We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely accommodation and view of the lake!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chalet Boutique Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chalet Boutique Motel
Save
You added The Chalet Boutique Motel to your Saves list
14 Pioneer Drive, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“lovely accommodation and view of the lake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Swiss German Zita was a lovely host. We had a bottom apartment style room that looked right out on the lake. There was a glass sliding door that opened up to a Terrace that overlooks the lake. You can sit there at the table and chairs and enjoy the view! Also, there's a full kitchen and free laundry down the hall from the room. You can park in the lot. It's about a 5 to 10 minute walk from downtown which you can walk along the Lakeside to get to, walking by the famous church. Also, we recommend going up Mount John to see the view of the area. It's priceless.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    19
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
122
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

It was such a treat to stay in this lovely chalet. Great hosts, lovely accommodation in unit 1 for three nights - very quiet, private, clean, and so warm and cosy. Spacious unit with everything we needed. It was the perfect place for us to unwind and relax - we loved sitting inside or outside enjoying the views of lake and mountains and it was fascinating watching the weather change around them. Stunning scenery all around and awesome night sky (no street lights in front of chalet). We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Zita and Walter are fantastic, warm hosts. We are staying int he Henkel Hut, after one night in another unit (as Henkel not available, and that unit was lovely too). Their Swiss sensibility ensures warm units, double glazing, nice decor and well appointed units. Th
This place and W&Z deserve all the wonderful reviews. We will be back (to see the night sky as too cloudy this trip).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Walter was not only the most friendly host we ever met, he was also the most helpful. Beautiful chalet recently refurnished, just steps away from shops and the church. Being dazzled by the Milky Way on the grass of the private garden was a highlight of our trip. Tekapo is a special place, and The Chalet is the place to stay!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I stayed in Unit 6 over the Christmas time of 2013 for 3 nights. This is the most beautiful place to stay and I am so glad to find and stay here.

I checked in on Christmas Eve. Walter anticipated my concern about restaurants being closed on Christmas Day and he readily shared which restaurant is opened on Christmas day. It is so thoughtful of them to anticipate the need and readily provide information that assures travellers.

I was so pleasantly surprised by the nicely decorated room when Walter showed me the apartment! It is one of the most beautiful and comfortable place.

It has the best location in Lake Tekapo, being nearest to the lake. With no street lamps nearby, it is also great for star-gazing.

I will very much like to go back to Lake Tekapo again just to stay here and gladly recommend this great place to all my friends.

Thanks Zita, Walter and everyone at The Chalet!

Room Tip: Unit 6 is great for 2 or solo travellers. It has a nice lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed in Unit 4 on ground floor where we could park right outside our door. Comfortable king bed, fully equipped kitchen, and a nice spacious heated bathroom although the shower stall had a navy curtain and was really dark inside. Free laundry was a huge bonus after traveling for a few days - someone had also so kindly folded all our laundry when we were out! There is a big cherry tree in the yard that you could pick and eat. A quick 2-minute walk to the Church of the Good Shepard. Very friendly and helpful staff. We stayed 1 night and paid NZD210 which was fairly reasonable for lake-front although a continental breakfast would have been nice!
Others:
We had dinner at Kohan japanese restaurant and highly recommend it!
We played 9 holes at The Cairns, a brand new golf course managed by Andrew. Only $20 and you can borrow clubs for additional. Nice views!
Tax is already included in all prices.

Room Tip: We had Unit 4 on ground floor where we could park right outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Paul Carberry at New Zealand in Depth was asked to book us a self-catering unit in Tekapo where we could relax as part of our 54 day discovery of New Zealand. Although we wanted to visit St. Johns Observatory we also wanted to recharge the batteries. Well the Chalet was the answer, what can I say, sensational, mind-blowing, on the front of the lake with views to die for, that are ever changing, every ten minutes with the weather repainting the landscape in a different way. The Chalet has everything you could want in your own home to make it comfortable, practicable and every gadget in the kitchen you could need or think of.
Wonderful welcome, great brief of what was where and a laundry room to catch up on that every increasing washing mountain, at no extra cost! All the odds & ends beyond the usual tea & coffee, condiments and cooking oil which you always run out of.
We had sun, snow and gale force winds and it was so snug and comfortable, next time it has to be a week minimum, a couple of days can’t do it justice! We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chalet Boutique Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet Boutique Motel

Address: 14 Pioneer Drive, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Chalet Boutique Hotel Lake Tekapo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chalet Boutique Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.