We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lake view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chalet Boutique Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Tekapo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chalet Boutique Motel
Save
You added The Chalet Boutique Motel to your Saves list
14 Pioneer Drive, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great lake view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

One of the best kept secrets in Lake Tekapo. We stayed twice at the Chalet on this trip, the first day going to Mt Cook and south of the island, and again on our way back to Christchurch. Zita and Walter are wonderful hosts. The Chalet is clean, well equipped and has the best view/access to Lake Tekapo. For folks looking for a quiet and uncomplicated stay, this is highly recommended. Breakfast is limited, but a short drive away to Reflections Café at Lake Tekapo Village center offers some decent meal.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
112
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

My daughter and I recently stayed for two nights in one of the garden units and it was great. The garden was in flower and we were able to sit out there in the evening watching the sun set. Zita was very helpful in providing information on where to eat and what to see. My daughter was very happy that the Japanese restaurant she recommended for dinner, was full of the cast and crew of the Hobbit, that was being filmed nearby.

Room Tip: Even though guests usually want lake view rooms, we were very happy with a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011 via mobile

Friendly Walter gave us all the information we needed to make the most of our stay in Kake Tekapo. We decided to stay 2 nights on the way to Queenstown which was well worth it. The Chalet was so comfortable and an absolutely stunning location. Taking Walter's advice (an ex ski instructor) we took the kids to Roundhill for a day's skiing which was a lovely warm up. I would have happily stayed another night on our way back to Chrisychurch if we had the time. Our family lived this place and felt it was well worth the extra few $.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

we stayed in unit 4 for 2 nights in august and could easily have stayed longer. room was cosy but modern and had lots of little things to make life easier. great if you want to cook and relax. lake tekapo is definitely worth a visit, very very beautiful, unrivalled stars, and you can even ski!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Stayed in the Henkel Hut, an immaculate one bedroom unit with unimpeded views to Lake Tekapo and the glorious mountains beyond. Zita and Walter are wonderful hosts who made our stay very memorable. Loved the chats and friendly advice. Will definitely be back!

Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whanganui, NZ
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Arrived late to the two bedroom unit right on the lakefront. Fantastic views. This is a modern very spacious separate unit with every convenience. Our host was not put out by our arrival (after 11pm) and showed us in. A fire was going and it was was warm and welcoming inside. I liked the style of the whole place including the quiet and comfortable bedrooms. The decor was uncluttered but stylish without being overly fussy. Would be great for a family or two couples. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed at Unit 1 of the Chalet for two nights. Unit 1 (with bedroom, a kitchen, a washroom and a sitting room) is spacious for us (a family of 3) and the view is amazing! (But I guess the view might not be the best among all their rooms) The host was friendly and helpful.

And the Chalet is in only 5-10 min walking distance from the famous Church of the Good Shepherd. For two days we went to lakeside and the church to take photos at dawn and it was so relaxing!

One point to note - breakfast is not included. They can provide breakfast at additional charge.

Room Tip: Make your booking as early as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chalet Boutique Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalet Boutique Motel

Address: 14 Pioneer Drive, Lake Tekapo 7945, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Chalet Boutique Hotel Lake Tekapo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chalet Boutique Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.