We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tailor-Made-Tekapo Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tailor-Made-Tekapo Backpackers to your Saves list
Tailor-Made-Tekapo Backpackers
Lake Tekapo village | 9-11 Aorangi Crescent, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

It's the best hostel we've stayed during our NZ trip. It was walking distance to everything (though tekapo is a small town). Room was not big but enough for 2. Staffs are great. Sufficient bathroom and toilet and they were all very clean. Nice environment and nice people stay there. Overall is good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmav_13, Owner at Tailor-Made-Tekapo Backpackers, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your review - and compliment. Yes, we have great staff - they are passionate about making everyone feel at home. I am glad you noticed that and we hope to see you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    60
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
46
25
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I've stayed twice since last winter and both times were great! The rooms have comfortable beds, the kitchen is big and well equipped, the living area is warm and cozy with a fireplace and lot of board games. The showers and toilets are also very nice and clean. It's a beautiful hostel and the staff is really friendly and helpful. Definitely the place to stay if you are visiting Lake Tekapo!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmav_13, Owner at Tailor-Made-Tekapo Backpackers, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
The best compliment for us, is a returning guest - so thank you very much for staying with us twice and taking your time to write a review. We will keep up the good work! Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I stayed for one night, superb value for money. Very quiet location with beautiful gardens and free tennis courts. Its not even 5 minutes walk to the town centre. The staff showed me on a map great places to go star gazing and were really helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmav_13, Owner at Tailor-Made-Tekapo Backpackers, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hi Richard, thank you for your positive review. The stargazing is becoming very popular here in Lake Tekapo - whether or not you take a tour or look up to the sky at night from anywhere in the village. Even Tekaponians do not tire of this beautiful night sky - you should consider changing the bright lights of Auckland for the stars in Lake Tekapo :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Great place to stay, lovely spacious and well kept grounds, I liked that it was away rrom the hussle of the town area, but only 5 mins walk from it. Clean, well appointed kitchen and my room, with ensuite was great! Friendly and helpful staff...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmav_13, Owner at Tailor-Made-Tekapo Backpackers, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hi Roger,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hostel. It means a lot to us when guests feel happy about the place. We hope to have you back in the not-too-distant-a-future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This place was great - we stayed in a double room with ensuite, which was surprisingly big and very comfy. The communal area is cosy and the kitchen is well stocked (it can get quite busy, but it wasn't hard to adjust your timings to use it when it was quieter). Staff were very friendly and helpful, and run a great hostel which accommodates all kinds of people and ages. Good wifi too at a decent price ($5 over 24hrs). Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmav_13, Owner at Tailor-Made-Tekapo Backpackers, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We agree with you, it is so nice to have a hostel that appeals to a great range of people and nationalities: young independent travellers, families and mature independent travellers. This is reflected in the atmosphere in the common room and everyone gets on. Loving it. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The hostel is situated a bit off the main street and therefore quiet, as long as you remind your neighbours of having their conversations in the common room. Our room was small but we've seen smaller ones, and it was clean – the kitchen didn't leave a well-maintained impression though. The staff was friendly and helpful. Staying here for one night was okay – 75 NZ$ for a double room with shared bathroom seemed a bit too expensive though after having whole units with bathrooms and kitchens on the North Island for the same price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmav_13, Owner at Tailor-Made-Tekapo Backpackers, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
I am sorry you experienced your stay as only average. Unfortunately, in the South Island we do have different cost aspects - Christchurch has huge insurance costs, Mt Cook has National Park fees and we have an enormous electricity bill here in Lake Tekapo. Therefore it is hard to compare prices of one hostel with another hostel. We think that we do value for money very well for Lake Tekapo standards - and who does not love Lake Tekapo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This hostel is spread over three separate buildings, meaning that there can be a lot of people staying without it seeming crowded. However, this also means that the kitchen and bathrooms/showers can get quite busy. But if you plan your day for this, it isn't a big deal to avoid. Location is great, just off the main road but very walkable to everything in town. Very friendly lady at check-in. My room had its own adjustable heater so I stayed warm even though it got below freezing at night. It can be a bit loud since it is located in older buildings, but the hostel has plenty of signs that ask people to be quiet between 10pm-7pm, and people seemed to respect it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmav_13, Owner at Tailor-Made-Tekapo Backpackers, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Hi Laura,
Thank you very much for your review. You are right, when the hostel is full, it can be a bit busy - but it is very easy to avoid peak hours in the kitchen. We're glad you managed to stay warm. Tekapo is as much a winter-resort as it is a summer-resort. Winter is special with snow and ice, but it is our business that you stay warm and I am glad we achieved that. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tailor-Made-Tekapo Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tailor-Made-Tekapo Backpackers

Address: Lake Tekapo village | 9-11 Aorangi Crescent, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a quiet corner of the village and set in a beautiful garden, we are only 300 metres from the bus-stop and the Village shops. Lake Tekapo is half-way between Christchurch and Queenstown/Wanaka (all less than 3 hours away) and we are only just over one hour from Aoraki / Mt Cook. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tailor-Made-Tekapo Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tailor-Made-Tekapo Backpackers Hotel Lake Tekapo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tailor-Made-Tekapo Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.