We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alpine Cottage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Vista Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Alpine Vista Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Alpine Vista Bed & Breakfast
12 Hamilton Drive, Lake Tekapo | PO Box 1, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Alpine Cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our second time staying here at this beautiful cottage. Our first trip was in Dec 2010 and we had been thinking and talking about the cottage ever since, so we made a trip back! The 3 bedroom cottage is really comfortable and cosy, with a well equipped kitchen that opens out to the marvellous mountain views. We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    23
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
90
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed in the spacious 3 bedroom cottage for one night wish we could have stayed longer! Very well furnished/equipped (also has wi-fi), great lay out and spotlessly clean. Peter and Jill were very friendly and helpful. Would love to see more of the beautiful Lake Tekapo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A great place to stay, the rooms very comfortable and the hosts very genial, lovely to share a drink with them before going out to eat, they gave great advice of where to eat. Breakfast very yummy. Fantastic views of the snowy mountains from the front rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was all booked last minute and the result was that we missed out on the two rooms with views. The Cass room was relatively small with two single beds, but apparently we had the best bathroom. Jane made us feel welcome and it was a comfortable stay. Taking her advice we made Mt John observatory our first stop for stunning views of the unbelievably blue waters of the lake. Peter and Jane invited us to join them and another couple for drinks and nibbles before we set off for dinner at their recommended restaurant: Kohan. This was very good and, when time permits, will get a positive TA rating from us. Our refreshment amenities were available outside the bedroom in an alcove on the landing, which felt like a minor privacy compromise but it worked. Whilst we enjoyed Jane's continental breakfast, Peter offered us good itinerary advice for the day ahead.

Room Tip: Cass room tight for space
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My friends and I stayed at Alphine Vista B & B for only one night. It was really a great experience. The place is more like a home than a place for tourists. When we got there, the host has already prepared everything for us: well equipped and spot clean rooms, beautiful bed sheets, speedy WIFI, and a local map with all key information marked. If I would come to lake Tekapo again, this place would definitely on my priority list.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights for a weekend away from Christchurch. The room was excellent with a comfortable bed and good en suite. Towels were kindly provided for the nearby hot pools and fresh cakes and buscuits were provided daily. Breakfast was delicious and catered well to our needs, and our hosts provided excellent information about where best to eat evening meals and what to do in the surrounding area. Tekapo itself is well worth a visit and the Air Safari, and stargazing tour of the Mt John observatory are well worth the price. No problems with the internet as in the previous review.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband and i stayed at Alpine Vista B&B while on our honeymoon in September 2011. The place itself is lovely, the rooms are well appointed and clean. Our hosts were very welcoming and friendly and offered advice on what to see and do. Breakfast was also delicious. Only place to stay in Lake Tekapo!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Vista Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Vista Bed & Breakfast

Address: 12 Hamilton Drive, Lake Tekapo | PO Box 1, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine Vista B&B and Alpine Cottage offers the option of Bed & Breakfast accommodation or self catering in our Alpine Cottage. This property is independently assessed as a Qualmark 4 Star Plus property. This means that guests will be guaranteed a high level of service and facilities. Alpine Vista has 3 guest rooms all with en suites. Alpine Cottage is a full 3 bed roomed house located adjacent to Alpine Vista and is ideal for families or couples travelling together. Alpine Vista is located in the quiet Lake view Heights area and is a 5 minute walk to the lake and 10 minutes into the Village Center. Lake Tekapo is only a small town but has lots to offer therefore consider staying longer to enjoy the experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Alpine Vista Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Vista Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.