We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Tekapo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Tekapo Lodge to your Saves list
Lake Tekapo Lodge
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   24 Aorangi Crescent | PO Box 123, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Lake Tekapo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

4 rooms friendly hosts a beautiful view of a stunning lake. What more could you want?

The rooms are individual beds are very comfortable and there is no rush.
With a max of 8 guests the owners can afford to be choosy and they are.
In return you stay at your pace. Breakfast cooked by Alistair is when you are ready. My word ours was good. My omelette as good as anywhere.
Between the two hosts can tell you all you want to know about the area.
I
No point in dropping in they do not accept off the street business.
All must be pre booked. It is worth it really good.

Room Tip: One of the the three front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Well hello there Buenodoc and Susie! many thanks for taking the time to review you stay with us. It was so lovely to meet you both. We just wish we had more time with you... Remember NZ is almost Norway! And a great reminder to potential guests that we we are not just a room for the night at the last minute. Our guests stay because they choose to have the experience, pre book and enjoy the company of like minded people... Hope to see you both again one day soon.Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
88
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Alistair and Stephanie make you most welcome the moment you arrive welcoming you more like friends to their home rather than guests to their lodge. All three rooms have fantastic views of the mountains and over the lake. The decked area at the back of the rooms is a great place to start the day with a coffee, or later enjoy a pre dinner glass of wine soaking in the view. Dinner is certainly recommended as Stephanie has great wine knowledge (and knowledge of the area) and Alistair cooks up a wonderful meal. It is a great way to end the day. The rooms are wonderful and beds very comfortable. Breakfast is equally excellent with the same fantastic views from the dinning room. A fantastic stay.

Room Tip: Would recommend the Tekapo Room as two extra windows at one end. These windows have no real view but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi Keith and Denise! Thank you so much for the review. Wasn't it a wonderful few days having you four friends staying together? And then to have another couple easily fit in with you and dine altogether? We really enjoyed sharing our wine cellar with you all and Alistair cooked up a storm. Thanks for finding us and staying. See you next year? Cheers, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed in many luxurious lodges and B&B's before but Stephanie and Alistair made this 2 night visit very special. They are great hosts but give you all the private space you need as a guest. The views from the lodge suites are terrific and relaxing outside with a glass of wine was a treat. The dining room picture window looking out over the lake and mountains in the distance made our fine dining dinner experience all the more memorable. The dinner experience is definitely worth booking. Alistair cooked up a storm for my vegetarian wife and my lamb back strap with lentils and autumns vegetables was delicious. A great wine selection is available and Alistair's special desert finished the meal perfectly. The lodge décor is top notch and we had the most comfortable nights sleep in ages. It is a short walk to Tekapo Village or a 2 minute drive and handy to local attractions including golf. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All suites have their own personality and style. They all look great and have comfy beds, access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Wow many thanks Ross and Fran for staying and taking the time to write such a glowing review! I know you are both well travelled and to for you to be so comfortable with what we offer is a real accolade... Of course our role is made so much easier by the wonderful guests who choose to stay with us. It is more like meeting new friends than "working". Hope Fran's jewellery gifts she purchased were well received and also hope you two might take the time to visit again one day. Cheers, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It has all been said in the other reviews - we only stayed 2 nights in this very comfortable bed and breakfast and could easily have stayed longer just drinking in the view from our veranda. The only really comfortable and relaxing place to stay - many thanks!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi Colin! It was great to have you both staying with us and so pleased the weather was so good! We had a cold snap with a dusting of snow last week but the clear autumn days have melted it all away. The changed colours on the trees, the calm lake and golden light hopefully might lure you back to NZ for another visit! Cheers and many thanks for the review, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We absolutely adored our short stay with Alastair and Stephanie and were very sad to leave this wonderful "home from home". The interior decor is stunning with quirky and original art pieces everywhere and ou room was extremely comfortable with stunning views.

Our hosts could not have been more welcoming, Alastair cooks up a super breakfast and Stephanie was great fun and sent us on our way with some wonderful suggestions for making the most of our trip through the South Island.

Our only regret was that we did not stay longer but we will certainly be back.

We cannot recommend it highly enough, book now!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Many thanks for taking he time to review your stay with us and sharing your positive experience. It can be difficult to show the magnificence of Tekapo in a photograph. Equally it can be tricky to provide images of our style and "quirkiness". Pleased you were so comfortable and enjoyed your stay. We love our guests. As I say, we have a magic gate that allows only gorgeous people through the door! The lodge and our style appeals to like minded guests so it is all easy peasy to host you! Hope to see you again, cheers Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

We found Lake Tekapo Lodge totally enchanting - Stepahnie and Alastair are wonderful hosts who really enjoy meeting their guests. They provide the highest level of comfort in their home which is full of imaginative and beautiful artistic touches and we especially enjoyed relaxing in the spacious lounge they provide for guests - with complimentary drinks. Breakfast was perfect and Stephanie took time to talk to everyone and gave excellent advice on what to do in the area. We took her advice to drive out to the Mount Cook National park which gave us some wonderful views and good walks on arriving there. It is simply a wonderful place to stay and we'd thoroughly recommend it to anyone wanting to explore this area.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Many thanks Jenny and so pleased you enjoyed the ambience! We try to take special care with dressing the rooms and whole lodge to create a restful and interesting environment. You must have great taste to appreciate mine!! WE work on the basis of what we would expect and what gives us pleasure - art, antiques, flowers, wine, food, music, scenic vistas, books, (small most well behaved jack russells).....throw in genuine hospitality and care and there we have it. Not rocket science - just loving what we do and living where we are. We enjoyed sharing it with you. Cheers, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

The proprietors of this Lodge, Stephanie and Alistair are most welcoming and friendly. They share their luxurious home with just 5 couples at a time. The rooms are very well appointed, the shower rooms wonderfully modern with plentiful hot water and the bed big and comfy. Breakfast is pretty much whatever you need and beautifully cooked. The guest lounge is big, well furnished with tea and coffe making facilities, complimentary drinks and well stocked bookcases. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie h, Owner at Lake Tekapo Lodge, responded to this review, March 28, 2015
Thank you Brenda - so very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and grateful for the lovely review. we have supr king beds which sound daunting to some but everyone seems to sleep well (maybe it's the wine?) with our cooler nights and high altitude. Tekapo is a quiet village and with only a few guests accommodated at a time, the lodge is peaceful for a restful night. So much so many guests sleep through stargazing opportunities but I just say "Come back again!" Hope you do! Cheers, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Tekapo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Tekapo Lodge

Address: 24 Aorangi Crescent | PO Box 123, Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Tekapo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lake Tekapo Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge is under new ownership from 1 September 2012. Lodge has been upgraded and redecorated with emphasis on NZ food, wine, art.Lake Tekapo Lodge has three stunning lake and mountain view super king ensuite guests rooms. A queen ensuite is also available. Chef hosts can provide dinner by arrangement highlighting premium local fare and NZ wines. A private guest lounge/library and an eclectic NZ contemporary art collection. Located adjacent to the village with easy access to activities and restaurants. On-site warm friendly & experienced hosts ensuring you have the best experience in our magnificent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Lake Tekapo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Tekapo Luxury Hotel Lake Tekapo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Tekapo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.