We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort to your Saves list
Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Room was a little smaller than other motels we have had, all clean and comfortable though. Amazing view of the lake. However you had to shut the curtains for privacy eg getting changed which blocked out the natural light and view, ideally netting would be in place?! Sadly it was the noise from above that affected my stay, we could hear people going up and down the wooden stairs outside to the first floor, open and close the patio sliding door and their footsteps above us, all of which happened at our bed time and before our morning alarm. This is luck of the draw sometimes in terms of when people above you check in and out I realise, perhaps ask for a top floor room.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    140
    32
    4
    2
See reviews for
113
163
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a perfect view of the lake from our room. Great staff, who are good at keeping secrets! Our friends booked in to surprise us and they were given the room next door to us. Room was a great size for 2 adults and 1 child. Large bathroom with spa bath and separate shower. Plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. Recommend Mackenzie's for a great steak that you cook yourself on hot stone.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I stayed here for 1 night while driving from Christchurch to Queenstown. The gentleman owner was great approachable and very knowledgeable about activities and the area. The room was clean and and rather large. The bed was very comfy. Great views and once we closed the door we were not bothered by any outside noise. The locals are friendly we went to the stone grill a few doors up which was just sublime! There is also a rather cheap souvenir shop behind the stonegrill/pub which is great. We also went to the other pub down the other end everyone was very friendly and gave us heaps of advice on things to do and see. You must go to the hotpools just a 5 minute drive down the rd from the hotel you could walk if you really wanted.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed one night on our way south from Christchurch. The room was very nice with a beautiful view across the lake. The hotel is located close to the local attractions and there are a choice of places to eat within a very short walk. We received a warm and friendly welcome and the host gave us a number of great tips on what to do with the time we had in Tekapo. We would certainly stay here again if we ever return.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The resort had a million-dollar view of the lake with the waterfront park right at the doorstep. 10m away you have two restaurants and one serves great breakfast starting 7:30. There are souvenirs shops and many restaurants (try the Thai one) all within a cosy town that is only 200m long along the waterfront. We got probably the room nearest to the lake and woke up to a great view in the morning. The room size was spacious for 3 of us and had a fully equipped kitchen, with some cookies and beverage packs provided. It even came with outdoor furniture for you to lounge on your balcony. There are DVDs for loan (not rent) and it was great talking to the very friendly owner who briefed us one everything essential in L.T. Great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake-facing room :) Room 1 is the best. Also you may want to avoid a Level 1 room, as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we arrived we received an upgrade to a lake view apartment. What an amazing place. Very large room with full kitchen, dining table and separate bedroom.

However, we had the middle layer apartment and it is noisy when people are staying in the room above. You hear everyone walk around and water rush through the pipes.

The location is fantastic.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived late in the evening on a really cold night. Our room was cosy and warm with electric blankets and hot water bottles should you need them. We had requested a room with view of the church of the good shepherd and staff had allocated us a great room with amazing lake views. The level of cleanliness is fantastic. Great shower too.
The staff go out of their way to help you. A special thanks to Debbie who posted the jacket I left behind on to a forwarding hotel. It is not very often you find such service!


. The staff were really welcoming and our room was

Room Tip: Ask for room on 1st floor with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort

Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Scenic Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Lake Tekapo Scenic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.