We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs up for the Chalet and Lake Tekapo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chalet Boutique Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chalet Boutique Motel
Save
You added The Chalet Boutique Motel to your Saves list
14 Pioneer Drive, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Thumbs up for the Chalet and Lake Tekapo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed at this private lovely Henkel Hut for 2 nights (wish we could have made this place a permanent stay). The hut was spacious, cosy and offers a charming view of Lake Tekapo. The host, Zita is very friendly and made us feel welcome. Also, the Chalet is near the Church, restaurants and a mini supermarket - less than a 5 minutes drive.

Lake Tekapo was truly gorgeous and you could also drive to Mt John or Mt Cook as a day trip. Highly recommend the Chalet to everyone, it will definitely make your trip a memorable one. We can't wait to be back to catch the Milky way and stars gazing!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
112
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We (2 adults, 1 infant) have spent here 3 wonderful days. The accommodation is absolutely spic and span, rooms are spacious and the owners are very helpful. The king sized bed is very comfortable as well as the couch in the living room. We found it one of the best accommodations during our NZ journey

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We arrived early evening at the Chalet after having driven from Arthur's Pass and making lots of stops along the way to go hiking and see the sights. The sun was just beginning to set across the lake as we arrived. What an amazing view!!!

Zita welcomed us to the Chalet and showed us our room. It was lovely. We were on the ground level with a view of the lake and a place to sit inside or outside with a view. The kitchen was nicely furnished and so well set up.

We went for a walk along the lake before cooking dinner and enjoyed the view of the mountains across the lake. We were sad that we were only going to be there for one night. There were lots of birds out on the lake and we lingered until after sunset watching the colors in the sky and the birds.

We prepared our dinner and enjoyed eating at the Chalet. It would have been very easy to stay there for a week and enjoy the sights.

In the morning we met Walter and learned more about the Chalet and how they had arrived there. We went for a walk up Mt. John and also saw the historical church just down the street.

The location of the Chalet is hard to beat. It is right on the water with incredible views. The historical church and Mt. John are a very short walk. If you are not cooking for yourself, the town center isn't more than a 10 minute walk.

We enjoyed our short stay and would love to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Henkel Hut for 2 nights. The views of Lake Tekapo from the Hut were amazing. The big green grass patch just in front of the Hut, followed by the vast expanse of sapphire blue water in Lake Tekapo and then the snow-capped mountains in the distance made for a truly idyllic experience. The Hut itself was private, cosy and comfortable, with a wood fireplace and a kitchenette. Location-wise, it was about a 5 to 10-minute walk to the village where the restaurants and shops are. It was truly a gem! We could not have asked for a better place from which to enjoy Lake Tekapo and its surroundings.

Room Tip: The Henkel Hut is private, cosy and has incredible views of Lake Tekapo. We definitely recommend cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We were lucky enough to get a room last minute (Feb 2014) in this super motel.
The room was lovely - really well equipped with everything you could require.The view of the lake and the flowers in the garden from the terrace was beautiful and the starry night sky really clear and truely breathtaking. Zita and her husband were very friendly and helpful and arranged a stunning (and discounted!) 'Grand Traverse' plane trip at very short notice. Would have loved to stay longer!!

Room Tip: Suspect all would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

A fantastic place to stay, in a great location, the views simply amazing and Zita the host felt like family after just 5 minutes. Unit 2 was extreamly clean and priced perfectly! We will be back and can highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Swiss German Zita was a lovely host. We had a bottom apartment style room that looked right out on the lake. There was a glass sliding door that opened up to a Terrace that overlooks the lake. You can sit there at the table and chairs and enjoy the view! Also, there's a full kitchen and free laundry down the hall from the room. You can park in the lot. It's about a 5 to 10 minute walk from downtown which you can walk along the Lakeside to get to, walking by the famous church. Also, we recommend going up Mount John to see the view of the area. It's priceless.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chalet Boutique Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet Boutique Motel

Address: 14 Pioneer Drive, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Chalet Boutique Hotel Lake Tekapo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chalet Boutique Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.