We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget meal.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jade Palace

Jade Palace
Rt 8, Lake Tekapo 8770, New Zealand
03 680 6828
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 11 restaurants in Lake Tekapo
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Budget meal.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I just had chicken veg lunch box take away. To be honest, the food was quite below average, basic salt taste while large portions veg and chicken,which was quite worthy it for the nine dallars. If you just wanna make yourself full, it could be a good option. There are no complains for the taste. It's cheap anyway. I will visit everyday during my one week staying in tekapo.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

12% Recommend
    0
    6
    8
    10
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Generous Portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We decided to have a take away so we could enjoy the wonderful views from our motel room. We ordered 1 dish each and a rice dish. We received the food swiftly which was in the largest plastic tubs I have ever seen for a chinese takeaway. The food was very hot, tasty and had plenty of meat not all vegetables like some of the chinese resturants. The decor in the resturant seemed a bit tired and dated and was quite stuffy so I am glad that we had a take away. Why look at four walls when you are in such a beautiful area.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
1 review
“Authentic spicy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We didnot expect much on our food in this small town, but their spicy dishes really surprised us. we orderd four dishes steamed scampi which was very sweet and tasty, beef in spicy soup and hot and spicy chicken, the two dishes were authentic chuan style food, we highly recommend that, finally a noodle soup, that's a good portion in a big bowl. A good restaurant, spicy food lovers could not miss it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bad service and boring, unsavory food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here while we stayed in Tekapo. Wish I'd seen the reviews bedore having dinner here. Lousy service, fooc almost thrown on the table and quite tastless. Spend your money in a place with decent food!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Would NOT want to try again even it's free!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

During our recent trip to South Island, Tekapo was 1 of our many stops! We had dinner at this terrible restaurant, I never tasted food this bad in my life! Everything was so oily and disgusting, not to mention such a ripped off price! Canned foods taste a whole lot better than what they served at this place!
I wanted to kick myself so bad for making my family ate there!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jade Palace also viewed

Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
Lake Tekapo, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Jade Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jade Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.