We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort to your Saves list
Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We only stayed one night but this place is a gem. Wonderful scenery from our balcony, room was spotless and warm & our hosts Wayne & Debbie were so friendly & could not have been more helpful. Great place for a relaxing few days

Room Tip: Take the rooms with the great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    138
    31
    4
    2
See reviews for
113
160
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We arrived for a one night stay at the resort on 17 Aug and were greeted with beautiful sunshine and a lovely host. Our upstairs family unit was clean, cosy and blessed with uninterrupted views of the Lake surrounded by snow capped mountains. The night sky with the church nearby was a photographers dream and the sunrise was breathtaking. All seen from our balcony. Definitely recommend the place to anyone with kids. The free DVD collection worked wonders in keeping our son occupied while my wife and myself enjoyed a coffee on the balcony!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
137 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We booked a trip to Tekapo quite a long time in advance but accommodation options were already surprisingly limited. This place had rooms available and the main choice was whether to have a downstairs spa bath unit or upstairs for the view.

The way the weather worked out we were very glad to have chosen one of the upstairs rooms facing the lake. From the balcony the view goes from Mt John around to the Church Of The Good Shepherd, and it was a pretty good view when lying on the bed also!

Some prices in Tekapo are pretty steep and this must be about the best view you can get at the price for a self contained unit. Seemed to me they provided lots of value - a pack of two small biscuits, a small pack of tissues, plunger coffee, various plates/glasses/cups, Sky Movies & Sports 1 and 2, a jug that would actually fit under the tap in the bathroom (so many places get that wrong), 2 chairs on the balcony, and an ashtray for use on the balcony. And there was no problem with us checking out half an hour late (I had asked the previous day).

In the interests of balance there were some small downsides, although nothing bad considering the price/location/view. Location wise it's in the middle of things, so shops and lakefront area but with that comes people and some noise from time to time. Lack of a tap & small sink in the living area. The shower being one of those ones that is small and kind of triangular because the door sits across where one of the corners would otherwise be.

Recommended!

Room Tip: Get an upstairs lakeview room for sure.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My husband and I arrived into Christchurch at 530am (having already been awake since the morning previous and lack of sleep on the plane) and was making our way down to Queenstown by hired car. We choose to stop at Lake Tekapo to break up the drive on our first day and most importantly, catch up on some sleep!

We stayed at the Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort for one night on the 31/7 and it was fantastic. We had a studio upstairs room directly looking out to the lake and snow capped mountains. It was amazing. What you see and read of the room is what you get. Clean, comfy and warm! Tea and coffee is available in the room. Highly recommended as a place to stop and stay. Wifi was available with codes provided upon check in. Enough for us to keep everyone updated!

Lake Tekapo is only small but just around the corner is the supermarket, bakery, coffee shop, info centre and few restaurants to choose from and of course, service station to top up on fuel!

A good way to relax and enjoy - head to the Tekapo Springs (hot pools, sauna and steam room) and spend the morning/afternoon there. Short drive to the Observation is also recommend - on a beautiful day, you have amazing views! Enjoy a coffee up there also! Mt Cook is an hour drive away (we stopped at Mt Cook on our way back to Christchurch for 2 nights) and have easy short walks or the longer walks! We ended up driving to Lake Tekapo from Mt Cook as we had bad weather and was not able to do any walks and headed back late afternoon!

For what we paid, we were definitely happy with it and would stay here again on our next trip to the South Island. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Cant remember the room number but it was an upstairs studio directly opposite the reception and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We visited Lake Tekapo during our NZ trip last November and stayed in this hotel for a night. The hotel was quite easy to locate and the reception was quite friendly.
The rooms are very neat and tidy and had a good sized bathroom. There was no kitchen facilities but there was a microwave in the room. The best part of the stay was the amazing scenic views just at the door step. All the rooms in the hotel have breathtaking views of the lake and the church but recommend the first floor rooms. Nothing compares to waking up in the morning to the amazing view. This was one of our best hotel stays in NZ and greatly recommend this hotel for a romantic holiday.

Room Tip: Take the room on the first floor for an amazing view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This hotel is one of the best in Lake Tekapo with its breathtaking views from the balcony of the room and also the friendly staff - Wyane who recommended good food and activities to keep us occupied during our stay.. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We arrived late in the evening after a great drive from Queenstown to a friendly welcome at the reception. The rooms have been recently renovated and are fantastic inside. We only had a standard room but this included a good sized spa. The room is well done and has everything you need minus a kitchen.

The location couldnt get better at Lake Tekapo. It was right on the edge of the park and the lake. It has the little church just to the right and the great attraction that is the Hot Springs pools just up to the left. Across the lake from the room there is a nice mountain range that was snow capped when we were there in june.

The price was reasonable for the quality of the room and the location. We would definately stay there again. We only had one night and would have loved at least one more.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort

Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Scenic Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Lake Tekapo Scenic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.