We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay at the scenic resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort to your Saves list
Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Montreal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good stay at the scenic resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

My wife and I spent a night at Lake Tekapo scenic resort as part of a one month trip in Australia and New Zealand. We did stay in a downstair studio. The room was spacious and clean. The site is wonderful. it is just in front of the beautiful lake tekapo. The buildoing is well located and very close from all services.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    140
    31
    4
    2
See reviews for
113
162
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Only had one night here, but had a lovely room with balcony offering extensive views along the Lake from Mount John to the Church of the Good Shepherd. Friendly check-in and beautifully clean. All the restaurants, shops, etc, are within 5/10 minutes walk. The only thing I found a little misleading was the name: "Scenic Resort", which conjured up pictures of a more isolated location - this accommodation is conveniently situated in the middle of the town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed for one night in the deluxe room facing the lake. Reception lady is very friendly and helpful. The room is clean and the balcony has sitting area for us to enjoy. The only disappointment is poor sound proof room we have. Internet is restricted to 50 mb complimentary. It is centrally located.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The resort is located by the Tekapo lake and many shops are surrounded..The serenity of the lake captured us.The room is clean and the kitchen is well equipped with utensils and cutlery..The highlight of the resort is the beautiful Tekapo lake.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

First of all, the kitchens were filthy. They were only cleaned once a day and it shows. I would have to wash other people's dirty dishes to be able to cook. Reception was not the friendliest. At 10am you must check out and leave the facilities. You cannot sit in the lounge and wait for your bus or even use the toilet. There is no free internet and the internet they offer is extremely expensive for just a few MB. Although it is only a 1 minute walk from the intercity bus stop, most of the hostels are as well. I was eating breakfast at 10:05 in the lounge and was literally kicked out of the hostel. I had checked out but I had my bags with me. I have never been treated so badly as a paying customer. I wasn't even asked if I enjoyed my stay. Worst hostel experience in NZ and I've been traveling for 10 months.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolllongong
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Had been to Tekapo before and knew to stay somewhere Lake front - this resort is ideal as it is small and comfortable right on the lake front. Very quiet and a perfect stay if, as we were, you are driving down from Christchurch toward Wanaka/Queenstown. Right beside all the shops/garage etc for a stop over and would highly recommend staying

Room Tip: Second (top) floor facing the lake is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on our way to Queenstown. Check in was good, friendly and really quick. Booked an upstairs unit with balcony. The view is just amazing, it's sooo beautiful.
The location is right in the middle of everything, near from the bakery and restaurants for just 3 minutes walk.
The room itself was not new but it nicely refurbished and of course immaculately clean. Everything is just perfect. The bed was comfortable and warm. There's also microwave and plate and so on so it just great if you want to make easy food.
Needless to say this place is just amazing and definitely would come back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Upstairs room so you get the best lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort

Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Scenic Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Lake Tekapo Scenic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.