We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Lake Tekapo
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort for one night.

It is located right on the lake. We were in an upstairs studio so we loved the views. Very clean and tidy and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The resort is only a stones throw from the restaurants in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    125
    30
    4
    0
See reviews for
96
139
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

A clean and well furnished unit with breathtaking views of the mountain and lake! What else could we ask for? We love our stay and reluctant to leave.

1) The unit is not very big but clean and comfortable
2) Self contained, modern furnishing
3) Comfortable bed
4) Good location
5) Upstairs executive family unit, superb lake views
6) Modern facilities, e.g. free WiFi (limited to 50mb), TV
7) Hospitable staff, very friendly and helpful
8) Good size bathroom, separate shower, very clean
9) Kitchen
10) Proper car park

Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort is well located by the lake and walking distance to shops, restaurants and post office. Kohan, a Japanese restaurant, 5 mins walk from the resort, offers excellent food, yum!

Room Tip: Pick the upstairs Executive Family unit, the best unit of the property. Offers the best view of Lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Friendly staff, clean tidy rooms, well maintained, no restaurant/café but plenty of choice within walking distance. Most people stay only 1-2 nights as they are passing through. There are laundry facilities at a reasonable price

Room Tip: Great views from lakeside apartments, but those hind also have reasonable views - we stayed in both
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurtulla
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We looked for a room on a whim and found that there was one and it was priced very well. The staff couldn't do enough to help even though we were there only a couple of days. Very impressed and the rooms were clean and functional.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

How to go?
It is about less than 3 hours drive from Christchurch Airport.

Room:
I stayed at their Studio Spa Downstairs. The hotel has two blocks and each has two storey. The room I gotten is first floor and it is facing the extremely beautiful Lake Tekapo! It is very near to the car park. The room is not very big but cozy enough. Sliding the balcony glass door which is also the main entrance, you are greeted by a queen size bed. Beyond it is a small table and a sofa bed. Opposite the bed is a wall mounted LCD TV and cupboard that house a mini fridge. On the wall is also a mounted mirror. There is no wardrobe but a standing clothes rack hiding in the corner. Right outside the room is a small decking area where there are chairs for you to chill out. The bed is cozy, big and comfortable. The pillows are ok too. There is no complementary bottle waters or papers. However, there is free wifi in the room but is limited to certain MB per day.

Bathroom:
The bathroom is of good size! There is a bathtub and a standing shower area. Amenities are pretty bare.

Services:
I believe this is a family own business? So dun expect any 5 stars hotel treatment such as porters helping with the baggage. Check in and check out is pretty quick as there is no one checking in at the same time. The lady at the counter is very friendly. She shows us to the room and describe the surrounding area to us. Like where to eat and what shops are there. Very good!

Hotel:
The location of the hotel is very good! It has the nicest spot at Lake Tekapo! You can view the mountains just inside your room and just a few steps away from the lake. It is walking distance to many shops and eateries! You can have your meal at the restaurant just next to the hotel. A little short drive brings you to two immediate tourists spots - Church of the Good Shepherd and and Mount John University Observatory. Church of the Good Shepherd can be reached by about 15 mins walking too. Driving takes less than 1 min. Mount John is slightly further and up hill which is about 25 mins drive. For eating, a nice Japanese restaurant is just round the corner.

Verdict:
Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort is what the name says - Scenic! This is the place to stay to enjoy the breathtaking views of Mount John and the rest. Shopping and eateries are all located within walking distances. Very recommended!

Room Tip: Facing the lake and downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mooloolaba
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Fantastic place on the lake. We were travelling with our small child and the manager couldn't do enough to help us. Brilliant service, great location and really good value. Accommodation was very clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Resort from August 17th for 5 nights for our planned holiday and right from the time of check-in were well looked after...just as my research had lead me to believe we would be! We had booked an upstairs studio room which was comfortable, clean and well serviced every day. Beautiful views from the balcony over the lake. Manager Don was not only welcoming and helpful with advice but on the first night when most of Tekapo (including our room) experienced a huge power-cut, he went over-and-above the call of duty in ensuring we were not only kept up-to-speed on the outage situation but had power/heating/lights for as long as we could on this cold evening by carrying the lights, powerboard and heater up to us & providing an extension cord to use with them with.
It was great to stay in accommodation & be in such close proximity to all the amenities in the village - restaurants, etc and yet have such a quiet, restful unit to relax in.
I have stayed in Hotels all over the country in my job role in the last 10 years (including others in Tekapo!) and have not often found many that can tick all the boxes for me. Therefore I cannot recommend Scenic resort highly enough. Thanks Don for a great stay!

Room Tip: Upstairs Studio rooms have great views over Lake Tekapo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort

Address: State Highway 8, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort 4*
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Scenic Hotel Lake Tekapo
Hotel Lake Tekapo Scenic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lake Tekapo Scenic Resort to your Saves list