amongst the cosy sofa at Rakinui Lounge while enjoying a warming drink or light snack and for breakfast and dinner Rakinui Restaurant serves a diverse selection of international standard cuisine and favoured local delights accompanied with a breathtaking view across Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo provides excellent kayaking and rainbow and brown trout fishing, while the old village is steeped in mythology and rich High Country history. Tekapo is Maori for night sleeping place, and the lake itself boasts the clearest, darkest and most spectacular night sky in Aotearoa, ideal for a tramp up Mount John followed by a romantic twilight picnic. Thrill seekers are sure to cover more terrain by mountain biking or horse riding before revitalising body and soul in the nearby Alpine Springs Health Spa and Hot Pool. The Round Hill Ski Field and Winter Park are also a short drive from Peppers Bluewater Resort offering skiing, ice hockey, ice skating, even curling! Peppers Bluewater Resort is the perfect destination for relaxed weekend escapes or as a relished retreat after a hectic day of exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Bluewater Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.