We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, not too clean and a little overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Lake Tekapo
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great view, not too clean and a little overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed here for one night during our tour of NZ, stayed in the family spa room which is on the ground floor in corner at the back with a nice view of the lake.

Service was ok, no complaints and we checked straight in even though we were there before 3pm (it was about 2pm if I remember correctly.

The room was nice enough but was the least clean of all the places we stayed in NZ. The main issue I had was above the main entrance door was a large spider's web and actually the spider was still there inside. It wasn't huge or anything and wasn't causing any harm, but it looked like it has been there for quite a while, surely one of the cleaners should have spotted this?

The bedrooms were fine, the single beds weren't particularly comfortable but were good enough and the kitchenette had everything we needed to cook food for a young child.

In terms of value, I think the room was overpriced. I realise that lake tekapo is popular but we paid $195 for the night and it was the most expensive place we stayed in NZ, including a stay at the copthorne hotel in Wellington. We chose the hotel because of the good reviews here on tripadvisor but looking around the tekapo township there looked to be a lot of other options which are cheaper. I don't know about price, but the peppers resort looked much nicer from the outside.

Overall, not bad and certainly wouldn't tell anyone not to stay here, but would probably stay somewhere else if we ever went back to Tekapo.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Y, Owner at Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and taking the time to review your experience which we find most helpful .
I must apologise for the cobweb found in your room, an oversight which we will certainly address. We do have cleaning guidelines, and checking procedures, however we will review these, and encourage more attention to detail.
Our single beds have been replaced earlier this year, and are quite firm for good support. However we will consider adding a topper for increased comfort levels.
I regret you found our rates expensive. We are very competitively priced for Lake Tekapo accommodation and the services we provide; our very high occupancy supports this. Our rates on all room types are clearly provided at reservation.
Thank you again for staying with us, I hope you enjoyed your New Zealand holiday, and that we may have the opportunity to host your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    125
    30
    4
    0
See reviews for
96
140
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

It has the best view of the lake and mountain! you will certainly enjoy the sunset and sunrise from your room. Was lying on the bed with my baby girl and enjoying the best moment of the holiday. The room is well maintained. The hotel owners are very friendly, they are certainly pride of the resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This little hotel is just amazing, right on the lake with amazing veiws, clean, neat, rooms with updated decor. The owners are lovely, check in was easy and nothing seemed to hard for them.
Right near the shopping district, close to eatery's, the pub, mini golf, and the walk to the church. We loved this place would go back in a flash.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

It's possible to see pretty well everything in and around Tekapo quite quickly but staying allows a chance to feast on that wonderful lake and its remarkable blue colour over a day. The motel is great for an overnight stay. Clean and good value

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Even though the rooms were a little small and the shower was very small, these were balanced out by the fact the rooms look out onto the lake and over to the church. While we were there we had a wonderful snow storm to make the setting picture perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort was a fabulous place for us to stay while there - they have affordable rooms with plenty of space and amenities you would need while travelling. Friendly, helpful staff and so much to do.

Room Tip: the motel units on the lake side are ideal, but every room has a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The room is very clean and the owner is very helpful. The two bedroom unit is not very big, but it can accommodate 5 people without any problem. At the balcony, you can see the beautiful lake, snow mountain, with moon or sun rise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort

Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort 4*
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Scenic Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Lake Tekapo Scenic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort to your Saves list