We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort to your Saves list
Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

For NZ$150, it was the most expensive night of our 8 day Christchurch-Queenstown tour but it was well worth every dollar. We got the upper flour studio and the views of the lake and mountains were absolutely breathtaking. Don't be mistaken by the seemingly dated exterior of the resort, the rooms are modern, clean and well-equipped and is on par or even better than your four star hotels. There is even a large balcony for you to enjoy the view while sipping a cup of coffee. Queen sized bed was large, clean and comfortable. Heaters in the room and the bathroom (well appreciated since it can get quite cold at night). Room was spotless, there was ample tea and coffee provided. TV was equipped with Sky and there was even a ceiling fan for those feeling the heat in the summer. Not to mention, the innkeepers were friendly and helpful in introducing the facilities of our room, Lake Tekapo and pointing out directions for us on our day of departure. There was also free onsite parking. Only small blip was the bird poo on my chair in the balcony, but I guess that's part and parcel of resort living!

Kudos to the resort for our memorable stay at Lake Tekapo! Will definitely return again!

Room Tip: Request for upper floors for a better view, although the lower floors are just as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    140
    31
    4
    2
See reviews for
113
162
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This review is a little late in coming, stayed here twice - on 4th of Sept and then again on the 13th..fantastic location and excellent rooms, bright, clean and airy. Our family of 4 fit in beautifully in room 4 and the spectacular view of the lake made the stay really memorable.
A special mention about Judy - our hostess , extremely friendly and helpful (weather/ chopper rides etc). My kids loved the DVD collection.

All in all totally worth it.

Room Tip: Family Room 4 has 2 access french windows, makes an excellent viewing point esp in the morning with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed 1 night enroute from Queenstown to Christchurch. We had a well appointed studio spa room overlooking the lake. The studio was well appointed and comfortable. It was also very clean. We were personally shown to our studio and given some very good advice for sightseeing during our short stay. Tekapo Scenic Resort is in the centre of town down a driveway between some shops. It was quiet and tranquil and would not hesitate in recommending it to travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We are a family of 3 travelling NZ. Enjoyed our stay at Lake Tekapo, our view was directly over the lake and Alps. Room slightly too small for 3 of us, but as we were only staying 2 nights it didn't really matter. An easy walk to the hot springs and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort for one night.

It is located right on the lake. We were in an upstairs studio so we loved the views. Very clean and tidy and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The resort is only a stones throw from the restaurants in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

A clean and well furnished unit with breathtaking views of the mountain and lake! What else could we ask for? We love our stay and reluctant to leave.

1) The unit is not very big but clean and comfortable
2) Self contained, modern furnishing
3) Comfortable bed
4) Good location
5) Upstairs executive family unit, superb lake views
6) Modern facilities, e.g. free WiFi (limited to 50mb), TV
7) Hospitable staff, very friendly and helpful
8) Good size bathroom, separate shower, very clean
9) Kitchen
10) Proper car park

Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort is well located by the lake and walking distance to shops, restaurants and post office. Kohan, a Japanese restaurant, 5 mins walk from the resort, offers excellent food, yum!

Room Tip: Pick the upstairs Executive Family unit, the best unit of the property. Offers the best view of Lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Friendly staff, clean tidy rooms, well maintained, no restaurant/café but plenty of choice within walking distance. Most people stay only 1-2 nights as they are passing through. There are laundry facilities at a reasonable price

Room Tip: Great views from lakeside apartments, but those hind also have reasonable views - we stayed in both
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort

Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Scenic Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Lake Tekapo Scenic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.