We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chalet Boutique Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chalet Boutique Motel
Save
You added The Chalet Boutique Motel to your Saves list
14 Pioneer Drive, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
andover UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in February and it was quite stunning. A first class motel with a magnificent view of Lake Tekapo and the surrounding mountains. The superb initial impression was matched by the warm welcome and excellent advice on local attractions and walks from Walter and Zita who are attentive and yet provide guests with their own space. The accommodation itself was spacious, very clean and beautifully furnished in a Swiss chalet style. One not to miss!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
111
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

The Chalet is a beautiful boutique motel. The owners have thought of absolutely everything in the rooms and the decor is gorgeous. Beautiful spot right on the lake.

Room Tip: My sister and her husband had a room with a view of the lake. My room did not but it was equally co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freising, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom unit (#2) for two nights and enjoyed it very much. The appartment was very spacy and had a great view of Lake Tekapo. The garden in front of the appartment was beautiful and a great place to enjoy the spectacular sunsets. The kitchen was well equipped and we had free wireless. Walther and Zita were very friendly and helpful hosts and we would stay at their place any time again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We only stayed at the Chalet for one night and wished we had stayed longer. Our unit (#6) was beautifully appointed and decorated, spotlessly clean and designed to take full advantage of the wonderful views at Lake Tekapo and also the lovely gardens of the property. We had a small but very functional and amazingly well equipped kitchenette, and in the evening were able to make our own meal and watch the changing colours on the mountains and lake as we ate dinner. Our hosts were friendly and full of information. This is one of the nicest places we have ever stayed and the peaceful and unique setting makes it truly magical.

Room Tip: Unit 6 had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We arrived here after a long journey and were greeted by a totally Swiss Ambiance. Our room was large with a small kitchenette which enabled us to self cater for 2 days - nice after eating out solidly for 3 weeks. Unfortunately the supermarket was not well stocked for our short time of self catering and we found other shops in Tekapo extremely limited in their appeal. The bed was large and comfortable and the laundry down below was frree for our use. The proprietors gave us great information on what to do around lake Tekapo. We found Lake Tekapo itself somewhat unispiring but enjoyed a long walk around Mount John. My husband tried some fishing but failed to find a good spot although had an enjoyable evening. All in all The Chalet was lovely but in an otherwise disappointing area with mostly barren landscape.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We were delighted with our stay here! We wished that we had more than one day to enjoy the motel. We had 2 garden studio rooms. They were the largest studio rooms we've stayed in since we began our trip in NZ. They didn't have lake views, however, we enjoyed sitting in the beautiful garden, in the sun, and drinking a bottle of wine. The rooms are beautifully decorated (crafted by proprietors) and extremely clean. The motel is a short walk to the town center and the lake. Laundry facilities are on the premises and free of charge. Internet was provided and free of charge. The kitchenette was well stocked with dishes.

Room Tip: The studio rooms we rented did not have lake views. However, chairs and a table are provided so tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Lake Tekapo was one of the highlights of our month in New Zealand, and the Chalet Boutique Motel enabled us to enjoy it thoroughly. Set away from the village and close to the lake, the motel has an amazing outlook - at sunset the hills were sculpted breathtakingly and throughout our two days here the views were superb.
Our room was very well set-up and comfortable - indeed we rated it one of the very best that we stayed in. Walter talked about its needing an upgrade, but we found nothing amiss. There is a washing machine and a laundry with drying racks, and we were allowed a much-needed wash without further charge. We walked along the lake and then up the path to Mount John, and it was one of the memorable walks of our holiday (we did it the wrong way round, which Zita didn't seem to think was the best way, but we preferred zigzagging down through the wood at the end to zigzagging up through it at the beginning - just a thought if you want to try the walk yourself).
Lake Tekapo is an amazing colour, Lake Tasman is close by, and our two days in the Chalet Boutique Motel provided the best photographs and some of the best memories that we brought home. We enjoyed the boat trip to look at the Tasman glacier but didn't do the Air Safari flight (we felt we couldn't afford it, which may have been a stupidly lost opportunity). Walter directed us to our next destination via the road along the canal which provided stunning views of Mount Cook on a dazzlingly blue day, so we saw the mountain in perfect conditions from the land, if not from the air. This is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chalet Boutique Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet Boutique Motel

Address: 14 Pioneer Drive, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Chalet Boutique Hotel Lake Tekapo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chalet Boutique Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.