We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon stay - Welcomed like Royalty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Bluewater Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Bluewater Resort to your Saves list
Peppers Bluewater Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Honeymoon stay - Welcomed like Royalty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

We returned to Peppers at Lake Tekapo on our Honeymoon since this was the site of my proposal - were pleasantly surprised by Peppers special treatment. They were aware this was my honeymoon stay & arranged for a special chocolate/cheese platter along with sparkling wine to welcome us & thank us for returning. When we ate at the restaurant that night, we were given a complimentary glass of wine as celebration. Service was excellent and the accommodation is still the best in Tekapo. Gorgeous views! We were even given the same room that we stayed in on our original engagement stay. Love this area of the world. Remember to visit St Johns Observatory if visiting!

Room Tip: Make sure to as for a room in the front row of the complex - this provides excellent views of the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    280
    208
    93
    75
See reviews for
172
504
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albury, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Cannot go wrong staying here if you are a couple, great modern rooms some with a beautiful view of lake tekapo. Didn't really suit us with a four month old, but that was no fault of the hotels, we should have done our research better. We stayed on the top floor, heaps of stairs, no microwave for sterilizing bottles, no basic kitchen facilities, washing Machine was miles away from our room and always in use. Again great place for a couple, restaurant very good!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

In the 3 nights my girlfriend and I stayed at Peppers Bluewater Resort we had both a deluxe and a ordinary hotel room. The deluxe room was really great, but due to availability and our budget we only stayed here for one night. The room was clean, tidy and it was hard to put a finger on anything. The staff were quick to replace the missing bathtub plug when we called to let them know.

The 2 remaining nights we stayed in a std. hotel room, and yes they are small. But if you take a look at the hotel website they do advertise it as being small. All in all the size did however not bother us in anyway.

The check in staff was very helpful and even though it is an old sales trick, it was nice to be offered the opportunity to check the rooms out before committing to anything.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Very small room, no space for suitcases. The bed was the worst, I could feel the springs in my back, very uncomfortable. Didn't get any sleep. Also noisy, cleaningstaff held meeting in front of our room at 7:30 in the morning. Take into account the bad reviews: they are true!

Room Tip: For lakeview: only a number of rooms have this. The rest is at the back, no view at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Part of Thomas Cook Tour - Room 824 - beautiful villa with kitchen, lounge, en-suite wet room and bath. Balcony overlooking the lake. Excellent views and location geared for family stay - another home from home. Would liked to have stayed another night. Small tour nearby with a few restaurants. Ideal place for relaxation. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

My partner and I recently stayed at Peppers Bluewater Resort. Out of all of the places we stayed whilst we were in the South Island, this would have to be the worst place for a sleep in. This was the most expensive accommodation that we had booked during our holiday in the South Island, so we had very high expectations. We stayed in one of the hotel rooms, and both of us got woken up every 5 minutes, from neighbours opening and closing doors. You'll be amazed how much noise comes out of these doors when situated right next to your room. There is absolutely no sound proofing in the place, so we could hear everything our neighbours were saying. And to be awoken at 5am from neighbours talking right outside your doorway was clearly not on. To make things worse we had the cleaners in straight after the neighbours had checked out at stupid o'clock, whom seemed like they were at a footy match yelling out across the other side of the field. At this point I had enough so I had to get out in my pjs and nicely ask them to tone it down. Trust me it's not a nice sight to see when I've been awoken. We clearly had a sign on our door that said "shh". Over all my partner and I generally don't complain or let things get to us, but this was one of the most unsettling places we stayed at. The rooms are tiny, however very modern. The shower, location and the cleaniliness was probably the only things we'd have to compliment. If you are planning on staying here, quickly change your plans, and pack a tent and stay at a campsite as you'll probaly get more of a quiet night sleep. Ok that's harsh, I advise you to take some ear plugs, trust me you'll be thankful with this advice.

Room Tip: take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I stayed at this hotel on 17 Nov 2011.

The lower advertised prices get you into the smallest room in the property. Each apartment is split into an "A" and "B" section. The "A" section has an ensuite bedroom and living room, while the "B" has an ensuite bedroom only - not even space for a chair!

On arrival I was encouraged to pay almost double the original price for the larger "A" section room. The reception staff were lovely, but it appeared a well worn 'up-sell' routine to offer me an inspection of the larger space.

Fortunately, I was travelling solo and just needed a place to rest for one night - but I think these "B" rooms would be unsuitable for a couple or for a longer stay.

The room itself was very clean and the bathroom has heated floors - so it was not uncomfortable - just tiny.

While in Lake Tekapo, make sure you eat at Kohan Restaurant (amazing Japanese) and visit the observatory on their Earth & Sky night tour.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Bluewater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Bluewater Resort

Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Bluewater Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking out to the breathtaking Lake Tekapo between Christchurch and Queenstown in New Zealand's South Island, Peppers Bluewater Resort offers architectural design reflective of the surrounding Mackenzie Basin landscape combined with exceptional facilities and services. Accommodation includes stylish studios, one, two and three bedroom luxury villas where the outdoors is portrayed indoors through a refreshing colour palette of turquoise-blue, red and beige. Each room features STD/ISD telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, air conditioning and complimentary grooming items. Simply unwind and breathe in the serene atmosphere of Peppers Bluewater Resort. Relax amongst the cosy sofa at Rakinui Lounge while enjoying a warming drink or light snack and for breakfast and dinner Rakinui Restaurant serves a diverse selection of international standard cuisine and favoured local delights accompanied with a breathtaking view across Lake Tekapo. Lake Tekapo provides excellent kayaking and rainbow and brown trout fishing, while the old village is steeped in mythology and rich High Country history. Tekapo is Maori for night sleeping place, and the lake itself boasts the clearest, darkest and most spectacular night sky in Aotearoa, ideal for a tramp up Mount John followed by a romantic twilight picnic. Thrill seekers are sure to cover more terrain by mountain biking or horse riding before revitalising body and soul in the nearby Alpine Springs Health Spa and Hot Pool. The Round Hill Ski Field and Winter Park are also a short drive from Peppers Bluewater Resort offering skiing, ice hockey, ice skating, even curling! Peppers Bluewater Resort is the perfect destination for relaxed weekend escapes or as a relished retreat after a hectic day of exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Peppers Bluewater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Bluewater Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Peppers Bluewater

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Bluewater Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.