We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Class Above” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chalet Boutique Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chalet Boutique Motel
Save
You added The Chalet Boutique Motel to your Saves list
14 Pioneer Drive, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Shardlow, null, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A Class Above”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We only stayed one night at the 'Chalet', we wish it could have been more. On our arrival we was met by Zita, the owner. What a lovely person & a real charactor. She made us so welcome with her friendly chat and a mine of information. In conversation, I mentioned that I would like to take photos of the night sky & in no time at all, she had arranged an Astro Photography session with a local expert, which turned out to be one of the highlights of my NZ visit and I have some fantastic photos as a result. My wife jokingly mentioned I had forgotten to buy her an Easter Egg, within 10 seconds flat Zita had produced a dozen mini eggs and I had one happy wife. It's thing like this which make an impression. Now onto the accommodation, in a word, fantastic. We have been in NZ for 5 months and used lots of Motels, this is the best of the lot, can I say more. It's location is perfect at the side of the lake, 2 minutes walk from the famous 'Church of the Good Shepherd' and the Dog Sculpture. If you stay in Lake Tekapo, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
112
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Lake Tekapo late in the day and just loved it so decided to stay. Thanks to Tripadvisor reviews we stopped at The Chalet, and Zita could not have been more helpful. I can honestly say that our stay here was the most memorable of our entire trip in NZ. The room had everything you'd expect of a good room in NZ, comfy bed, clean bathroom, good kitchen facilities. What made it special was Zita's advice, the guide to the stars (absolutely loved our hour spent on the front lawn with the star map, a torch and a bottle of red wine!!), and the wonderful location. The only disappointment was that we couldn't stay longer. We will definitely be back!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I Stayed for two nights in unit 4, the room was very good and comfortable.
Zita was very welcoming and very informative about the area .
Zita is clearly proud of her establishment and very keen to highlight the area, which we were grateful for.
Internet is very good. No problems and worked well.
Would highly recommend staying here .

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We arrived earlier than expected, we were however welcomed in the best way having a small discussion. Zita, the chief, showed great interest about nearby activities and then she also realised that our tour was messed up from the agency, so she just took over the phone and managed to help us get an additional day for whale watching and without her help we could never have done it. Even the gesture and her interest were so touching. The apartment we got was simply stunning....lake view, great furniture, full equipped kitchen. her attention to detail is great she showed us personally the room ...so beautifully arranged...we hope to be in the lake next year and visit le chalet once again...definitely a reason to stay!! hugz from michel n sven

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a double bedroomed suite with a lovely view over the lake. A short walk from restaurants, supermarkets and take-aways.

This is spacious, clean and comfortable self catering accomodation. Does exactly what it says on the tin at a very affordable price.

My only complaint was that the wifi connection was weak and often failed; Walter knows about it and I hope is working on it - it is easy and inexpensive to fix!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stopped at the Chalet Boutique Motel in The Cottage (Unit 5), for 5 nights arriving on 2 March.

We have been in New Zealand for 5 weeks and have stopped at some top class accommodation but the Cottage was by far the best so far.

Zita and Walter could not have been more welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them.

The cottage is modern, superbly designed, very roomy, has excellent high quality furnishings and equipment and was spotlessly clean. It has everything you need to make your stay very special and hassle free.

The Cottage is situated directly across from Lake Tekapo. It has the most amazing views looking directly out over the lake through its large windows.

The Church of the Good Shepherd is just down the road and it is an easy 5 minute walk into Tekapo Village, where you will find restaurants, cafes, a 4 Square supermarket, post office and garage.

You walk into the cottage through a glass sliding door that leads into a large very stylish lounge and kitchen. The lounge has three settees and a large TV with satellite channels and DVD player.

The kitchen has everything you need for self catering, you want for nothing, it was better equipped than our kitchen at home. We ate in on all 5 nights we were there.

There is a large main bedroom, with a huge very comfortable bed plus a second bedroom with two single beds. There is also a large bathroom with bath and shower and separate toilet.

The Chalet staff are excellent, so friendly and helpful. When they found out we were going to use the laundry room they offered to do our washing for us. By the time we got back to the Cottage that evening our clothes had been washed and dried and were nicely folded on the bed.

The Chalet have mountain bikes for you to use: we went out on two excellent bike rides suggested to us by Zita & Walter. They also recommended the walk up Mount John to the observatory and cafe which we very much enjoyed.

We also travelled to the Tasmin Lake to get up close to icebergs and the Tasmin Glacier in a trip organised by Glacier Explorers based in Aoraki Mount Cook Village. Wonderful experience highly recommended.

Thanks to Zita & Walter and their wonderful accommodation we had a fantastic stay in Lake Tekapo we only wish we could have taken the Cottage and the views home with us.

Room Tip: The Cottage (Unit 5) fantastic accommodation with amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at The Chalet. The accommodation is spotlessly clean, very comfortable and decorated with flair and imagination. The location is wonderful, right on the lake and a very short walk from restaurants ( of which there were a good choice). The owner , Walter, could not have been more helpful. A lovely area to explore so do make sure you spend at least 2 nights here. We felt we could have stayed much longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chalet Boutique Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet Boutique Motel

Address: 14 Pioneer Drive, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Chalet Boutique Hotel Lake Tekapo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chalet Boutique Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.